Frank Gehry Architecture Pritzker Prize

Contains Ads

Frank Owen Gehry, CC (/ˈɡɛəri/; born Frank Owen Goldberg; February 28, 1929)[1] is a Canadian-born American architect, residing in Los Angeles.

A number of his buildings, including his private residence, have become world-renowned attractions. His works are cited as being among the most important works of contemporary architecture in the 2010 World Architecture Survey, which led Vanity Fair to label him as "the most important architect of our age".

Gehry's best-known works include the titanium-clad Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain; Walt Disney Concert Hall in downtown Los Angeles; Louis Vuitton Foundation in Paris, France; MIT Ray and Maria Stata Center in Cambridge, Massachusetts; The Vontz Center for Molecular Studies on the University of Cincinnati campus; Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle; New World Center in Miami Beach; Weisman Art Museum at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis; Dancing House in Prague; the Vitra Design Museum and the MARTa Herford museum in Germany; the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto; the Cinémathèque Française in Paris; and 8 Spruce Street in New York City.

It was his private residence in Santa Monica, California, that jump-started his career. Gehry is also the designer of the future National Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial.

Awards and honors

1987: Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Letters
1988: Elected into the National Academy of Design
1989: Pritzker Architecture Prize
1992: Praemium Imperiale
1994: The Dorothy and Lillian Gish Prize
1995: Academy of Achievement's Golden Plate Award
1998: National Medal of Arts[101]
1998: Gold Medal Award, Royal Architectural Institute of Canada
1999: AIA Gold Medal, American Institute of Architects
2000: Cooper–Hewitt National Design Award Lifetime Achievement[102]
2002: Companion of the Order of Canada[103]
2004: Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service
2006: Inductee, California Hall of Fame
2007: Henry C. Turner Prize for Innovation in Construction Technology from the National Building Museum (on behalf of Gehry Partners and Gehry Technologies)
2009: Order of Charlemagne
2012: Twenty-five Year Award, American Institute of Architects
2014: Prince of Asturias Award
2014: Commandeur of the Ordre National de la Légion d'honneur, France
2015: J. Paul Getty Medal
2016: Harvard Arts Medal
2016: Leonore and Walter Annenberg Award for Diplomacy through the Arts, Foundation for Arts and Preservation in Embassies
2016: Presidential Medal of Freedom

Honorary doctorates

1987: California Institute of the Arts
1987: Rhode Island School of Design
1989: Otis College of Art and Design
1989: Technical University of Nova Scotia
1993: Occidental College
1995: Whittier College
1996: Southern California Institute of Architecture
1998: University of Toronto
2000: Harvard University
2000: University of Edinburgh
2000: University of Southern California
2000: Yale University
2002: City College of New York
2004: School of the Art Institute of Chicago
2013: Case Western Reserve University
2013: Princeton University
2014: Juilliard School
2015: University of Technology Sydney
2017: University of Oxford
Read more
2 total

What's New

Fix Design
Read more

Additional Information

February 24, 2018
Current Version
Requires Android
2.3 and up
Content Rating
Offered By
Event Service
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.