Bevill State Community College

Bevill State Community College is a part of the State of Alabama’s system of community, junior, and technical colleges authorized by the Alabama Legislature under Act No. 93, approved May 3, 1963. At the same time, Act No. 94 vested the authority and responsibility for the operation and maintenance of Alabama’s two-year colleges with the State Board of Education. Bevill State Community College was created in 1992 by the consolidation of two premier two-year colleges which were a part of the original legislation: Walker State Technical College (Sumiton), formerly a vocational/technical institution which opened in 1966, and Brewer State Junior College (Fayette), a two-year academic transfer institution, created in 1969. The Hamilton Campus of Northwest Alabama Community College, primarily a vocational/technical campus which was created in 1966, merged with Bevill State in 1993 as one of its main campuses. Walker College (Jasper), established in 1938 as a two-year academic transfer college, completed the Bevill State four-campus college in 1998. In 2007, the College built the Pickens County Educational Center in Carrollton. Bevill State offers academic transfer courses, career technical education, health sciences programs, adult education classes, workforce training, corporate education and community education at its four main campuses and one instructional site. Bevill State’s service area spans over 4600 square miles in a seven-county area, reaching more than 200,000 people from the Birmingham city limits to the Mississippi state line.

Bevill State Community College is an accredited, learning-centered institution dedicated to student success by providing quality educational and training opportunities that enrich lives intellectually, economically, and culturally.

It is the policy of the Alabama Community College System, its Board of Trustees and Bevill State Community College, an institution under its control, that no person shall, on the grounds of race, color, disability, sex, religion, creed, national origin, or age, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefit of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program, activity, or employment.

Bevill State Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Bevill State Community College. Many programs have additional accreditation from organizations appropriate to the particular disciplines. These accreditations are published annually in the College’s catalog. Routine inquiries about Bevill State such as admission requirements, financial aid, educational programs, etc., should be addressed directly to Bevill State and not to the commission’s office.
Read more

What's New

Updated UI and feature improvements
Read more

Additional Information

August 21, 2019
Current Version
Requires Android
5.0 and up
Content Rating
Offered By
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.