Road to Hana Maui Driving Tour

In-app purchases
4.8
4.79K reviews
100K+
Downloads
Content rating
Everyone
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image

About this app

Think of us as your personal guide to Maui. With Shaka Guide, you’ll get the comfort of a guided tour, the benefits of a travel guide book AND the freedom to explore at your own pace.

During your Shaka Guide tour you’ll get directions as you drive, hear stories about the places you’re visiting, and listen to Hawaiian music. The history of the islands will be revealed as your drive!

The app features six tours of the island that visit popular spots like the Road to Hana, Haleakala, Kaanapali, Kapalua, and even the reverse Road to Hana. But It’s your vacation, what you see and do it totally up to you. Whether you want to hike a scenic trail, hit the beach or visit an ancient historic spot - you choose!

All tours are made locally in the Hawaiian Islands. During your trip we'll share our favourite things to do on the island as well as travel tips for your visit. Whether you’re traveling for recreation, work, or with family, Shaka Guide is sure to keep your entire group entertained. Don’t believe us? Check out our reviews!

The app and map works completely offline. This means that even in remote parts of the island without wifi or data, we’ll still get you where you need to go! Shaka Guide tours never expire — use them more than once or break them up into multiple days.

Check out our Maui tours below:

Classic Road to Hana, 10+ hours, 30 stops
• Visit a black sand beach
• Explore Hana town
• Stop at waterfalls, hikes + more!

Loop Road to Hana, 10+ hours, 36 stops
• Explore the backroad to Hana
• Hike the Pipiwai Trail
• Visit Hana Bay, Waianapanapa + more!

Reverse Road to Hana, 10+ hours, 33 stops
• The loop tour, in reverse! Explore the backroad to Hana.

Sunrise at Haleakala, 6+ hours, 13 stops
• Visit Haleakala Summit for sunrise
• Stop at hikes, overlooks + more!

Sunset at Haleakala, 6+ hours, 12 stops
• Watch the sunset at Haleakala’s Summit
• Learn the legends of Haleakala National Park

West Maui Coastline Tour, 6+ hours, 17 stops
• Visit West Maui Beaches like Kaanapali, Kapalua + more!

Check out a complete list of stops for each tour in the app!

BUY THE ISLAND BUNDLE, GET ALL 6 MAUI TOURS
When you buy the bundle you get ALL SIX Maui tours for 75% off the retail price.

DOWNLOADING THE TOURS
It’s important that you download the tours (preferably in wifi) before you go. Make sure the tour is completely downloaded and you’ll have no problem using the tours offline.

BATTERY USAGE
Please remember that continual use of your GPS can dramatically deplete your battery. Be sure to pack a car charger.

IPAD NOTICE
You can use an iPad to take the tour, however, wifi-only iPads without GPS capability will not work.

ABOUT SHAKA GUIDE
At Shaka Guide our goal is to connect people with places through storytelling. Don’t you love learning about the places you’re visiting? Us too! That’s why, a tremendous amount of care goes into each tour we create. Every site we visit, word we say, and song we play has been hand-picked, researched and crafted for quality. We’re proud to have earned the title of Hawaii’s highest-rated travel apps and we can’t wait to explore even more destinations with you!

WHAT MAKES US DIFFERENT
Whether you’re a gypsy explorer, looking to tour on your terms, or want to follow the structure of our pre-planned itinerary, we’ve got you covered. Sure, you’ll have a lot of Hawaii bus tour options, self-guided tour apps, and other excursions to choose from during your Maui vacation. But here at Shaka Guide, we pride ourselves on our unique storytelling. We know how important your trip is, and we’re honoured to be a part of it.
Updated on
Jan 19, 2023

Data safety

Safety starts with understanding how developers collect and share your data. Data privacy and security practices may vary based on your use, region, and age. The developer provided this information and may update it over time.
No data shared with third parties
Learn more about how developers declare sharing
No data collected
Learn more about how developers declare collection
Data isn’t encrypted
Data can’t be deleted
4.8
4.79K reviews
SuperSteelerFreak79
January 2, 2023
Two things need attention... 1) Several times while driving west end of Maui, we would be passing an attraction/road as it was telling us to turn. It kept falling behind, and we were definitely not driving too fast. 2) It would be GREAT (since you need to give permission to shaka guide to access all of your phone) if the app would acknowledge what time of day it is and give recommendations to speed up/skip some things, or slow down and take in even more. Other than that, it's great!
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Shaka Guide
January 9, 2023
Aloha! Thank you for your kind feedback. We are reviewing this and several other suggestions for future updates.
Geno M
December 18, 2022
Awesome and easy to use, though we did experience a bug where gps wouldn't follow the car after disconnecting and reconnecting to the car and Android auto (happened a few times since there are so many stops). Was easily fixed by restarting the app though. The narration was super fun and insightful, and made the drive extra special. Definitely recommend this app if you're driving yourself to Hana!
Did you find this helpful?
Shaka Guide
December 23, 2022
So happy to hear you had an amazing time on your Shaka Guide tour. Hope to see you all again on more Shaka Guide adventures. 🤙😍🤙
Jacob Hall
November 27, 2022
Good when it works, but for some reason (even though the purchased tours are supposedly downloaded to the phone), we had a lot of issues with the guide not playing when we didn't have phone service. Which, of course, is sections of the tours when you really want the guide, when you're in less-traveled areas of the back sides of the island.
Did you find this helpful?
Shaka Guide
December 7, 2022
We're sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy your Shaka Guide tour. Wish you would have contacted us when you were having trouble so we could have helped you set up the app and tours properly before you started driving. Kindly email us your tour purchase receipt at aloha@shakaguide.com for a refund and provide us more info about what happened