Invisible Me

Author's Republic

Narrated by Sara K. Sheckells

3 hr 42 min

Solo medalist winner in the young adult category of the 2015 New Apple Book Awards!

Finalist in the 2016 IPNE Book Awards.

In the first of a new series of books, military brat and albino, 13-year old Portia Maddox, has bounced from school to school, always an outsider. So when Denise Laughton, the most popular girl in her class, asks for her help in exchange for an invite to Denise's big birthday party, Portia jumps at the chance to go. But there's a catch: Portia must spy on Randy, Denise's boyfriend, to find out whether he's cheating on her.

Portia's spying, however, unearths a tangled web of duplicity, hidden agendas and family secrets. And when Portia's budding friendship with social outcast Judy and her feelings for Randy conflict with her plans to befriend Denise, Portia must make the hard choices for the good of all.

Parental advisory: contains some strong language.

Debbi Mack is the New York Times best-selling author of the Sam McRae Mystery Series. In addition, she's a Derringer-nominated short story writer, whose work has been published in various anthologies. Debbi formerly wrote book reviews for Mystery Scene Magazine. She writes screenplays and is interested in filmmaking. Debbi also has a podcast called The Crime Cafe, where she interviews crime fiction, suspense, thriller, and true crime authors.

Debbi enjoys reading, movies, travel, baseball, walking, cats and good espresso - not necessarily in that order.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Author's Republic
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 4, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Duration
3h 42m 38s
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781518991929
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Girls & Women
Read more
Collapse
Export option
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Listening information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to listen online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.
 
Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.
  


* “Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page.”—School Library Journal starred review

* “A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet—but never cloying—lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.”—Booklist starred review

* “What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a “person of color”; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant.”—The Horn Book starred review

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that’s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette


From the Trade Paperback edition.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.