The Ghost of Ivy Barn: The Witches of Woodville 3

· Simon and Schuster · Narrated by Candida Gubbins
Audiobook
10 hr 43 min
Unabridged
Eligible
Want a free 9 min sample? Listen anytime, even offline. 
Add

About this audiobook

'Beautiful and engaging and clever' Manda Scott, bestselling author of A Treachery of Spies

'A young witch to rival Tiffany Aching. Magic!' FMA Dixon

August 1940. 
In a quiet village in rural Kent, the enemy is at the gates . . .

The Battle of Britain rages and Faye Bright encounters the ghost of a pilot who won't give up the fight. Before she can help him, Faye is whisked away to join a motley crew of witches to perform a top secret ritual on the White Cliffs of Dover that could repel the invaders.

But there's a catch. The ritual must be executed in the nuddy. Mrs Teach threatens mutiny. Miss Charlotte is intrigued. And Faye wants to call the whole thing off when she suspects there's a spy in their midst.

It's up to Faye Bright to uncover the traitor, all while dealing with the ghost haunting Ivy Barn who may hold the key to the truth. But first, Faye has to learn to fly . . .

***

For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes the third novel in this delightful series of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . .

Don't miss the other magical books in the WITCHES OF WOODVILLE series!
#1 The Crow Folk
#2 Babes in the Wood
#3 The Ghost of Ivy Barn 
#4 The Holly King 


Praise for The Witches of Woodville series

'I so enjoyed The Crow Folk. Set in an endearingly odd village in deepest Kent, it's full of engaging characters and weird, witchy goings-on. Fast-paced, entertainingly creepy and at times laugh-out-loud funny, it's also genuinely moving' Michelle Paver, author of Wakenhyrst 

'ACE. Smart and funny and written so warmly. It's an absolutely smashing read' Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World  ​ 

'Swept me straight back to days of losing myself in Diana Wynne Jones novels, and getting lost in truly absorbing, sometimes scary, sometimes emotive adventure with its roots in folklore and history. A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age' Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window

‘A rural Ben Aaronovitch!’ C. K. McDonnell, author of The Stranger Times

'Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read' Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries
 
'You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel Gummidge' Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village
 
'A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad's Army meets Witches of Eastwick' Ian W Sainsbury

‘Mark Stay’s brilliantly written Witches of Woodville books are somehow funny, cosy, clever and disturbingly dark all at the same time. Terry Pratchett fans will LOVE em’ Lucy Strange

About the author

Mark Stay got a part-time Christmas job at Waterstone’s in the nineties (back when it still had an apostrophe) and somehow ended up working in publishing for over 25 years. He would write in his spare time and (he can admit this now) on company time, and sometimes those writings would get turned into books and films. Mark is also co-presenter of the Bestseller Experiment podcast, which has inspired writers all over the world to finish and publish their books. Born in London, he lives in Kent with YouTube gardener Claire Burgess and a declining assortment of retired chickens. Follow him on Twitter and online at: @markstay markstaywrites.com witchesofwoodville.com

Rate this audiobook

Tell us what you think.

Listening information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

More by Mark Stay

Similar audiobooks

Narrated by Candida Gubbins