The House on the Lake: The new gripping and haunting thriller from the bestselling author of Day of the Accident

Penguin

Narrated by Emily Barber and Georgia May-Foote

8 hr 9 min

Brought to you by Penguin. Lisa needs to disappear. And her friend's rambling old home in the wilds of Yorkshire seems like the perfect place. It's miles away from the closest town, and no one there knows her or her little boy, Joe. But when Lisa meets some of the locals, and hears some disturbing rumours about the house, she realises it might not be the sanctuary she thought. What secret has Rowan Isle House - and her friend - kept hidden all these years? And what will Lisa have to do to survive, when her own past finally catches up with her? © Nuala Ellwood 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Penguin
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 20, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Duration
8h 9m 25s
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780241986097
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Family Life / Marriage & Divorce
Fiction / General
Read more
Collapse
Export option
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Listening information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to listen online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Day of the Accident by Nuala Ellwood, read by Tara Fitzgerald. 'Gripping, poignant...I read it in one sitting' ROSAMUND LUPTON 'Brilliantly compulsive and with one hell of a twist!' CLAIRE DOUGLAS 'Makes you question everything you thought you knew' EMMA KAVANAGH Sixty seconds after she wakes from a coma, Maggie's world is torn apart. The police tell her that her daughter Elspeth is dead. That she drowned when the car Maggie had been driving plunged into the river. Maggie remembers nothing. When Maggie begs to see her husband Sean, the police tell her that he has disappeared. He was last seen on the day of her daughter's funeral. What really happened that day at the river? Where is Maggie's husband? And why can't she shake the suspicion that somewhere, somehow, her daughter is still alive? A page-turner for fans of Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go and Lisa Jewell's Watching You, this gripping story will draw you in and shock you at every turn. WHAT AUTHORS AND READERS ARE SAYING: 'A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again!' Jane Corry 'You will be up all night finishing this dark, haunting and complex thriller' Katherine S, Netgalley Reviewer 'Compelling and intriguing, right from the very first page' Sharon Bolton 'Nuala Ellwood has such a special way of writing that it draws you into the pages and you can't put it down' Emma L, Netgalley Reviewer 'A raw, shocking, and serpentine mystery that keeps you guessing until the very end' Nicolas Obregon, author of Blue Light Yokohama 'An accomplished and page-turning thriller...it's impossible to guess where it's going next' Nicholas Searle 'A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time' C. L. Taylor 'A must read for all thriller fans this book is a 5 star read' River S, Netgalley Reviewer 'Rivals The Girl on the Train (and beats it for style)' The Guardian 'Twisty and unpredictable. Kept me guessing until the end' Karen Cleveland, author of Need to Know 'This clever, multi- layered novel is simply stunning' Dinah Jefferies 'Wow! What a fantastic book that completely sucked me in. 5 stars' Angela G, Netgalley Reviewer 'A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller. Keeps you in there right to the last page' Christobel Kent 'A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting!' Lucy Atkins 'A dark, intense, multi-layered thriller that twists and turns until the last page' Tammy Cohen Memorable, jaw-dropping' Sunday Times 'Well-written ... an elegant, punchy thriller with a dark heart' Observer Thriller of the Month 'Full of really clever twists, this stylish thriller really grabs you' Sunday Mirror
Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Day of the Accident by Nuala Ellwood, read by Tara Fitzgerald. 'Gripping, poignant...I read it in one sitting' ROSAMUND LUPTON 'Brilliantly compulsive and with one hell of a twist!' CLAIRE DOUGLAS 'Makes you question everything you thought you knew' EMMA KAVANAGH Sixty seconds after she wakes from a coma, Maggie's world is torn apart. The police tell her that her daughter Elspeth is dead. That she drowned when the car Maggie had been driving plunged into the river. Maggie remembers nothing. When Maggie begs to see her husband Sean, the police tell her that he has disappeared. He was last seen on the day of her daughter's funeral. What really happened that day at the river? Where is Maggie's husband? And why can't she shake the suspicion that somewhere, somehow, her daughter is still alive? A page-turner for fans of Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go and Lisa Jewell's Watching You, this gripping story will draw you in and shock you at every turn. WHAT AUTHORS AND READERS ARE SAYING: 'A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again!' Jane Corry 'You will be up all night finishing this dark, haunting and complex thriller' Katherine S, Netgalley Reviewer 'Compelling and intriguing, right from the very first page' Sharon Bolton 'Nuala Ellwood has such a special way of writing that it draws you into the pages and you can't put it down' Emma L, Netgalley Reviewer 'A raw, shocking, and serpentine mystery that keeps you guessing until the very end' Nicolas Obregon, author of Blue Light Yokohama 'An accomplished and page-turning thriller...it's impossible to guess where it's going next' Nicholas Searle 'A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time' C. L. Taylor 'A must read for all thriller fans this book is a 5 star read' River S, Netgalley Reviewer 'Rivals The Girl on the Train (and beats it for style)' The Guardian 'Twisty and unpredictable. Kept me guessing until the end' Karen Cleveland, author of Need to Know 'This clever, multi- layered novel is simply stunning' Dinah Jefferies 'Wow! What a fantastic book that completely sucked me in. 5 stars' Angela G, Netgalley Reviewer 'A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller. Keeps you in there right to the last page' Christobel Kent 'A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting!' Lucy Atkins 'A dark, intense, multi-layered thriller that twists and turns until the last page' Tammy Cohen Memorable, jaw-dropping' Sunday Times 'Well-written ... an elegant, punchy thriller with a dark heart' Observer Thriller of the Month 'Full of really clever twists, this stylish thriller really grabs you' Sunday Mirror

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of the 21st century's more cynical version of the O. Henry ending." — The Washington Post

From Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen comes the next hit audiobook thriller, an instant New York Times bestseller!

When you listen to this audiobook, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are listening to a story about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Listen for the truth between the lies.

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Addictive domestic thrillers with twist-filled plots and unreliable narrators are increasingly popular. Add in assumptions that should not be assumed, shape-shifting, surprising characters and a complex chronology, and you have a hint of what you'll find in The Wife Between Us...All will be made clear, or perhaps not, as you listen to Julia Whelan's tautly paced performance." — BookPage

“A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris's Behind Closed Doors and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives in this domestic thriller." - Library Journal

"A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." –Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

This audiobook contains a bonus interview with the authors

©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.