The Missing Wife

Avon

Narrated by Kristin Atherton

10 hr 32 min

You think you know those closest to you. You are wrong...

A sleep-deprived new mother approaching her fortieth birthday, the very last thing Louisa wants to do is celebrate.

But when her friend Tiff organises a surprise party, inviting the entire list of Louisa’s Facebook friends, Louisa is faced with a room full of people she hasn’t spoken to in years – including someone she never expected to see again: her ex-boyfriend, Oliver Dunmore.

When Oliver’s wife Melissa goes missing after the party, everyone remembers the night differently. Someone knows what happened to Melissa, and Louisa is determined to find them. But the truth could be closer, and the deception more devastating, than she’d ever imagined...

A gripping psychological suspense novel, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing’s My Lovely Wife, Lucy Clarke’s You Let Me In and Linda Green’s The Last Thing She Told Me.

** PRAISE FOR THE MISSING WIFE **

‘A pacy read, packed with surprises. Will keep you on your toes.’ Jane Corry, Sunday Times bestselling author of My Husband’s Wife

‘The Missing Wife is superb: one of those books that keeps you guessing and keeps you turning the pages. I was riveted.’ Alex Lake, bestselling author of After Anna

‘A gourmet read from start to finish – I couldn't put it down. Captivating. Exquisitely written. Exquisitely televisual.’ Amanda Robson, Sunday Times bestselling author of Envy

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Avon
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 27, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Duration
10h 32m 35s
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780008363963
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / Marriage & Divorce
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Collapse
Export option
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Listening information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to listen online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

‘A classic twisting mystery from queen of suspense Lisa Hall ... the epilogue delivers a wild twist ... the bond between Anna and Laurel the perfect anchor for the dark investigation’ WOMAN’S OWN

‘Brilliantly plotted...a gripping read’ Alice Feeney

Bonfire Night. A missing girl.

Anna only takes her eyes off Laurel for a second. She thought Laurel was following her mum through the crowds. But in a heartbeat, Laurel is gone.

Laurel’s parents are frantic. As is Anna, their nanny. But as the hours pass, and Laurel isn’t found, suspicion grows.

Someone knows what happened to Laurel. And they’re not telling.

Have You Seen Her is the breath-taking new thriller with a killer twist from bestseller Lisa Hall.

Praise for Have You Seen Her:

‘A classic twisting mystery from queen of suspense Lisa Hall ... the epilogue delivers a wild twist ... the bond between Anna and Laurel the perfect anchor for the dark investigation’ WOMAN’S OWN

‘Brilliantly plotted...a gripping read’ Alice Feeney

‘Relentlessly pacy and brilliantly written, Have You Seen Her is a tense, believable nightmare that you won’t be able to put down’ Phoebe Morgan

‘I tore through this to find out what happened. Twisty, giddy and brilliant. Dramatic from the outset & doesn't let up’ Vicky Newham

‘Couldn't put down Have You Seen Her... A breathlessly tense and unsettling page-turner that had me guessing right until the last paragraph!’ Roz Watkins

‘a total tension filled thriller that had me racing ahead to find out what happened next...simply one of those books you can't put down, and can't bear to be parted from’ Lisa Cutts

‘SENSATIONAL. Easiest 5 stars I've given in a long time. This WILL be a bestseller, it is utterly unputdownable’ Read and Rated

Praise for Lisa Hall:

‘A dark, compelling read that demands to be read in one sitting.’ Sam Carrington

‘Compelling, addictive... brilliant!’ B A Paris

"Describes with plenty of colour how surrealism, from Rene Magritte's bowler hats to Salvador Dali's watches, was born and developed." - The Times (UK)

As she did for the Modernists In Montmartre, noted art historian and biographer Sue Roe now tells the story of the Surrealists in Montparnasse.

In Montparnasse begins on the eve of the First World War and ends with the 1936 unveiling of Dalí’s Lobster Telephone. As those extraordinary years unfolded, the Surrealists found ever more innovative ways of exploring the interior life, and asking new questions about how to define art. In Montparnasse recounts how this artistic revolution came to be amidst the salons and cafés of that vibrant neighborhood.

Sue Roe is both an incisive art critic of these pieces and a beguiling biographer with a fingertip feel for this compelling world. Beginning with Duchamp, Roe then takes us through the rise of the Dada movement, the birth of Surrealist photography with Man Ray, the creation of key works by Ernst, Cocteau, and others, through the arrival of Dalí. On canvas and in their readymades and other works these artists juxtaposed objects never before seen together to make the viewer marvel at the ordinary—and at the workings of the subconscious. We see both how this art came to be and how the artists of Montparnasse lived. Roe puts us with Gertrude Stein in her box seat at the opening of The Rite of Spring; with Duchamp as he installs his famous urinal; at a Cocteau theatrical with Picasso and Coco Chanel; with Breton at a session with Freud; and with Man Ray as he romances Kiki de Montparnasse. 

Stein said it best when she noted that the Surrealists still saw in the common ways of the 19th century, but they complicated things with the bold new vision of the 20th. Their words mark an enormously important watershed in the history of art—and they forever changed the way we all see the world.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.