Eight Keys

Penguin Random House Audio

Narrated by Georgette Perna

5 hr 12 min

Elise and Franklin have always been best friends. Elise has always lived in the big house with her loving Uncle and Aunt, because Elise's parents died when she was too young to remember them.  There's always been a barn behind the house with eight locked doors on the second floor.
When Elise and Franklin start middle school, things feel all wrong. Bullying. Not fitting in. Franklin suddenly seems babyish.  Then, soon after her 12th birthday, Elise receives a mysterious key left for her by her father. A key that unlocks one of the eight doors upstairs in the bar . . .

SUNSHINE STATE AWARD FINALIST!
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Penguin Random House Audio
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 9, 2011
Read more
Collapse
Duration
5h 12m 16s
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780307941657
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Death & Dying
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
Read more
Collapse
Export option
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Listening information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to listen online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
The thrilling sequel to the acclaimed Beautiful Blue World follows a brave girl who must flee her country during wartime and work undercover to defeat the enemy. For fans of The War That Saved My Life and Wolf Hollow.
 
“A thoughtful, pellucid story . . . [that] gently probes questions of loyalty, patriotism and sacrifice.” —The Wall Street Journal on Beautiful Blue World
 
A war took Mathilde away from her family when she was chosen to serve her country, Sofarende, with other children working on a secret military project. 
 
But now the other children—including her best friend, Megs—have fled to safety, and Mathilde is all alone, determined to complete her mission.
 
In this powerful and deeply moving sequel to the acclaimed Beautiful Blue World, Mathilde must make her way through a new stage of the war. Haunted by the bold choice she made on the night she chose her country’s future over her own well-being, she clings to the promise Megs made long ago: “Whatever happens, I’ll be with you.”
 
Praise for Threads of Blue: 
 
Bank Street Best Children’s Books of the Year

"Mathilde is unforgettable . . . ever vulnerable, brave, headstrong, compassionate, confused, and always trying to hold on to the values she holds dear. . . . Deeply moving and powerful." --Kirkus Reviews, Starred

"Beautifully written . . . a tale about the ravages of war and survival, starring an unforgettable heroine." --SLJ, Starred

"A story of keen insight and unflinching grace, bright with hope." --Booklist, Starred
A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.
 
Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.
  


* “Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page.”—School Library Journal starred review

* “A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet—but never cloying—lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.”—Booklist starred review

* “What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a “person of color”; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant.”—The Horn Book starred review

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that’s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.