Bridge: The dazzling new novel from the author of Apple TV’s Shining Girls

· Penguin · Narrated by Lisa Cordileone
Audiobook
13 hr 25 min
Unabridged

About this audiobook

Brought to you by Penguin.

The mind-bending masterpiece from the multi-award-winning author of Apple TV's smash hit literary adaptation SHINING GIRLS, starring Elizabeth Moss.


In infinite parallel universes, there's a version of you who already has everything you've ever wanted. But 24 year old drop-out Bridge is paralysed, by all the other lives she could have lived, the choices she could have made, and now, whoever she's supposed to be in the wake of her mother's premature death.

They've always had a complicated relationship. Jo was the teenage runaway turned maverick neuroscientist who threw everything away chasing after an impossibility - a mysterious artefact - the dreamworm - that allows you to switch between realities. And now she's dead and any chance of reconciliation with her.

But is Jo really gone... or only in this universe? When Bridge and her best friend Dom stumble on the dreamworm, that does indeed open the doors to other worlds, otherselves, she becomes convinced her mom is lost out there. But the dreamworm is more dangerous than she can imagine, and she's not the only one hunting across time and space.

Page-turning and ambitious, BRIDGE is a dazzlingly inventive speculative thriller with an unforgettable cast of characters, and the work of a novelist at the height of her powers.

For fans of RUSSIAN DOLL, STRANGER THINGS, EVERYTHING, EVERYWHERE, ALL AT ONCE, from Sunday Times bestseller and multi-award winning writer Lauren Beukes.


PRAISE FOR LAUREN BEUKES:
'A smartly written thriller that opens with a satisfying bang . . . splendid' STEPHEN KING

'Powerful and intelligent' GUARDIAN

'A major, major talent' GEORGE R.R. MARTIN

© Lauren Beukes 2023 (P) Penguin Audio 2023

About the author

Lauren Beukes is the award-winning and internationally best-selling South African author of The Shining Girls, Zoo City, Moxyland, Broken Monsters and Afterland, among other works. Her novels have been published in twenty-four countries and are being adapted for film and TV. She's also a screenwriter, comics writer, journalist and award-winning documentary maker. She lives in London.

Listening information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.