Ebooks

The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back!

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives—a wolf who HATES eating frogs—our hero decides that being himself isn’t so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog’s desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

And look for the hilarious sequels—I Don't Want to Be Big, There's Nothing to Do!, and I Don't Want to Go to Sleep.

★ "First-time author Petty’s dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one’s nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."—Publishers WeeklySTARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."—Kirkus Reviews

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."—School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."—Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."—Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction—for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."—Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Fans of the hit picture book I Don’t Want to Be a Frog will love this silly companion featuring a frog that's still as stubborn as ever and his surprisingly patient father.

"Reminiscent of Mo Willems’s 'Elephant and Piggie' series"—Publishers Weekly

Frog does NOT want to grow up. Doesn’t need to be tall. Doesn’t want to be able to jump high enough to see the tree frogs. He’s just FINE being small. Besides, if you grow up, you don’t get to do fun things like jump in mud puddles with your best friend, Pig. Do you?
 
This hilarious story­—which uses humor to teach that it’s great being exactly who you are—is sure to bring a smile to every kid who just wants to stay a kid, in addition to those who are the smallest in their class. It’s a sly and smartly funny tale that will have children and parents laughing together.

And look for all the book in this hilarious series—I Don't Want to Be a Frog, There's Nothing to Do! and I Don't Want to Go to Sleep.

Praise for the series: 

I Don't Want to Be a Frog: 
★ "First-time author Petty's dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one's nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

I Don't Want to Be Big: 
"Reminiscent of Mo Willems's 'Elephant and Piggie' series."—Publishers Weekly

"An enjoyable read-aloud"—Kirkus

There's Nothing to Do!
★ "Snappy, spot-on dialogue pairs ideally with the outsize drama of Boldt's artwork; reading this book belongs on families' to-do lists."—Publishers Weekly, starred review
Fans of the hit I Don't Want to Be a Frog will hop with joy for this fourth book in the series—a hilarious and clever twist on the classic childhood issue of not wanting to go to bed.

Frog is excited about autumn and the coming of winter. But when Owl informs him that frogs hibernate till spring, Frog is upset at missing out on all the snowy fun. In this hysterically funny twist on the classic "I don't want to go to bed" dilemma, Frog comes up with all kinds of reasons why he's not going to sleep through winter, until he devises a clever way to convince his friends to come along for the ride.

Featuring the beloved young frog character from the hit I Don't Want to Be a Frog and his cast of zany animal friends, this new story is sure to bring a smile to every kid who's ever protested at bedtime. And parents will appreciate a bold new twist on a timeless childhood topic. It's another surefire crowd pleaser and perfect read-aloud.

And look for the other books starring Frog: I Don't Want to Be a Frog, I Don't Want to Be Big, and There's Nothing to Do!.

Praise for the series:

I Don't Want to Go to Sleep: 
"Silliness abounds . . . a fun read-aloud."—Kirkus

"Boldt’s big, bold animal characters fill the pages, as dialogue balloons contribute to the liveliness of Petty’s storytelling."—Publishers Weekly

I Don't Want to Be a Frog:
★ "First-time author Petty's dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one's nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

I Don't Want to Be Big:
"Reminiscent of Mo Willems's 'Elephant and Piggie' series."—Publishers Weekly

There's Nothing to Do!
★ "Snappy, spot-on dialogue pairs ideally with the outsize drama of Boldt's artwork; reading this book belongs on families' to-do lists."—Publishers Weekly, starred review
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.