The “wrenching” (Rachel Maddow, The Rachel Maddow Show) first book by acclaimed journalist Michael Hastings (1980-2013), whose unflinching Rolling Stone article “Runaway General” ended the military career of General Stanley A. McChrystal.

At age twenty-five, Michael Hastings arrived in Baghdad to cover the war in Iraq for Newsweek. He had at his disposal a little Hemingway romanticism and all the apparatus of a twenty-first-century reporter -- cell phones, high-speed Internet access, digital video cameras, fixers, drivers, guards, translators. In startling detail, he describes the chaos, the violence, the never-ending threats of bomb and mortar attacks, the front lines that can be a half mile from the Green Zone, that can be anywhere. This is a new kind of war: private security companies follow their own rules or lack thereof; soldiers in combat get instant messages from their girlfriends and families; members of the Louisiana National Guard watch Katrina's decimation of their city on a TV in the barracks.

Back in New York, Hastings had fallen in love with Andi Parhamovich, a young idealist who worked for Air America. A year into their courtship, Andi followed Michael to Iraq, taking a job with the National Democratic Institute. Their war-zone romance is another window into life in Baghdad. They call each other pet names; they make plans for the future; they fight, usually because each is fearful for the other's safety; and they try to figure out how to get together, when it means putting bodyguards and drivers in jeopardy.Then Andi goes on a dangerous mission for her new employer -- a meeting at the Iraqi Islamic Party headquarters that ends in catastrophe.

Searing, unflinching, and revelatory, I Lost My Love in Baghdad is both a raw, brave, brilliantly observed account of the war and a heartbreaking story of one life lost to it.

Przejmująca kronika świata, który zmierza do szaleństwa.

„The Daily Beast”


Szokujący obraz elity amerykańskiej armii, której przyjrzał się jeden z najzdolniejszych reporterów młodego pokolenia.


Generał McChrystal przez współpracowników nazywany był Gwiazdą Rocka, Papieżem, Big Stanem. Kierował operacją wojskową w Afganistanie, prowadząc pełne ekscesów życie, a jego wielkim marzeniem było zostanie celebrytą. Otoczył się ludźmi odjazdowymi, zuchwałymi i bezczelnymi, którzy ponad wszystko kochali władzę i dobrą zabawę. Michael Hastings jeździł z nimi na niebezpieczne patrole i chodził do hotelowych barów, gdzie przy jednym stole popijali wojskowi, szpiedzy i luksusowe prostytutki. Obraz ekipy generała, który Hastings przedstawił w tej książce, wstrząsnął Białym Domem i doprowadził do jednej z najbardziej spektakularnych dymisji w dziejach USA.

Rzeczywistość dopisała do tej historii zaskakujące zakończenie: dziś ludzie McChrystala są ludźmi prezydenta Donalda Trumpa. Dzięki tej książce poznasz Mike’a Flynna, prezydenckiego doradcę ds. bezpieczeństwa narodowego zdymisjonowanego za podejrzane kontakty z Rosją.

Sam Michael Hastings krótko po wydaniu książki zginął w wypadku, którego okoliczności budzą kontrowersje. Pośmiertnie uhonorowano go Norman Mailer Prize za „wybitne dziennikarstwo”.


Na podstawie książki NETFLIX zrealizował film WAR MACHINE – w rolach głównych Brad Pitt i Tilda Swinton.


Imponujący dziennikarski wyczyn

„The New York Times”

A posthumous debut novel-wry, wise, and outrageous-from award-winning journalist Michael Hastings, based on his experiences working for NewsweekThe year is 2002. Weekly news magazines dominate the political agenda in New York and Washington. A young journalist named Michael M. Hastings is an intern at the Magazine, wet behind the ears, the only one in the office who has actually read his coworkers' books. He will stop at nothing to turn his internship into a full-time position and has figured out just who to impress: Nishant Patel, the international editor, and Sanders Berman, managing editor-both vying for the job of editor-in-chief. While Berman and Nishant try to one-up each other pontificating on cable news, A. E. Peoria-the one reporter seemingly doing any work-is having a career crisis. He has just returned from Chad, where instead of reporting on the genocide, he was told by his editors to focus on mobile-phone outsourcing, as it's more relevant. Then suddenly, the United States invades Iraq-and all hell breaks loose.As Hastings loses his naivete about the journalism game, he must choose where his loyalties lie: with the men at the Magazine who can advance his career or with his friend in the field who is reporting the truth.The Last Magazine is the debut novel from Michael Hastings, discovered in his files after his death in June 2013. Based on Hastings' own experiences, it is funny, sharp, and fast-paced, a great book about the news game's final days in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh's Scoop, Hunter S. Thompson's The Rum Diary, and Calvin Trillin's Floater.
At age twenty-five, Michael Hastings arrived in Baghdad to cover the war in Iraq for Newsweek. He had at his disposal a little Hemingway romanticism and all the apparatus of a twenty-first-century reporter-cell phones, high-speed Internet access, digital video cameras, fixers, drivers, guards, and translators. In startling detail, he describes the chaos, the violence, the never-ending threats of bomb and mortar attacks, and the front lines that can be a half mile from the Green Zone-indeed, that can be anywhere. This is a new kind of war: private security companies follow their own rules, or lack thereof; soldiers in combat get instant messages from their girlfriends and families; and members of the Louisiana National Guard watch Katrina's decimation of their city on a TV in the barracks. Back in New York, Hastings had fallen in love with Andi Parhamovich, a young idealist who worked for Air America. A year into their courtship, Andi followed Michael to Iraq, taking a job with the National Democratic Institute. Their war-zone romance is another window into life in Baghdad. They call each other pet names; they make plans for the future; they fight, usually because each is fearful for the other's safety; and they try to figure out how to get together, when it means putting bodyguards and drivers in jeopardy. Then Andi goes on a dangerous mission for her new employer-a meeting at the Iraqi Islamic Party headquarters that ends in catastrophe. Searing, unflinching, and revelatory, I Lost My Love in Baghdad is both a raw, brave, brilliantly observed account of the war and a heartbreaking story of one life lost to it.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.