This is the future of horror! Editor Jonathan Oliver, fast becoming the most exciting new anthologist of the weird and horrific, here brings together three of his award-winning anthologies for Solaris. Here are House of Fear, Magic and End of the Road, showcasing forty-nine stories by the most important and ground-breaking names in genre fiction, including AUDREY NIFFENEGGER ? CHRISTOPHER PRIEST ? CHRISTOPHER FOWLER ? SARAH PINBOROUGH ? ZEN CHO ? ADAM NEVILL ? LISA TUTTLE ? LAVIE TIDHAR ? ROCHITA LOENEN-RUIZ ? GAIL Z. MARTIN ? DAN ABNETT ? SARAH LOTZ ? STEVE RASNIC AND MELANIE TEM and many more!

House of Fear
The tread on the landing outside the door, when you know you are the only one in the house. The wind whistling through the eves, carrying the voices of the dead. The figure glimpsed briefly through the cracked window of a derelict house. Bring horror home with a collection of haunted house stories by some of the finest writers working in the horror genre.

Magic: An Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane
They gather in darkness, sharing ancient and arcane knowledge as they manipulate the very matter of reality itself. Spells and conjuration; legerdemain and prestidigitation ? these are the mistresses and masters of the esoteric arts. From otherworldly visions to diabolical political machinations, here you will find a spell for every occasion.

End of the Road
Each step leads you closer to your destination, but who, or what, can you expect to meet along the way? Here are stories of misfits, spectral hitch-hikers, nightmare travel tales and the rogues, freaks and monsters to be found on the road. Strap on your seatbelt, or shoulder your backpack, and wait for that next ride... into darkness.
STORY The Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers, one of the most respected organizations throughout all of England, has long been tasked with maintaining magic within His Majesty's lands. But lately, the once proper institute has fallen into disgrace, naming an altogether unsuitable gentleman-a freed slave who doesn't even have a familiar-as their Sorcerer Royal, and allowing England's once profuse stores of magic to slowly bleed dry. At least they haven't stooped so low as to allow women to practice what is obviously a man's profession. At his wit's end, Zacharias Wythe, Sorcerer Royal of the Unnatural Philosophers and eminently proficient magician, ventures to the border of Fairyland to discover why England's magical stocks are drying up. But when his adventure brings him in contact with a most unusual comrade, a woman with immense power and an unfathomable gift, he sets on a path which will alter the nature of sorcery in all of Britain-and the world at large. The first in a trilogy, SORCEROR TO THE CROWN will appeal to fans of THE NIGHT CIRCUS and JONATHAN STRANGE & MR NORRELL. QUOTES "An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide."-Naomi Novik, New York Times bestselling author of the Temeraire novels "A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it!" -Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series "A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world-it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style."-Karen Lord, author of The Best of All Possible Worlds AUTHOR Zen Cho was a 2013 finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer and has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize. She lives in London.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.