More in historical drama

From New York Times bestselling author Wendy Lindstrom comes an unforgettable, heartbreaking tale of love and courage that will keep you reading late into the night.

“Awesome underlying emotional power.” – RT Book Review

“Have a hanky ready. You'll need it more than once!” -- Linders

“It grabbed me by the heart and didn't let go.” -- RPurvis

"A perfect ten...one story that should not be missed!" —Romance Reviews Today

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

Marrying her lifelong friend and neighbor, Kyle Grayson, will allow Evelyn Tucker to care for her ailing father and resurrect their failing business. But when Kyle’s older brother, Radford, returns home with his young daughter, it turns Evelyn’s life upside down. Watching the wounded man and withdrawn little girl try to heal, Evelyn struggles with her growing love for them. Must she the passionate love she has always dreamed of to care for her father and to keep her promise and lifelong friendship with Kyle?


CONNECTING BOOKS

Grayson Brothers series:

Book 1:  WHEN I FALL IN LOVE

Book 2:  SHADES OF HONOR - RITA Winner! 

Book 3:  THE LONGING - Romantic Times 4-1/2 star Top Pick! 

Book 4:  LIPS THAT TOUCH MINE

Book 5:  KISSING IN THE DARK

Book 6:  SLEIGH OF HOPE

Book 7:  LEAVE IT FOR THE RAIN

Book 8:  THE PROMISE IN YOUR EYES


WHAT READERS ARE SAYING:

“An emotional rollercoaster!”

“Captivating.”

“Exceptional!”

“Five Stars!”

“Heartwarming page turner!”

“Made me cry. More than once.”

“Keep your tissues handy!”

“A beautiful, heartwarming love story.”

“An unexpected gem.”

“I could not put it down, it made me laugh and cry.”

“I laughed, I cried, I felt anger & sadness! What more could a reader want from a book.” 

“A beautiful heartwarming love story. Love that seemed impossible, became something that makes tears come to your eyes and a smile to your lips. I loved it!

“Heartwarming page turner. I read it in two days and will read the rest of the series.”

 “A wonderful engaging story.”         

 “Exceptional!!!”

“A moving and heartwarming story of courage, family and love.”

 “This book will touch your heart. You can feel the pain and sorrow that a war can bring a family and love heals.”

"Remember how LaVyrle Spencer's books swept you away to another place and time while you fell madly, passionately in love with her fabulous characters? [with]...fresh, vibrant characters, impossible situations, and genuine, heartfelt emotions...masterfully woven...into a passionate romance." —The Romance Readers Connection

"...Lindstrom's superbly written, beautifully poignant romance has a wonderful emotional richness and depth of characterization that will appeal to readers who love authors like Lorraine Heath and Maggie Osborne. —John Charles, American Library Association.

"With Wicked Little Secrets' intriguing plot, quirky characters, witty escapades and heartfelt dialogue, Ives has created a read that's as thought-provoking as it is romantic."—RT Book Reviews, 4 1⁄2 stars

Vivienne Taylor strives to be the embodiment of her wealthy fiancé's rigid ideal of a virtuous lady. But being good isn't easy when a blackmailer threatens to destroy her reputation—and the only person who can help is the deliciously wicked Lord Dashiell.

Vivacious Vivienne has finally won her family's approval by getting engaged to the wealthy and upright John Vandergrift. But when threatened by a vicious blackmail scheme, it is to her childhood friend that Vivienne turns; the deliciously wicked Viscount Dashiell.

Lord Dashiell promised himself long ago that his friendship with Vivienne would be the one relationship with a woman that he wouldn't ruin. He agrees to help her just to keep the little hothead safe, but soon finds that Vivienne has grown up to be very, very dangerous to all of Dash's best intentions.

Wicked Little Secrets Series:
Wicked Little Secrets (Book 1)
Wicked, My Love (Book 2)
How to Impress a Marquess (Book 3)

Praise for Rakes and Radishes:

"Once in a while, I read a book that's so emotive that I find myself thinking about it long after I have put it down and Rakes and Radishes, with its theme of love and forgiveness, is such a book."—The Romance Reviews, Best Book of 2010 Nominee

"I thoroughly enjoyed this story."—Night Owl Reviews, 4 1⁄2 stars, Review Top Pick!

City of God, the latest installment in Beverly Swerling's gripping saga of old New York, takes readers to Manhattan's clamorous streets as the nation struggles to find a compromise between slave and free, but hears the drums of war. This is New York when one synagogue is no longer adequate for thousands of Jewish immigrants, when New Evangelicals rouse complacent Protestants with the promise of born-again salvation, and when it first sees Catholic nuns and calls them whores of Satan. It is New York when ships bring the fabulous wealth of nations to its wharves and auction houses, while a short distance away rival gangs fight to the death with broken bottles and teeth filed to points.

Into this churning cauldron comes young Dr. Nicholas Turner. Nick knows that the discoveries of antisepsis and anesthesia promise medical miracles beyond the dreams of ages. He learns that to make such progress reality he must battle the city's corrupt politics and survive the snake pit that is Bellevue Hospital, all while resisting his love for the beautiful Carolina Devrey, his cousin's wife. Sam Devrey, head of the shipping company that bears his name and a visionary who believes the future will be ushered in by mighty clipper ships spreading acres of sail, battles demons of his own. The life he lives with Carolina in the elegant brownstone on newly fashionable Fifth Avenue is a charade meant to disguise his heart's true home, the secret downtown apartment of the exquisite Mei-hua, his Chinese child-bride. The worlds of all four are imperiled when Sam must rely on Nick's skills to save the woman he loves, and only Nick's honor guards Sam's secret. On a night when promises of hellfire seem to become reality and the city nearly burns to the ground, Carolina and Mei-hua confront the truth of their duplicitous marriages. Rage and revenge join love and passion as driving forces in a story played out against the background of the glittering New York that rises from the ashes, where Delmonico's and the Astor House host bejeweled women and top-hatted men, both with the din of commerce in their ears and the glint of gold in their eyes.

As always, Swerling has conjured a dazzling cast of characters to people her city. Among those seeking born-again salvation are Addie Bellingham, befriended by the widow Manon Turner but willing to betray her, and Lilac Langton, who confesses her sins but avoids mentioning that she's a skilled abortionist in a city that has recently made abortion a crime. Ben Klein, a brilliant young physician, must balance devotion to his mentor and dedication to research with duty to the Jewish community. Wilbur Randolf, Carolina's father, indulges her in everything but fails her when she needs him most. Jenny Worthington, Wilbur's longtime mistress, is driven by avarice to make common cause with Fearless Flannagan, a member of a New York police force as corrupt as the city it serves. Ah Chee, Mei-hua's devoted servant, struggles through Manhattan's streets on bound feet and burns incense to the kitchen god in this place of foreign devils. They are all here, heroines and saints, villains and victims, and a vanished New York made to live again in an intricate tale of old debts and new rivalries.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.