The True Detective

House of Stratus
Free sample

A detective searches for a missing boy in this “compulsively readable thriller” from the author of The Car Thief (Chicago Tribune).
 
Gil Dulac, a police investigator in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, sees his sleepy city infested with a pandemic of sexual depravity. So it’s no surprise to him when twelve-year-old Eric Wells goes missing. Now, as the clock winds down on a horrifying reality, the detective must use his wits, resolve, and experiences to somehow find the boy alive.
 
Theodore Weesner takes the reader deep into the conflicting desires and motivations of a broken family, a frustrated perpetrator, and an immensely complex cop, to create a lightning-fast literary thriller that is “both powerful and moving” (The New York Times).
 
“A crime novel that more than any other . . . takes in the whole situation of the crime. There are no obvious villains here, or easy answers. This is not a genre novel. It belongs on the literature shelf.” —USA Today
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Theodore “Ted” Weesner died in 2015. Known as the “Writer’s Writer” by the larger literary community, his novels and short works were published to great critical acclaim.
 
Born in Flint, Michigan, to an alcoholic father and teenage mother who abandoned him at aged one, he spent a large part of his childhood in an unofficial foster home of an immobile woman of over five hundred pounds. This, however, gave him and his elder brother, Jack, a degree of freedom to explore and have a wide variety of childhood adventures. He nevertheless became introspective as a teenager, with a rebellious streak, which led to him not graduating from high school and also becoming involved in petty crime. Eventually returning to the care of his father, he finally took off on his own when he lied about his age and joined the army at seventeen.
 
The army provided the discipline previously lacking in Weesner’s life, and, whilst serving, he earned a high school equivalency diploma, which allowed him later attend Michigan State University, and later earn an MFA from the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop.
 
His first novel, The Car Thief was published after excerpts had appeared in the New Yorker, Esquire and Atlantic Monthly. His short works have previously been published in the New Yorker, Esquire, Saturday Evening Post, Atlantic Monthly and Best American Short Stories. Likewise, his novels appeared in the New York Times, the Washington Post, Harper’s, the Boston Globe, USA Today, the Chicago Tribune, and the Los Angeles Times.
 
During his lifetime Weesner received the New Hampshire Literary Award for Lifetime Achievement, his novel The Car Thief won the Great Lakes Writers Prize, and The True Detective was cited in 1987 by the American Library Association as a notable book of that year. He was also the recipient of the Guggenheim and National Endowment for the Humanities award.
 
A perfectionist, Theodore Weesner did meticulous research, and was never afraid of going back over and re-writing his work before publication, believing in the maxim “the great novel isn’t written, it's rewritten.”
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
House of Stratus
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 15, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
543
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781938231094
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
From the bestselling author of Alone and The Killing Hour comes a thriller that goes from heartbreaking to heartstopping in the blink of an eye.…

When someone you love vanishes without a trace, how far would you go to get them back?

For ex-FBI profiler Pierce Quincy, it’s the beginning of his worst nightmare: a car abandoned on a desolate stretch of Oregon highway, engine running, purse on the driver’s seat. And his estranged wife, Rainie Conner, gone, leaving no clue to her fate.

Did one of the ghosts from Rainie’s troubled past finally catch up with her? Or could her disappearance be the result of one of the cases they’d been working– a particularly vicious double homicide or the possible abuse of a deeply disturbed child Rainie took too close to heart?  Together with his daughter, FBI agent Kimberly Quincy, Pierce is battling the local authorities, racing against time, and frantically searching for answers to all the questions he’s been afraid to ask.

One man knows what happened that night. Adopting the alias of a killer caught eighty years before, he has already contacted the press. His terms are clear: he wants money, he wants power, he wants celebrity. And if he doesn’t get what he wants, Rainie will be gone for good.

Sometimes, no matter how much you love someone, it’s still not enough.

As the clock winds down on a terrifying deadline, Pierce plunges headlong into the most desperate hunt of his life, into the shattering search for a killer, a lethal truth, and for the love of his life, who may forever be…gone.
The instant New York Times Bestseller (January 2018)!

"A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" —New York Times Book Review

"Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." —Glamour

"Jaw dropping. Unforgettable. Shocking." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The best domestic suspense novel since Gone Girl." —In Touch Weekly

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of Glamour Magazine's Best Books of 2018 | One of Hello Giggles' 19 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Fiendishly clever...in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." —Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

“A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it." –Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

“This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!” —Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault

“Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession.” —Javier Ramirez, The Book Table

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.