The Witch's Cradle: A Novel

Open Road Media
2
Free sample

“How the people love a sinner, especially when she is a woman. Witch! Witch!
The Dark End of the Street
is a television program thatpries into the business of Barry and Cheryl Higgins and their three small children, uncovering every nasty aspect of their lives on welfare in front of a fascinated and disgusted audience. The couple didn’t get rich off the wildly successful reality show, though, so why would anyone want to kidnap the kids? When the two older children are found, there is little doubt that Cheryl planned their disappearance to win the public’s affection and boost the show’s ratings. As the media and the legal system condemn Cheryl, one question remains: Where is baby Cara? Gillian White adeptly demonstrates how the public’s need to know and to judge—and how people can profit from those impulses—is a modern kind of witch hunt.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Gillian White (b. 1945) grew up in Liverpool, England. She has written sixteen novels under her own name, which are known for suspense, Gothic thrills, and satiric views of contemporary society. She also writes historical romance under the name Georgina Fleming. She lives in Devon, England. 
Read more
Collapse
4.5
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 19, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
460
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781480402232
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

 

'Wow, wow, wow, wow, wow, what a book!… grabs you from the very beginning and doesn't let you go until the very last page… An absolutely fabulous, nail-biting thriller!!' 5 stars, Stardust Book Reviews

 

Alexandra Inglis is a respected family doctor, trusted by her patients to keep their most intimate secrets. And if sometimes the boundaries between duty and desire blur… well, she’s only human.

 

But when Alex oversteps a line with Jonathan, one of her patients, she knows she’s gone too far. Jonathan is obsessive, and to get what he wants he will tear Alex’s world apart – threatening not only her career but her marriage and family too.

 

Soon Alex finds she’s capable of doing almost anything to keep hold of her perfect life, as it begins to spin dangerously out of her control…

 

A darkly gripping domestic drama of secrets and lies, from the bestselling author of The Daughter. Perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard, Louise Jensen and The Couple Next Door.

What everyone is saying about White Lies:

 

‘WOW.... I LOVED IT, best book this year, if you read one book this decade read this!!’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

 

‘I absolutely loved this He Said/She Said story... I was literally gripped all the way.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘I read this in a series of gulps, unable to stop turning the pages… Stunning.’ Cass Green

 

‘Gut-wrenchingly brilliant and addictive.’ Roz Watkins

 

‘Absolutely BRILLIANT. Twisty and compelling, guaranteed to make the reader question who is telling the truth. I devoured it in one sitting.’ Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

 

'A tense, emotional read with brilliant twists. I absolutely loved it.' Susi Holliday

 

‘There were so many twists and turns that I didn’t see coming at all... just when you thought you had it figured out... you didn’t!!’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

 

‘An absolute page turner. I couldn't stop reading… Who is speaking the truth, who is lying?... An absolutely gripping psychological thriller. I would highly recommend’ 5 stars, Goodreads review

 

‘I read this latest book by Lucy almost holding my breath… She had me guessing right until the last chapter which I love.’ Book Reviews 4 U

 

‘I wasn’t sure who was telling the truth and who was lying. I kept turning the pages because I wanted to know the truth...and if there even was a truth! Dark, twisted, twisty, dangerous!’ 5 stars, Melissa in the City

 

‘I was hooked right from the start… I didn’t want to put it down and read it in a few hours as I needed to know what happened. I was completely gripped by the plot… it just goes to show the impact that a few little white lies can really have.’ 5 stars, Donna’s Book Blog

 

‘An absolute page-turner, and I read this in just two sittings, losing sleep as I wanted to keep reading more and more!’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘Lucy Dawson has stolen around 3 and a half hours of my life, but replaced them with a compulsively addictive book that I couldn't tear myself away from.’ 5 stars, Rachel's Random Reads

 

‘Without a doubt this is one unputdownable read… I didn't have a clue how it was all going to end but I was desperate for the truth. A gripping and tense read that will have you racing to the end to discover the truth and how it is going to conclude.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘Excellent book… The ending was totally unexpected.’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

 

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2017

Gifted troubleshooter John Smith, introduced in the acclaimed thriller Killfile, must take down a shadowy figure who has weaponized the internet, using social media to put a price on the heads of his targets in this intense, unstoppable thriller from the author reviewers have compared to Michael Crichton, Brad Thor, and James Rollins.

As a fixer for America’s one percent, John Smith cleans up the messes of those rich enough to afford him. But he’s no ordinary gun for hire. Smith is a man of rare gifts, including the ability to read minds. Arriving at the wedding of Kira Sadeghi, a reality television celebrity he recently saved from kidnappers, Smith witnesses a group of gunmen open fire, hitting the bride and others. Though he’s unarmed, Smith cripples one of the killers and is able to pry one word from his mind: "Downvote."

Eager to learn more, Smith hacks into the brain of an FBI agent investigating the attack to discover the Bureau has been investigating a nefarious new threat called "Downvote," an encrypted site on the "dark net" that lists the names of celebrities and offers a hefty bounty for anyone who can kill them—unleashing an anonymous and deadly flashmob with a keystroke.

Finding a mastermind on the internet is like trying to catch air—unless you’re John Smith. Motivated by money and revenge, he traces a series of electronic signatures to a reclusive billionaire living at sea, accompanied by a scary-smart female bodyguard who becomes Smith’s partner in his quest. The hunt for their prey will lead from Hong Kong to Reykjavik to a luxury gambling resort deep in the Laotian jungle. Yet always this criminal mastermind remains one step ahead.

The only way Downvote’s creator can stop Smith is to kill him . . . because while this diabolical genius can run, there’s no hiding from a man who can read minds.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.