Our Lady of Greenwich Village: A Novel

Skyhorse
1
Free sample

A fast-paced, funny novel of politics, religion, and an Irishman struggling with both in New York: “A hell of a yarn” (Frank McCourt, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Angela’s Ashes).
 
At the dawn of a new millennium, in the midst of one of the most heated political races in New York City history, an unlikely player decides to make her presence known. First it hits the papers that the Virgin Mary has appeared to Jackie Swift, an affable GOP congressman with a couple of nasty habits. She then appears in a dream to Wolfe Tone O’Rourke, a liberal political consultant still haunted by the ghost of Bobby Kennedy, whose death he feels responsible for.
 
Swift uses the Virgin, soon styled “Our Lady of Greenwich Village,” to put a strong anti-abortion spin on his current run for office, which immediately polarizes Greenwich Village. O’Rourke, beset by his many demons, sees something familiar in the Virgin’s dancing eyes and the line of her smile and decides to run against Swift with the campaign slogan “No More Bullshit.”
 
With help from Cyclops Reilly, a one-eyed newspaper columnist for the Daily News, and Simone McGuire, his pretty, no-nonsense assistant, O’Rourke is sent on a transcontinental journey that forces him to confront his own past and dig deep into his family history—and figure out what Our Lady of Greenwich Village really wants him to do—in a “raucous” tale that is “about as New York as it gets” (Publishers Weekly).
 
“Fast-paced, colorful, sexy, suspenseful, and terribly funny.” —Rosemary Mahoney, author of Down the Nile and Whoredom in Kimmage
Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Skyhorse
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 25, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
348
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781628732085
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Political
Fiction / Religious
Fiction / Satire
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In this stellar debut by journalist turned Washington insider and political writer Charles Robbins, an eager politico finds himself on the rise only to discover the perilous costs of success.

When Henry Hatten wangles a job as communications director for Nebraska SenatorTom Peele's presidential campaign, he breathes a huge sigh of relief. Smarting over a recent gubernatorial campaign in which his pulling a political punch may have cost his boss the race, he's thrilled to be back in action.

This time around, Henry is determined to shuck his ethical qualms. But he soon finds he's facing more than he imagined. The new gig turns out to be rife with scandal and corruption— just the kind of politics Henry so fervently sought to banish. Events go from bad to worse as the depths of greed emerge, tracking the acceleration and excitement in the campaign itself. Led by a ruthless chairman and filled with warring aides, hired thugs, fractious union bosses, and snooping reporters, the Peele campaign is shaping up to be quite the circus. And that's before Henry's ex arrives on the scene . . .
But when someone close to the campaign is murdered, Henry can no longer turn a blind eye. As he conducts his own covert investigation, still more secrets emerge. So deeply entrenched in the politics and manipulation, Henry must face a staggering reality in which his values are no longer his own. But can he extricate himself and salvage the career he loves? And can he do so with his soul intact? A brilliantly plotted and characterized political novel, The Accomplice takes readers into the guts of a brutal presidential campaign.

“A brilliant piece of literature. Fifty years from now, I would not be surprised to see this book studied alongside Animal Farm in classrooms” (The Stanford Review).
 
Cry Wolf is a perceptive allegory of the political challenges we face in post-9/11 America. The farm animals’ struggle to maintain their way of life against an influx of change is a powerful commentary on the importance of balancing freedom with justice, and on how easily even the best of intentions can destroy a community too caught up with what is “fair” to do what is right.
 
Paul Lake’s novel raises questions in the heart of every devoted citizen: Does political correctness ever trump law? Should safety ever be compromised for the sake of inclusion? Are big government and judicial systems tools to create order, or do they beget chaos?
 
“Lake writes vividly and characterizes shrewdly, producing an anti-immigration fable more polished than Orwell’s anti-Communist satire.” —Booklist
 
“What seems, at first, a gentle fable about farm animals who enjoy a kind of ordered liberty, turns quickly into a grim allegory about man’s dark impulse toward the collective.” —Laurie Morrow, political columnist, The Montpelier Bridge
 
“A charming and chilling fable that underscores the fragility of a world achieved with great difficulty and so easily undone by good intentions gone awry.” —Rev. Richard John Neuhaus, editor-in-chief, First Things
 
“In the great tradition of George Orwell’s Animal Farm. I can only hope that it will be as widely read and will be as powerful an influence as was Orwell’s masterpiece in awakening civilization to its present deadly peril.” —American Spectator
The Irish Uprising comes to life in this “expertly paced novel” of Michael Collins and the fight for freedom “with a historian’s keen eye” (Cahir O’Doherty, Irish Voice).
 
On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, a great revolution began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland. Among the commoners was Michael Collins, a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers, and fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.
 
The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins’s secret weapon was his assassination squad, nicknamed “The Twelve Apostles.” On November 21, 1920, the squad—with its thirteenth member, young Eoin—assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the treaty which would bring into being what is known today as the Republic of Ireland.
 
An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan’s The Year of the French, The 13th Apostle will capture the imaginations and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.
 
“A compelling blow-by-blow account of the efforts Michael Collins led to bring independence to Ireland.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“McEvoy’s expertly paced novel conjures the streets and characters with a historian’s keen eye.” —Cahir O’Doherty, Irish Voice
 
“McEvoy gives us the story of the Irish War for Independence in all its vivid, intimate, squalid, intricate, heroic, and tragic immediacy. . . . This is historical fiction of a rare and wonderful sort.” —Peter Quinn, author of Banished Children of Eve
As they entered their six hundredth year of British occupation, the Irish looked to America. By the 1840s, America was the oasis that the Irish sought during a decade of both famine and revolution, and New York City was the main destination. The city would never be the same.

Refugees of the famine found leadership in Archbishop “Dagger” John Hughes, who built an Irish-Catholic infrastructure of churches, schools, hospitals, and orphanages that challenged the Protestant power structure of the city. Revolutionaries found a home in NYC, too: Thomas Francis Meagher would later become Lincoln’s favorite Irish war general; John Devoy and Jeremiah O’Donovan Rossa continued their fight from the city after the failed Rising of 1867; two men killed in the Easter Rising, Tom Clarke and James Connolly, spent substantial time in New York.

From there, the Irish rose and helped shape New York politics, labor, social activism, entertainment, and art. W.R. Grace was New York’s first Irish-Catholic mayor, followed by Tammany rogue James J. Walker, and then William O’Dwyer of County Mayo. On the labor side, Michael J. Quill, ex-IRA, of the Transport Workers of America, found his perfect foil in WASP mayor John V. Lindsay. Dorothy May and Margaret Sanger became famed social activists.

While the Irish made up much of the NYPD and FDNY, there was also the criminal element of the 1860s. The toughness of the New York underworld caught the eye of Hollywood, and James Cagney would become one of America’s favorite tough-guy movie characters. Irish gangs would be made famous in Martin Scorsese’s Gangs of New York.

Today, Eugene O’Neill, William F. Buckley, and Frank McCourt populate our literary canon.

These Irish influenced every phase of American society, and their colorful stories make up Real Irish New York.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.