Ruler of the Sky: A Novel of Genghis Khan

Open Road Media
2
Free sample

A novel of the thirteenth-century Mongolian warrior, and the women who surrounded him, that offers “a panoramic view of the charismatic leader” (Library Journal).
 
In 1167, in the harsh homeland of Mongol tribes, a child was born who was to change the course of human history. His father named him Temujin, but the world knows him as Genghis Khan. Set amid the barbaric splendor of the Mongol hordes, Ruler of the Sky tells the tale of the warrior who forged one of the greatest and most terrifying armies the world had ever seen, and conquered the world from Peking to Persia. Not only is this the story of Genghis Khan, it is also the story of those who were closest to him, especially the women who played such an important role in his life. From the windswept plains of Mongolia to the opulence of the Chinese court, Ruler of the Sky is unforgettable.
 
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Pamela Sargent has won the Nebula and Locus Awards and was honored in 2012 with the Science Fiction Research Association’s Pilgrim Award, given for lifetime contributions to science fiction and fantasy scholarship. Her many novels include Venus of Dreams, The Shore of Women, The Golden Space, The Sudden Star, and The Alien Upstairs.

About Ruler of the Sky, Sargent’s historical novel of Genghis Khan, told largely from the points of view of women, Elizabeth Marshall Thomas has commented: “Scholarly without ever seeming pedantic, the book is fascinating from cover to cover and does admirable justice to a man who might very well be called history’s single most important character.” The Washington Post has called Sargent “one of the genre’s best writers,” and Michael Moorcock has said of her work: “If you have not read Pamela Sargent, then you should make it your business to do so at once. She is in many ways a pioneer, both as a novelist and as a short story writer. . . . She is one of the best.”

Sargent is the editor of the Women of Wonder anthologies, the first collections of science fiction by women. Her novel Climb the Wind, set in the United States after the Civil War, was a finalist for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History, and her novel Earthseed has been optioned by Paramount Pictures. Melissa Rosenberg, the scriptwriter for all five Twilight films, is set to write and produce the movie through her company Tall Girls Productions.
Read more
Collapse
5.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 1, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
690
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781480497351
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Ancient World
History / Asia / Central Asia
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
 An Irish Fiction Omnibus is a collection of three bestselling novels from Orna Ross, perfect for fans of The Irish Heart series by Juliet Gauvin and An Irish Family Saga series by Jean Reinhardt.

After the Rising, book one in The Irish Trilogy is a historical murder mystery of love, revenge and redemption.

Twenty years ago, Jo Devereux fled Mucknamore, the small Irish village where she grew up, driven away by buried secrets and hatreds, swearing never to return

Now she is back and wants to uncover the truth…

What really happened between her family and their friends, the O’Donovans, during the Ireland’s bitter Civil War?

The consequences of that bitter division in the 1920s carried down into Jo’s own life, shattering her relationship with Rory O’Donovan, the only man she ever loved, and driving her to leave Ireland.

Now, Jo’s estranged mother has died, leaving her a suitcase full of letters and diaries that seem answer some questions about the past.

Over the course of a long hot summer, Jo is astonished to read about her grandmother and great-aunt, their part in Ireland’s fight for freedom and the repercussions that echoed throughout their lives.

She has learned how the passion of rebellion sweeps people up but what happens after the rising?

Her Secret Rose is the first book in The Yeats-Gonne Trilogy, chronicling the passionate relationship between W.B. Yeats and Maud Gonne.

Willie Yeats was 23 years old in 1889, when Maud Gonne, six feet tall, elegantly beautiful and passionately political, came calling to his house and “the troubling of his life” began.

He spread his dreams under her feet, as they set about creating a new Ireland, through his poetry and her politics, and their shared interest in the occult.

Packed with emotional twists and surprises, Her Secret Rose is a novel of secrets and intrigue, passion and politics, mystery and magic, that brings to life 1890s Dublin, London and Paris, two fascinating characters — and a charismatic love affair that altered the course of history for two nations.

Blue Mercy is a literary family drama, with a murder at its heart, full of emotional twists and surprises

When Mercy Mulcahy was 40 years old, she was accused of killing her elderly and tyrannical father. Now, at the end of her life, she has written a book about what really happened on that fateful night of Christmas Eve, 1989.

The tragic and beautiful Mercy has devoted her life to protecting Star, especially from the father whose behavior so blighted her own life. Yet Star vehemently resists reading her manuscript.

Why? What is Mercy hiding? Was her father’s death an assisted suicide?

Or something more sinister?

In this book, nothing is what it seems on the surface and everywhere there are emotional twists and surprises.

Will you side with mother or daughter?

A heartwrenching story of love, loss and triumph.

Diana, an independent Roman woman in a time when women are mere property, is forced to provide food and shelter for an entire northern British estate.  She trusts no one.

Alaric, fierce and proud Celtic warrior, and trusted lieutenant to the upstart British leader, Arthur, must have Diana’s estate to complete his mission. Failure would doom all of Britain.

Alaric and Diana reluctantly cooperate to ensure survival, but famine, Saxon raids, a harsh winter and the conniving of mutual enemies test their resolve.

A story of sacrifice, courage, loyalty and ultimately, a love that erases the boundaries of culture and upbringing, providing hope for a better future for themselves and those who follow in their footsteps.

Get your copy of the novel that reviewers call “a work of written art” and “one of the best historical romances I have read this year.”

This book is part of the historical romance series, Jewels of Tomorrow.
Diana by the Moon
Heart of Vengeance

Ancient Historical Romance Novel
__

Amazon Top 100 Best Seller
Amazon #1 Bestseller, Ancient World Historical Romance
Amazon #1 Bestseller, Historical Mystery, Thrillers and Suspense
Reviewer’s Top Pick, Romantic Times Magazine
Night Owl Reviews Reviewers’ Top Pick
All Romance eBooks Bestseller, Historical Romance
Frankfurt E-book Award nominee
Finalist, Emma Darcy Award
"Must Read" 2014 - Cocktails & Books

This novel drew me in so completely, so thoroughly, time just simply faded.  Diana by the Moon is a work of written art. Tracy Cooper-Posey has penned a beautiful story; of one woman’s courageous journey of self-discovery amidst turbulent times.  Love Romance Passion

With her dedication and sheer will, Diana is an enthralling and moving character. Alaric and Diana’s hot and delicious romance exceeds expectations. Another “can’t miss” by Cooper-Posey!  Night Owl Reviews

The innate need to love and be loved, captures the reader’s attention and heart. Tracy Cooper-Posey is a superb story teller and creates realist scenes of life and the struggles of that age. Lifts up hope for humanity and shows a remarkable, giving love that fills the heart with happiness. GOOD READING!  Long and Short Reviews

A fast-paced emotional story that will warm your heart and fire your blood. Gripping characters and descriptive writing makes this a book that you will want to read all over again. This reviewer had trouble putting this book down and found myself with tears in my eyes. Fallen Angel Reviews

A riveting, incredibly gripping and spell binding novel of suspense, drama and romance. The book is carefully researched and contains an amazing amount of detail to the time period. Diana by the Moon is one book this reviewer will never get rid of. Love Romances

It’s Alaric’s deep sense of honor and goodness that makes this sensitive tale so appealing. It’s a beautifully written novel with a distinctly different plot than most Arthurian books. I highly recommend Diana by the Moon. It’s well researched with two very strong and appealing lead characters. Romance Reviews Today

Presents a modern tale of passion against a historical backdrop of battle, honor, and chivalry. Ms. Cooper-Posey has a deft touch.  eBook Reviews Weekly

Diana by the Moon easily ranks as one of the best historical romances I have read this year. Tracy Cooper-Posey deftly blends historical detail with heart-touching romance, a beautifully rendered plot and compelling characters that will haunt you for days after you read the last page. The BookNook

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.