Blue Avenue

A Daniel Turner Mystery

Book 1
Severn House Publishers Ltd
1
Free sample

A serial killer hunts the Florida night in this “powerfully unnerving” tale of sex, power, and murder from the Shamus Award–winning author (Kirkus Reviews).
 
Businessman William “BB” Byrd is in for a shock. His old friend, homicide detective Daniel Turner, summons him to identify the trussed-up, naked body of a woman, found wrapped in plastic amongst a pile of garbage on Blue Avenue, a down-at-heel area of Jacksonville, Florida. BB recognizes the dead woman as Belinda Mabry, with whom he spent an intense and passionate summer twenty-five years before. What’s more, as Daniel informs him, she’s the third victim to have met such a hideously gruesome end. The other two were prostitutes.
 
Determined to find out what happened to Belinda and where she’d been for the past quarter century, BB must revisit his own troubled past—and discover more than he ever really wanted to know about the woman he once loved. But his investigations are causing serious ripples among the local community’s more prominent members. Can BB and Turner stop a madman before he strikes again, or have they found themselves on a road of no return?
 
An “intriguing thriller” with “expert twists” and “a finale that would make [James M.] Cain and the Coen [Brothers] proud,” Blue Avenue is the first in a riveting mystery series from the Shamus Award–winning author of Monument Road (The Sun-Sentinel).
 
“Wiley is extremely good at creating an atmosphere of menacing dread” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Wiley echoes Walter Mosley’s Easy Rawlins books in both his storytelling and his first-person voice. . . . The plot, fueled by a steadily rising body count, boils furiously.” —Kirkus Reviews
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Michael Wiley was brought up in Chicago, and now teaches literature at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville. He is the Shamus Award-winning author of three previous novels in the Chicago-based Joe Kozmarski PI series

Read more
Collapse
4.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Severn House Publishers Ltd
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 1, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
224
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781780105840
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Noir
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A teacher pursues the ugly truth behind a student’s mysterious death in this “superbly crafted and well-paced crime story” from a Shamus Award winner (Florida Times-Union).
 
When one of her students is found dead, English teacher Lillian Turner refuses to believe it was a suicide—even though Sheneel Greene had a history of trying to take her own life. As the investigation develops, Lillian and her husband, skip tracer and Navy war veteran Johnny Bellefleur, are increasingly drawn in. And when Johnny makes a macabre discovery that proves his wife right, they find themselves caught in something darker and far more dangerous than they could have imagined.
 
Their marriage begins to crack under the strain as Johnny is plunged back into the psychological trauma of his military service. Lillian’s brother, homicide detective Daniel Turner, warns them to stay away from the case. But why is Daniel so eager to sweep the conflicting evidence surrounding Sheneel’s death under the rug? Perhaps he knows more than he’s letting on—namely, how the dead girl was connected to one of Jacksonville’s most powerful and rapacious clans. And most importantly of all—whether Lillian can trust her own brother.
 
“Second Skin has a powerful literary dimension . . . Do I like, admire and even cherish this book? Indeed I do.” —Florida Weekly
 
“Long before the curtain comes down, Lillian won’t know who on Earth she can trust, and neither will you.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Wiley tosses several surprises in along the way to the tense conclusion. The book’s strength lies in its insights into the well-developed characters.” —Publishers Weekly
“A doozy of a doom-laden crime story” from the author of Small Crimes—now a major film—and The Caretaker of Lorne Field (The Washington Post).
 
Stan Green is a jaded New York City cop assigned to the most shocking homicide of his career—and he finds only one witness, a neurologically damaged recluse subject to demonic hallucinations. Then the murderer strikes again. Stan’s best hope is a man who claims to be surrounded by ghoulish apparitions. And there’s just a chance this witness isn’t insane, but instead terrifyingly perceptive . . .
 
Dave Zeltserman’s grisly crime novel is backgrounded by the 2004 ALCS playoffs, when the Red Sox triumphed over the Yankees. A knuckle-whitening, surprising, and compelling trip into Stan’s obsession with a brutal case, this serial-killer mystery is Zeltserman’s darkest, most gripping work yet.
 
“Zeltserman’s lean but muscular style, so evident in A Killer’s Essence and The Caretaker of Lorne Field, is just as sharply honed here . . . Riveting.” —The Boston Globe
 
“This eerie thriller deftly blurs the lines between madness and the perception of reality.” —The Star-Ledger
 
“[A] chilling page-turner attuned to the most discerning of avid crime lovers. Well written and well paced. Recommended.” —New York Journal of Books
 
“Zeltserman’s signature creepiness is available here and there, but what really drives this novel is the engaging portrait of an honest, hardworking cop who, on the job and off, gives the best he’s got, knowing how rarely it will be enough.” —Kirkus Reviews
‘I loved this book… I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next… to say I devoured this book is a little bit of an understatement… What a great book!’ Dark Twisty Books

 

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. 

 

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

 

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

 

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Serial Killer’s Daughter:

 

‘Amazing, page turning, tense and twisted… From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't stop at all.’ Stylish Brunette

 

‘Oh my goodness what a dark and twisted read… Gripping from the first page, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to its shocking conclusion… A roller coaster of a thriller… A gripping story of the psychology of evil and the lengths people will go to meet their own needs.’ The Book Review Café

 

‘An explosive climax.’ Novel Gossip

 

‘This thriller will have you speeding to the end.’ Books, Books and More Books

 

‘Had me gripped… I couldn’t tear my eyes away.’ The Writing Garnet

 

‘Twists and turns galore which kept me gripped from start to finish. The story flows perfectly with numerous shocking truths uncovered along the way. Brilliantly written… I highly recommend.’ Chat About Books

 

‘A riveting, haunting and twisted family tale.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

 

‘The Serial Killer's Daughter is one gripping and absorbing psychological thriller… Lesley Welsh did an excellent job of getting into a serial killer's head. A truly absorbing read for anyone who likes the psychological thriller genre!’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A fun, twisty-turning read.’ When the Books Hit the Fans

 

‘Really enjoyed this book, the story line was fascinating. I loved the style of writing… A real page turner that I had a hard job putting down. A solid 6 stars.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

 

‘I absolutely ADORED this amazing, page turning, tense and twisted thriller. From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't flag, the writing is tight and spare and yet beautiful, the characters real and flawed. Loved every word. Highly recommend this brilliant read.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘It is a seriously dark and disturbing read… As evil as Don is, he still fascinated me and even though I was horrified by his actions, I had to keep reading. Fans of serial killer reads are without a doubt going to love it as it definitely has the shock factor.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘The character development in this psychological thriller is sublime… Without doubt one of the most twisted serial killers I’ve encountered… Very twisty.’ It’s All About Books

A teacher pursues the ugly truth behind a student’s mysterious death in this “superbly crafted and well-paced crime story” from a Shamus Award winner (Florida Times-Union).
 
When one of her students is found dead, English teacher Lillian Turner refuses to believe it was a suicide—even though Sheneel Greene had a history of trying to take her own life. As the investigation develops, Lillian and her husband, skip tracer and Navy war veteran Johnny Bellefleur, are increasingly drawn in. And when Johnny makes a macabre discovery that proves his wife right, they find themselves caught in something darker and far more dangerous than they could have imagined.
 
Their marriage begins to crack under the strain as Johnny is plunged back into the psychological trauma of his military service. Lillian’s brother, homicide detective Daniel Turner, warns them to stay away from the case. But why is Daniel so eager to sweep the conflicting evidence surrounding Sheneel’s death under the rug? Perhaps he knows more than he’s letting on—namely, how the dead girl was connected to one of Jacksonville’s most powerful and rapacious clans. And most importantly of all—whether Lillian can trust her own brother.
 
“Second Skin has a powerful literary dimension . . . Do I like, admire and even cherish this book? Indeed I do.” —Florida Weekly
 
“Long before the curtain comes down, Lillian won’t know who on Earth she can trust, and neither will you.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Wiley tosses several surprises in along the way to the tense conclusion. The book’s strength lies in its insights into the well-developed characters.” —Publishers Weekly
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.