Borrowed Souls: Renting Souls Is Dirty Business

Skyhorse
1
Free sample

Borrowed Souls is do not miss urban fantasy. A fresh, unique world for readers hungry for something awesome” (Lauren Dane, New York Times–bestselling author).
 
Callie Delgado always puts family first, and unfortunately her brother knows it. She’s emptied her savings, lost work, and spilled countless tears trying to keep him out of trouble, but now he’s in deeper than ever, and his debt is on Callie’s head. She’s given a choice: do some dirty work for the mob, or have her brother returned to her in tiny pieces.
 
In Gem City, those looking to take part in immoral—or even illegal—activity can borrow someone else’s soul, for a price, and sin without consequence. Since Callie is low on cash, the slimy Soul Charmer is willing to barter. But accepting his offer will force Callie into a dangerous world of magic . . .
 
With the help of the guarded but undeniably attractive Derek—whose allegiance to the Charmer wavers as his connection to Callie grows—she’ll have to walk a tight line, avoid pissing off the bad guys, all while struggling to determine what her loyalty to her family is really worth.
 
Losing her brother isn’t an option. Losing her soul? Maybe.
 
“Snappy, snarky, and oh-so-sexy. Borrowed Souls is one for the keeper shelf.” —Darynda Jones, New York Times–bestselling author
 
“Combines classic and modern fantasy elements in a fresh take on the genre; readers who like dark worlds and compelling heroines will enjoy this smooth read.” —Booklist
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Chelsea Mueller writes gritty contemporary fantasy. She founded the speculative fiction website Vampire Book Club, blogs about TV and romance novels for Heroes & Heartbreakers, and is co-chair of SF/F charity Geeky Giving. She loves bad cover songs, dramatic movies, and TV vampires. Mueller lives in Texas, and has been known to say y’all.
Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Skyhorse
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 2, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
322
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781940456836
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Fiction / Romance / Fantasy
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"I laughed, cried, cheered and yelled through all three hundred pages and I would sell an organ to have the fourth book to know what happens next because it is that damn good."—5 stars, Love to Read For Fun

Life isn’t always easy for a Shade assassin. Darian’s extraordinary abilities have made her indispensable to the Shaede Nation, as well as their king, Alexander Peck. But disregard for her own safety and inability to steer clear of danger, has driven her protector, Tyler, to his breaking point. Darian wants to salvage their tenuous bond, but her new assignment, to protect Anya—the first Shaede to become pregnant in centuries—quickly takes precedence over Darian’s love life.

Darian’s rivalry with Anya doesn’t help the situation, but when it becomes clear that someone—or something—is determined to destroy both mother and unborn child, Darian has no choice but to put her dislike for Anya aside and track down her would-be assassin.

As she digs into Anya’s past, Darian discovers deeply buried secrets—and a startling link between Tyler and the assignment that could destroy the mystical connection that binds them...

“An absolutely awesome book. I honestly have never read anything like this series and every book leaves me wanting more. These are brilliant books filled with brilliant characters written by a really talented author. I can't wait to reconnect with this series again."—5 stars Yummy Men and Kick Ass Chicks

"CRAVE THE DARKNESS is riveting and unexpected. The surprises just keep coming which makes this series absorbing and often times bone-chilling. Just when you think you have figured out what's happened in the past, another mind-bender is tossed into the mix! The unusual paranormal beings keep this series unpredictable...I sure do crave the next book!”—4.5 Blue Ribbon Rating, Romance Junkies Reviews
“…dark, seductive, and sexy as sin.”—Library Journal

Dagan Krayl, the Underworld's most powerful soul reaper, is the demigod son of the evil god Sutekh. He's on a mission to find his murdered brother's remains and resurrect him, but resurrection means that the secrets carried into death would be released and, with them, a war that could end gods and mankind alike.

Roxy Tam is searching for the same thing, but for completely different reasons. She means to make certain that the remains don’t fall into Sutekh’s hands, and that the soul reapers do not reanimate their fallen comrade. As a Daughter of Aset, Roxy is tasked with the protection of the human race, and if that means thwarting an all-powerful soul reaper and making certain his dead brother stays dead, so be it. But when Roxy sees Dagan face-to-face, she realizes that she has met him once before—a meeting that changed her life forever.

Neither Dagan nor Roxy expects to join forces for the sake of mankind. Or to have their loyalties tested as they struggle against treachery, betrayal and the potent desire that threatens to consume them both.

Praise for Sins of the Heart:

"Darkly delicious, savagely beautiful, fiercely seductive—SINS OF THE HEART sets the new gold standard in paranormal romance. This story will ravish you. Simply put, Eve Silver owns me.”—New York Times bestselling author Ann Aguirre

“I love this book. It is wicked and wild, with a romance so hot you’ll feel it in your bones. Read it, love it, and get swept away.”
—New York Times bestselling author Marjorie M. Liu

For fans of J R Ward, Kresley Cole and Lara Adrian!


The books in the Sins Series are mature, gritty, dark, sexy and straddle the line between Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance. Start the series now with Sins of the Heart—FREE!
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.