Jewish Mothers Never Die: A Novel

Skyhorse
Free sample

When your son’s a genius, it’s hard not to brag—even in the afterlife—in this “funny and fascinating novel about Yiddish mothers in Paradise” (Le Point).
 
Rebecca Rosenthal, a thirty-eight-year-old mother and professor at the Sorbonne, suddenly finds herself in Heaven, surrounded by the mothers of some of the most illustrious Jewish men in recent history—including Albert Einstein, Marcel Proust, Sigmund Freud, Woody Allen, and the Marx Brothers. The ladies seem quite content to spend eternity boasting about their sons, and they aren’t shy about taking a fair share of credit for their children’s successes.
 
As much as she enjoys meeting these women of history, Rebecca is also deeply dismayed over what she sees as her premature death and concerned about the fate of her eighteen-year-old son. Sharing their memories and their wisdom, the mothers reassure Rebecca that her son—like theirs—is destined for greatness.
 
Jewish Mothers Never Die reveals in tender, funny, and searing portraits how the maternal instinct is eternal in this “light, enjoyable, and cleverly staged” little slice of Heaven (Jewish Book Council).
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Natalie David-Weill holds a PhD in French literature and is a screenwriter, with credits including Mort d’un gardien de la paix and Navarro.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Skyhorse
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 5, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
192
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781628724080
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Biographical
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Jewish
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In this “delightful and bizarre” novel, Clarissa Spellbinder spins the yarn of her truly unbelievable—and completely unverified—life (The Boston Globe).
 Miss Clarissa Spellbinder has lived a truly astonishing life . . . or so she tells us. Her father was the intrepid adventurer Lord Andrew Spellbinder and her mother, the fiery Latin songbird Amelita de la Luna, who traveled the world and escaped almost certain death on numerous occasions. Miss Spellbinder relates their spectacular exploits to the patrons of the Back Door Bar That Once Faced the Sea on the fantastical island of Moly—though her listeners seem far more interested in hearing about the misadventures (of the sexual variety, mainly) of Clarissa’s enormous neighbor, the former carnival circuit star Fat Satsuma Johnson, a.k.a. the Black Queen of the Atchafalaya, a.k.a. the pie-eating queen of southern Louisiana. Miss Spellbinder, of course, is more than happy to oblige, since all her stories serve as ammunition in her ongoing battle against “the disease of the literal minded.” What matters most, she tells us, is a unique point of view, for without one, “you have no pinnacle on which to stand and express yourself.”
Edward Swift (Splendora) indulges readers with a novel unlike anything they have read before, an epic voyage through the outrageous history, real and imagined, of Miss Clarissa Spellbinder. It is a journey that may entail a certain suspension of disbelief—but afterward, the world will look very different. 
The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.

“The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.

Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive.

One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her.

A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

Look out for Pam’s new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II.

A New York Times bestseller!

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. “ —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night.

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.