The Crossword Murder

Crossword Mysteries

Book 1
Open Road Media
4
Free sample

Solving puzzles can be murder when a PI and a crossword editor join forces to catch a killer in the first novel of Nero Blanc’s fiendishly clever crossword mystery series

Playboy Thompson C. Briephs has just been found strangled in his bed. The police believe the Newcastle Herald crossword editor, a scion of a blue-blooded New England family, died from kinky sex gone wrong. But cop-turned–private investigator Rosco Polycrates thinks there’s a six-letter word for what happened. Enlisting the help of Annabelle Graham, the crossword editor for a rival paper, Rosco unearths a crazy quilt of suspects who had it in for the victim—and one of them was blackmailing him. Belle is certain the answers lie in Briephs’s twisty puzzlers. Now she and Rosco will have to employ some dazzling wordplay of their own to stop a cunning killer from crossing paths with another victim.

Readers will delight in solving the crime, along with six crossword puzzles, which can be downloaded as PDFs, with answers in the back of the book. The Crossword Murder is a book to be savored by mystery lovers and crossword-puzzle enthusiasts alike.

The Crossword Murder is the 1st book in the Crossword Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Nero Blanc is the pseudonym of Steve Zettler and Cordelia Frances Biddle, who are husband and wife and serious crossword buffs. Biddle is also the author of the Martha Beale historical mystery series, which is set in Philadelphia, Zettler and Biddle’s hometown. Their website is www.crosswordmysteries.com.
Read more
Collapse
3.8
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 14, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
302
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781497671683
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Private Investigators
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Four holiday whodunits in one—the perfect present for puzzle fans! “Light-hearted capers . . . Each as frothy as a cup of good eggnog” (The Wall Street Journal).
 
Together, crossword editor and amateur sleuth Belle Graham and her private detective husband, Rosco Polycrates, are “a great investigative team in the tradition of Nick and Nora” (Bookbrowse). In this holiday-themed collection—featuring two story anthologies and two novels by national bestselling author Nero Blanc—Belle and Rosco follow the clues and fill in the blanks to find the answers to some very puzzling mysteries.
 
A Crossworder’s Holiday: In these five short mysteries, Belle and Rosco solve puzzles in Pennsylvania Dutch Country, Nantucket, and a haunted house in the Cotswolds. Perhaps the most challenging is the case of mobster Freddy Five Fingers, who was sending tip-offs to the cops via crosswords printed in the local tabloid—before he croaked.
 
A Crossworder’s Gift: Five more Yuletide mysteries take Belle and Rosco from sunny St. Lucia where they decipher clues to find a buried treasure to a blizzard that strands a sewing circle. And in Las Vegas, a high roller has strewn clues throughout his suite to form a crossword puzzle that leads to loot.
 
Wrapped Up in Crosswords: With Christmas approaching, Belle does her part creating a Noel crossword contest while Rosco dons a red suit and snowy-white beard to collect toys for the town’s annual children’s drive. But his good will starts to dim when he and two Newcastle Police Department colleagues are mistaken for escaped convicts masquerading as small-town Santas.
 
A Crossworder’s Delight: Just in time for the holidays at Newcastle’s historic Paul Revere Inn, Belle discovers an abandoned treasure: a book of dessert recipes written in the form of crosswords handed down from mother to daughter. But as nice as that is, someone else has been naughty: A valuable Longfellow poem has been stolen from its place of honor on the wall of the inn’s front parlor. As he starts to investigate, Rosco finds himself with a new sleuthing partner, twelve-year-old E. T. Whitman—a bit of a wordsmith himself.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.