City of the Mind

Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
5
Free sample

A “well crafted . . . fascinating” story of a London architect’s struggle for identity in love and career (Time Out).
 
This is the city in which everything is simultaneous. There is no yesterday, nor tomorrow, merely weather, and decay, and construction.
 
In London’s changing heartland, architect Matthew Halland can’t help but contemplate how the past and the present blend. It stirs memories of his boyhood, the early years with his daughter, and the failed marriage he has not yet put behind him. Here, too, is the London of prehistory, of Georgian elegance, of the Blitz. But at the same time, Matthew must keep focused on the constructing of a new future for London—his latest project in Docklands—and with it he begins to forge new beginnings of his own.
 
City of the Mind is the “lucid and complex, meditative and playful, concise and expansive” second novel from the Man Booker Prize–winning author (The Washington Post Book World).
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Penelope Lively is the author of over twenty books of fiction and nonfiction, including the Booker Prize–winning novel Moon Tiger and the Whitbread Award–winning novel A Stitch in Time, as well as numerous children's books.
Read more
Collapse
4.2
5 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 1, 2007
Read more
Collapse
Pages
240
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780802197399
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / City Life
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Psychological
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The New York Times bestselling author of Pucked and The Good Luck Charm delivers a Hollywood happily-ever-after where a famous heartthrob falls for his ultimate fangirl.
"As charming as its title, but it's also so much more... Fans of Jasmine Guillory's The Wedding Date and Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient will love Meet Cute." --The Washington Independent Review of Books
Kailyn Flowers was always calm, rational, and controlled--until she ended up sprawled all over Daxton Hughes, the former actor she totally crushed on as a teenager. Then she did the unthinkable: She became a mortifying fangirl in five seconds flat, which may or may not have included professing her undying love. And oddly, he didn't run away. In fact, their meet cute led to a friendship she never saw coming. Of course, she never saw his betrayal coming, either...
Now Dax needs her help. As guardian to his thirteen-year-old sister, he's in way over his head. And though Kailyn hasn't forgiven Dax, she isn't heartless enough to make him fend for himself, either. Soon their friendly meetings turn into flirty dinner dates, and Kailyn can feel their chemistry is as explosive as ever. But how can she possibly let down her guard again to a guy who has heartbreak written all over him?
Goodreads Hottest Romances of 2019Featured in Entertainment WeeklyFeatured on PopSugarWomen's Health Best Romance Novels of 2019SheReads Most Anticipated Reads of 2019Heroes & Heartbreakers Anticipated Books of 2019Chatelaine's Hottest Romances of 2019
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.