A Child's Garden of Death

The Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries

Book 1
Open Road Media
1
Free sample

A children’s book author and his wife investigate an impossible murder that’s over thirty years old in this intelligent, absorbing small-town thriller.

Murphysville hasn’t seen a triple homicide since the Indian raids. But when an anonymous tip sends police investigators digging in a remote field, they find three rotting skeletons. One of them is missing an arm and another is that of a child who died with a doll clutched to her chest, the only clue to the grisly murders. Clearly, life in  Lyon Wentworth’s cozy Connecticut suburb is far darker than it once seemed.
 
A children’s book author and hot-air balloonist, Lyon has a personal stake in this unsolved crime: He lost a little girl long ago. With the help of his wife, Bea, a no-nonsense state senator who’s losing her hearing but not her quick wit, Lyon pursues the investigation even after the police pronounce the cold case impossible to solve. Lyon and Bea will find justice for the girl who died in the ditch—or they’ll die trying.
 
Richard Forrest’s thrillers are uniquely realistic, showing ordinary people grappling with horrible crimes. This gripping page-turner introduced the world to Lyon and Bea Wentworth, a husband-and-wife sleuthing team in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett’s Nick and Nora Charles.
 
A Child’s Garden of Death is the 1st book in the Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Richard Forrest (1932–2005) was an American mystery author. Born in New Jersey, he served in the US Army, wrote plays, and sold insurance before he began writing mystery fiction. His debut, Who Killed Mr. Garland's Mistress (1974), was an Edgar Award finalist. He remains best known for his ten novels starring Lyon and Bea Wentworth, a husband-and-wife sleuthing team introduced in A Child’s Garden of Death (1975).
 
Read more
Collapse
4.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 16, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
220
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781504037839
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A no-nonsense politician and her children’s author husband search for answers to a retirement-home homicide in this gripping small-town murder mystery.

Fabian Bunting wheels herself down the hallway of the nursing home, opera glasses clutched in her gnarled old hands. Outside, nurses on strike have formed a picket line, and Fabian wants to watch the commotion. As she peers through her binoculars, she sees something incredible: two men beating another senseless and tossing the victim into the back of a van. One of the thugs sees her, and before she can call for help, he has raced upstairs and tossed the helpless old woman into a scalding steam bath to boil alive.
 
In her younger days, Fabian was a brilliant scholar, and the favorite professor of Connecticut politician Bea Wentworth, who has just been defeated in a re-election campaign. Bea refuses to believe her old teacher’s death was an accident and begins investigating. With the help of her husband, Lyon, a hot-air ballooning children’s author, she’ll find the answers to Fabian’s grisly murder lie at the center of an impossible locked-room puzzle.
 
The Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries are unique for their blend of traditional mystery elements and hard-driving, page-turning action. “[This] is the most traditional book in the series to date,” wrote the New York Times. “It also may be the best.”
 
The Death at Yew Corner is the 5th book in the Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.

“[Forrest] writes with a sure hand, and as always, leavens the writing with a touch of humor. . . . A neat, well-plotted, expertly written job.” —The New York Times
 
Praise for the Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries
“[A] superb novel of detection . . . An intricate plot intelligently controlled.” —Publishers Weekly on A Child’s Garden of Death
 
“The writing is stylish and the plotting swift and well knit: a pleasure.” —Booklist on The Pied Piper of Death
 
The Digital Age has brought with it a host of marketing and sales tools. When these tools were still new, they were remarkably successful, but today, e-marketing campaigns are no longer generating the cut-through they once enjoyed. Sales teams are struggling with a shrinking number of prospects and have become conditioned to work almost exclusively with late-cycle prospects—those who are ready to buy now. These prospects are savvier than yesterday’s prospects: they have done all their research online, they know the competition, and they know what they should expect to pay. In many cases, they have already decided what product they are going to buy and from whom. They’re merely speaking to suppliers as part of their due diligence. To win these sales, today’s B2B organisations are lowering their prices, which is placing substantial pressure on margins and on the business as a whole. It’s time to change the paradigm. The Ultimate Guide to B2B Sales Prospecting introduces a powerful prospecting strategy that brings person-to-person conversation back where it belongs: at the heart of the sales process. At the same time, it allows companies to explore a huge market that is invisible to the vast majority of today’s B2B sellers: early-cycle buyers. These are the prospects who are living with a problem that you can solve, but who haven’t got round to looking for a solution yet. With a simple and intuitive four-step process, you’ll learn the art of early engagement. You’ll go from a trickling pipeline to a steady flow of qualified prospects, often in as little as a few months. You’ll learn how to define your market, craft your pitch, and how to manage your prospecting team in ways that will produce dependable results. By following the steps outlined in this book, you’ll be guaranteeing sales tomorrow, sales next month, and sales next year.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.