The Dead and the Missing

Adam Park

Book 1
Crater of the North via PublishDrive
111

A brutal international underworld. A lost girl. A PI determined to burn it all.

Former private investigator Adam Park is living a quiet life of surfing and travel. But when a troubled young woman and her manipulative boyfriend disappear, Adam's former mentor cuts that retirement short.



It seems the pair stole something important from the wrong ruthless criminal - evidence that puts his business and reputation under threat.



Using cutting-edge technology, Adam must track the through the Parisian underworld and into an international organized crime network that treats human life like a business commodity.



To survive ruthless traffickers, confront corrupt law enforcement, and return the girl safely, Adam must burn down his concepts of right and wrong, and draw upon violent facets of his psyche that he has long denied exist.



Because Adam is a good person.



Isn’t he?



The Dead and the Missing is a suspense filled, international mystery & crime thriller, a journey that launches a PI from the relative safety of the corporate world to the hard-boiled existence required to get the job done. At any cost to his soul.



Review from Readers' Favourite:



The Dead and the Missing is loaded with twists and turns and excitement, and had me holding my breath in fear several times, never being one hundred percent sure of how it would end. A.D. Davies is a very talented author.



Pick up the first book in the Adam Park detective series today.



Adam Park Books in Order:



The Dead and the Missing



A Desperate Paradise



The Shadows of Empty Men



Night at the George Washington Diner (novella)



Master the Flame



Under the Long White Cloud

Read more
4.4
111 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Crater of the North via PublishDrive
Read more
Published on
Mar 21, 2017
Read more
Pages
422
Read more
ISBN
9781513095684
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A dead aid worker. An island rife with secrets. A detective driven to solve it all.

With a damaging, violent case behind him, Adam Park is happy tending to his late mother’s canal barge, catching up on his reading, and hoping his increased training is never required. Unfortunately, he owes favors, and when an aid worker is murdered on the Greek island of Paramatra, one such favor is called in.


Kai Pace’s parents believe the investigation into their son’s death is deeply flawed, and Adam is tasked with reviewing the police’s conclusions and - if found wanting - identifying the real killer.


With the island struggling to cope with an influx of refugees, Adam must battle corruption and ruthless smuggling gangs, all amid people so desperate they will do anything to reach the paradise of the west.


Plunging a private detective from the heart of Greece into northern Africa, fear and violence will take their toll upon him, and challenge the very nature of his soul. If he cannot stay the course and dig out the truth, a murderer will go free, and Adam will fall prey to the same evil.


For a fast-paced thriller with plenty of action, pick up your copy of A Desperate Paradise today.


___________________________________________


A Desperate Paradise is a sequel to the first Adam Park thriller, The Dead and the Missing. While Adam’s personal journey continues throughout this private detective series, each novel is its own self-contained story, but many find it more rewarding to read in sequential order:


The Dead and the Missing
A Desperate Paradise
The Shadows of Empty Men
Night at the George Washington Diner (novella)
Master the Flame
Under the Long White Cloud
"Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Paula Hawkins, Pamela Crane introduces a mind-twist that takes everything you love about thrillers, pushes it outside the box, and electrifies you with clever prose and a plot that will terrify you. A must-read thriller...” – Southern Editor Reviews

A life no girl should endure. A father no daughter could love. A twist no one would predict.

From USA Today best-selling author Pamela Crane comes a terrifying tale of small-town secrets and murder.

Ari Wilburn’s life ended long ago—the day she watched her little sister die in a tragic accident and did nothing to stop it. Crippled with self-blame and resented by her parents, she stumbles through life ... and onto an unexpected clue that casts doubt on whether the death was accidental.

Now a psychological wreck, Ari joins a suicide support group where she meets Tina, a sex-enslaved escapee who finds her long-lost father dead. Suicide, police ruled it. But Tina suspects foul play. As a bond develops between the women in their shared loss, they’re dragged into playing a dangerous game with a killer.

A serial killer with a deadly message.

Faced with a murderous wake-up call and two possibly linked deaths, Ari’s investigation puts her next on the killer’s list. But she’s never been one to back down from a fight.

Needing closure, Ari must face her demons and the killer behind them ... or lose everything she loves.

“If Dexter and Gone Girl had a love child, this would be it.” – reader review
A troubled girl. A cabal that believes her possessed by an avenging spirit. A detective who will stop at nothing to protect her.

When PI Adam Park is retained to confirm the accuracy of a young heiress’s family tree, it sounds like the simple case he needs to break the monotony of life on an Aegean island. But it soon becomes clear that others wish to stake a claim to the girl’s fortune, and something as inconvenient as a private investigator will not stand in their way.


As this group calls upon a shadowy killer known as the Pale Boy, Adam’s attention turns to the girl herself, learning her illness is viewed by some as “possession” by a spirit intent on righting wrongs from Porajmos, or “the Devouring”, the Romani genocide inflicted by Nazi Germany. And even those who profess to represent the girl may not hold her best interests at heart.


Delving into a decades-old secret that people will murder to protect, Adam must fight smart and fight hard—against a seemingly supernatural mercenary, against people of unfathomable greed, and against his own darkening nature.


For a gripping, sometimes violent, thriller with a historical mystery at its heart, download The Shadows of Empty Men today.


____________________________________


Adam Park novels are international mystery & crime thrillers that stand alone as one-off adventures, or can be read as a series charting one man’s evolution from a simple investigator to a true hard-boiled detective.


This is the reading order so far:


1 The Dead and the Missing


2 A Desperate Paradise


3 The Shadows of Empty Men


4 Night at the George Washington Diner


5 Master the Flame


6 Under the Long White Cloud

Rafferty’s Rule 23: You show me a man who always fights fair and I’ll show you a man who loses too often.

Fifteen years ago, Rafferty saved Vivian Mollison from a crazed junkie who tried to blow her head off. 

A lot has changed since then. Rafferty’s no longer a cop, and Vivian’s now twenty five, studying sociology at SMU, with a father who made a fortune in computers.

So when Rafferty gets summoned to the Mollison estate and told to chase down the five outlaw bikers who kidnapped Vivian and put her into a drug-induced twilight zone, it’s mixed emotions.

The payday will be big, but he’ll have to earn every penny of it. The bikers aren’t likely to come quietly and who knows how many people could get hurt in the crossfire.

But behind all that fun and excitement, there’s still a girl who needs his help.

Rafferty saved Vivian once. Can he do it again?

If you’re a fan of Spenser, Mike Hammer or Matt Scudder, then this hardboiled pulp thriller, from Shamus Award Winner W. Glenn Duncan, will keep you reading late into the dark night.


RAFFERTY'S RULES is a hardboiled P.I. mystery in the tradition of the best pulp thrillers.

Rafferty’s a Dallas P.I. and an ex-cop who spent enough time on the streets to understand how things work. And when they don’t, Rafferty’s the guy you’ll want on your side. He may quote Latin occasionally, smoke too much and be a cynical sonofabitch, but when it all hits the fan and you need someone you can trust, you’ll be glad you called Rafferty.

Originally published by Ballantine, this 30th Anniversary release of RAFFERTY'S RULES marks the first time that W. Glenn Duncan’s work has been available in digital format. We doubt that Rafferty would quietly accept the ongoing march of technology that provides this opportunity, but even a grizzled P.I. has to grow up sometime.

This hardboiled PI series will continue with the first new Rafferty story in nearly three decades. FALSE GODS, written by W. Glenn Duncan Jr. (son of the original author) sees Rafferty looking for a missing girl, up to his ass in religious fundamentalists and needing all the help he can get from his old pals Cowboy and Mimi—and a few new ones—to make sure he gets out alive.

Join the Rafferty Readers’ Group at RaffertyPI.com to get the latest news on the upcoming release of FALSE GODS.


Praise for W. Glenn Duncan:

“Sometimes it seemed W. Glenn Duncan's Texas P.I. Rafferty had a rule for everything, but the fact remains that most of them were a hoot. And, of course, a further irony is that "Rafferty's Rules" is, in fact, an Australian football term for "no rules at all.” - Thrilling Detective Website

“I have all of the Rafferty titles in my collection. I've gotten rid of a lot of stuff over the years, but the Rafferty books are a mainstay. I think they're terrific!” - Paul Bishop

“Duncan truly captured the pure essence of the definitive smart-ass private eye in his character Rafferty. Take part Sam Spade with a little Mike Hammer, mix in some Spenser and you have an awesome character.” - Cliff Fausset

“At first sniff, it may smell like Spenser with a cowboy hat, but take a good whiff: W. Glenn Duncan's Dallas, Texas private eye RAFFERTY was actually a blast of fresh air in what was rapidly becoming a glut of sensitive, soul-searching, overly politically-correct cookie cutter P.I.s in the late eighties. Of course, it helps that Dallas ain't Boston.” - Kevin Burton Smith

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.