The Dead and the Missing: An Adam Park Thriller

Crater of the North via PublishDrive

A brutal international underworld. A kidnapped girl. A PI determined to burn it all.

When Adam Park’s former mentor recruits him to locate a vulnerable loved one, he learns very quickly that the girl is either the victim of an ex-con’s manipulation or the brains behind the robbery of a major criminal enterprise. Whatever the truth may be, she is in mortal danger.

Tracking the pair from the UK to Paris, then Paris to Asia, Adam delves into the murky and violent world of human trafficking and extortion, where he must draw upon the darkest corners of his psyche to survive.

But these are facets of himself he has long denied exist. Bubbling just beneath the surface, Adam has kept his anger and violence caged all his life. Because he’s a good person.

Isn’t he?

The Dead and the Missing is the first Adam Park novel, a journey that launches a PI from the relative safety of the corporate world to the hard-boiled existence required to get the job done. At any cost to his soul.

˃˃˃ Pick up your copy of this international thriller today!

Review from Readers' Favourite:

The Dead and the Missing is loaded with twists and turns and excitement, and had me holding my breath in fear several times, never being one hundred percent sure of how it would end. A.D. Davies is a very talented author.

Author Questions

Q: So, a private investigator travelling the world?

A: Yes, I love exploring exotic locations, and I love detective fiction, so why not combine them into a thriller?

Q: Quite hard-boilded?

A: It has some violence, more swearing than a lot of people would like, but I’ve tried to keep it in line with the character.

Q: Have we seen characters like Adam Park before? Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series; Vince Flynn’s Mitch Rapp . . .

A: Adam is perhaps ‘of a type’ but he’s very different from Jack Reacher in that he is less of a loner, and perhaps a little more cerebral. He knows how to handle himself, but he’s on a journey. Jack Reacher is absolutely certain of himself, while Adam is evolving. When we meet him in this first novel, he has never killed.

Q: Presumably that will change?

A: Let’s just say a LOT changes for Adam over the course of this novel. It’s a dark mystery, with action-adventure elements, but sits firmly in that noir crime genre where the protagonist isn’t black-and-white.

Q: Will there be more to come from Adam? A: There are sequels available now, and more planned for the future.

Q: And when you say ‘sequels’ does each book follow into the next?

A: While there are ongoing story strands that span the series – such as Adam’s personal life, and his battle with the darkness inside himself – each main plot is self-contained. While it would be advisable to read them in order, you absolutely don’t have to.

Q: Finally, what is the correct reading order?

A: Well, start with the free Kindle edition of The Dead and the Missing then -

A Desperate Paradise

The Shadows of Empty Men

Q: And this isn’t your only series, it is?

A: No, I have the Detective Sergeant Alicia Friend series. She’s an unusually perky UK-based detective. Her first novel His First His Second is only 0.99 on all platforms, so it’s worth checking out if you like cops chasing serial killers. I also have a number of stand-alones that cover crime, murder, and straight-up action-adventure.

For more information on A. D. Davies, click on his author profile below, or go to

Read more


3 total

Additional Information

Crater of the North via PublishDrive
Read more
Published on
Mar 21, 2017
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A. D. Davies
Following the case he believed would be his last, private investigator Adam Park is simply a guy trying to get home. But the vicious criminal who shaped Adam’s life for the past couple of years demands a final assignment from him: solve the case of a serial arsonist, and Adam is free of any obligation.


Arriving in Amsterdam, Adam meets with Sophie Remick, who originally investigating a hotel fire that killed the son of a prominent US mobster, a fire she has always wanted to look deeper into. Adam’s presence gives her a chance at proving her theory.


And as the pair open new avenues, a sadistic killer tries to scare them off, and Adam and Sophie are propelled into a world of former-IRA smugglers and Russian mafia, punctuated by manipulative federal agents. It is a world they must learn to navigate swiftly if they are to survive.


This all new Adam Park thriller sees the troubled private detective face organised crime families, a serial killer driven by vengeance and fury, and an FBI agent who will not compromise with any of them.


If you love tough detectives, serial killer thrillers, and flawed characters trying their best to do the right thing, pick up Master the Flame today.


* * *


Adam Park series does not need to be read in sequence but readers will find it more rewarding in this order:


The Dead and the Missing

A Desperate Paradise

The Shadows of Empty Men

Night at the George Washington Diner (novella)

Master the Flame


All Adam Park thrillers contain violence and frequent bad language.

A. D. Davies
When a good man...
Becomes a bad cop...
But can’t remember why.

Following an attempt on his life, Detective Sergeant Martin Money wakes from a week-long coma with no memory of the previous three years. He quickly learns that corrupt practices got him demoted, violence caused his wife to divorce him, and his vices and anger drove his friends away one by one. On top of this, the West Yorkshire Police do not seem to care who tried to kill him, and he is offered a generous pay-out to retire.

But with a final lifeline offered by a former student of his, Martin takes up the case of a missing male prostitute, an investigation that skirts both their worlds, forcing him back into the run-down estates awash with narcotics, violence, and sex, temptations he must resist if he is to resume his life as the good man he remembers himself to be.

To stay out of jail, to punish whoever tried to kill him, and to earn his redemption, Martin attempts to unravel the circumstances of his assault, and—more importantly—establish why everyone from his past, his former friends, and his new acquaintances, appear to be lying at every turn.

Author A. D. Davies follows up his acclaimed debut novel “His First His Second” with the story of a man chasing a past that nobody wants him to recall.

Praise for "His First His Second":
“An intriguing mix of police procedural and serial killer thriller, that will tease, involve and unnerve you. An entertaining and intriguing debut” –

“Want a book with twists and turns? This is the one. It will not disappoint” – Undercover Book Reviews

When a good man, becomes a bad cop, but can't remember why – and everyone is lying to him.
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.