Waiting for Walter

Troubador Publishing Ltd
Free sample

Set partly in late 1950’s London, Waiting for Walter follows the fortunes of two people over a forty-year time span, crisscrossing between countries. Days before his son’s marriage to an Asian girl, Martin is obsessed by a chance sighting of a familiar young woman on the other side of the street. Whilst wading through old love letters in his attic, a dried-up gingko leaf falls to the floor and he is transported back to his romantic past and the girl who waited. In 1958, Martin, a Jewish boy, met Leni, a young German au pair, at The Moulin Rouge club in London. After a tempestuous start, they fell passionately in love. Secret plans to marry are made but in the aftermath of WW2 and the Holocaust, the forces of prejudice are against them. Martin’s father is unmovable. Unable to bridge the deep-rooted cultural divide, Martin cannot walk away from either his father or the girl he loves. He makes a promise to each that he cannot keep. Now in their sixties, and after years of sworn silence, Martin and Leni arrange to meet once more in Heidelberg. There, a single act of beauty and courage finally re-unites them in an unexpected farewell, leaving Martin with a heartbreaking dilemma... Waiting for Walter is a unique and powerfully moving love story with a historical setting and a strong sense of jeopardy. It will appeal to fans of Julian Barnes, David Nichols, and Colm Tóibín.
Read more

About the author

A. S. Balfour has been writing stage plays since the 1960s. His play Markus Rex won an art council grant and was performed at The Centre for the Arts in Birmingham in 1977. The Hokey Cokey Man was his last play, based on the life, loves and times of his grandfather, Al Tabor, a society bandleader who wrote ‘the Hokey Cokey’ during the war. More recently, A. S. Balfour has written a number of short stories concerned with the art of saying goodbye. Waiting for Walter is his first novel.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Troubador Publishing Ltd
Read more
Published on
Jan 28, 2017
Read more
Pages
200
Read more
ISBN
9781785898020
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Editorial Reviews

"Sorry Christian and Gideon, there’s a new heartthrob for you to contend with. Meet Talon. Talon Steel." - Booktopia

"Hardt delivers a brand-new series with rugged cowboys and scintillating sex. Talon and Jade’s instant chemistry heats up the pages..." -RT Book Reviews

"This book is so raw and addictive! Hands down my new favorite series this year." -Meredith Wild, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

"Ms. Hardt weaves magic with her keyboard and what remains is a beautifully written first installment about two people who are broken but not destroyed... How Hardt weaves the past with the present, while keeping the reader guessing about the secrets the brothers barricade from others, is flawless." -Heroes & Heartbreaker

"This one totally ignited a flame inside me and tore me to SHREDS....buried secrets and harsh realities that test this couple will leave readers gripping the edge of their books and hoping and praying for a miracle... " -Pretty Little Books

"Talon has hit my top five list... up there next to Jamie Fraser and Gideon Cross." -Angel Payne, USA Today Bestselling Author

"CRAVING is the jaw-dropping book, you NEED to read!" -New York Time Bestselling Author Lisa Renee Jones

"Talon is a sexy, intriguing leading man and Jade, our lady left at the altar is a sweet and relatable girl you just want to hug. Together they build a steaming hot relationship you really root for from the first chapter!" -CD Reiss New York Times Bestselling Author

Synopsis

After being left at the altar, Jade Roberts seeks solace at her best friend's ranch on the Colorado western slope. Her humiliation still ripe, she doesn't expect to be attracted to her friend's reticent brother, but when the gorgeous cowboy kisses her, all bets are off.

Talon Steel is broken. Having never fully healed from a horrific childhood trauma, he simply exists, taking from women what is offered and giving nothing in return...until Jade Roberts catapults into his life. She is beautiful, sweet, and giving, and his desire for her becomes a craving he fears he'll never be able to satisfy.

Passion sizzles between the two lovers...but long-buried secrets haunt them both and may eventually tear them apart.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.