Ella, The Slayer

A W Exley
Free sample

The flu pandemic of 1918 took millions of souls within a few short weeks.
Except it wasn't flu, and death gave them back.


Seventeen-year-old Ella copes the best she can; caring for her war-injured father, scrubbing the floors, and slaying the undead that attack the locals. Vermin they're called, like rats they spread pestilence with their bite. Ella's world collides with another when she nearly decapitates a handsome stranger, who is very much alive.

Seth deMage, the new Duke of Leithfield, has returned to his ancestral home with a mission from the War Office -- to control the plague of vermin in rural Somerset. He needs help; he just didn't expect to find it in a katana-wielding scullery maid.

Working alongside Seth blurs the line between their positions, and Ella glimpses a future she never dreamed was possible. But in overstepping society's boundaries, Ella could lose everything - home, head and her heart... 

An Edwardian Cinderella if you imagine Downton Abbey with zombies. This fairytale retelling is perfect for fans of Aya Ling, Marissa Meyer, Chanda Hahn and KM Shea

Keywords: teen & young adult, young adult, historical fantasy, fairytale, fairy tale, fairy-tale retelling, adaptation, fairytale adaptation, Edwardian, zombies, romance, cinderella, fantasy romance.

Read more

More by A. W. Exley

See more

Reviews

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
A W Exley
Read more
Published on
Dec 31, 2017
Read more
Pages
240
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Fiction / Fantasy / Historical
Young Adult Fiction / Fairy Tales & Folklore / Adaptations
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Christina Bauer
“I’m virtually speechless when it comes to this novel. I have not found an author that I adore the writing style of this much since Jennifer L. Armentrout. The world that this author created was amazing.” - Brittany's Book Reviews

Eighteen year old Myla Lewis is a girl who loves two things: kicking ass and kicking ass. She’s not your every day quasi-demon, half-demon and half-human, girl. For the past five years, Myla has lived for the days she gets to fight in Purgatory’s arena. When souls want a trial by combat for their right to enter heaven or hell, they go up against her, and she hasn’t lost a battle yet.

But as she starts her senior year at Purgatory High, the arena fights aren’t enough to keep her spirits up anymore. When the demons start to act weird, even for demons, and the King of the Demons, Armageddon, shows up at Myla’s school, she knows that things are changing and it’s not looking good for the quasi-demons.

Myla starts to question everything, and doesn’t like the answers she finds. What happened seventeen years ago that turned the quasi-demons into slave labor? Why was her mom always so sad? And why won’t anyone tell her who her father is? Things heat up when Myla meets Lincoln, the High Prince of the Thrax, a super sexy half-human and half-angel demon hunter. But what’s a quasi-demon girl to do when she falls for a demon hunter? It’s a good thing that Myla’s not afraid of breaking a few rules. With a love worth fighting for, Myla’s going to shake up Purgatory.

"Wow, I loved this novel."- Koeur's Book Reviews

Read all the series from author Christina Bauer:
•Angelbound Origins (YA Dark Fantasy)
•Angelbound Offspring (YA Dark Fantasy)
• Beholder (YA Dark Fantasy )
• Dimension Drift (YA Urban Fantasy )


and coming soon...

• Fairy Tales of the Magicorum (YA Urban Fantasy)
Sara C Roethle
 A compilation of the first three books of the Xoe Meyers Series. 


Xoe: Xoe Meyers had a normal life. So she was stuck going to high school, and she only had a few friends to call her own. She liked her normal life. Things were about to change though, because there's a new guy in her small town, and he is anything but normal. Before Xoe can say, "Werewolf," her best friend's life is in peril, and Xoe's world is turned upside-down. Then, of course, there's Jason. Xoe doesn't trust him as far as she can throw him, and given that he's a vampire, she'd have to be able to catch him first.

Accidental Ashes: Last year Xoe's life was turned upside-down. Things haven't improved much. With the lives of her friends at risk, Xoe forgets to worry about another life...her own. With the reappearance of a face from her very distant past, and a random string of abductions to deal with, Xoe has to fight to keep things together. Even if 'together' is a far cry, ahem...howl, from the norm.

Broken Beasts: Xoe had hoped that after the events of the last few months, things would finally slow down. No such luck. The werewolves are out for blood, and so are the vampires apparently. Let's not even get started on the problems her own friends are causing. Regardless of the danger, Xoe and her rag-tag entourage are in Moab, facing the werewolf coalition. Their final ruling will change Xoe's fate, and the fate of her friends forever. Here's hoping that's a good thing.

Topics: Young Adult, Teen, Fantasy, Paranormal, Werewolves, Shifters, Vampires, Demons, Witches, Humor, Urban Fantasy, Urban Fantasy Series, Clean Romance, Mystery, Strong Female Lead, Quirky, Witty, Paranormal Series, Ghosts.Topics: Young Adult, Teen, Fantasy, Paranormal, Werewolves, Shifters, Vampires, Demons, Witches, Humor, Urban Fantasy, Urban Fantasy Series, Clean Romance, Mystery, Strong Female Lead, Quirky, Witty, Paranormal Series, Ghosts.

Book 1
From bestselling author Kim Richardson comes a fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, The Girl of Fire and Thorns and The Shannara Chronicles.

IN A LAND WHERE MAGIC IS BANNED and where cruel High priests rule, Elena steals the most valuable jewel in the Empire in the hopes to sell it and start a new life. But she is caught, and the punishment for stealing is death. And yet in that moment she is given a choice—death or to become one of the High priests' champions in The Great Race. 


Elena is catapulted without warning into the bloodiest race in all the realms, forced to compete with a man she hates while she develops a growing passion for another. She struggles to understand her special skills, her mysterious healing powers that she must keep secret. Within a world built on a religious sect and dangerous secrets, she becomes a woman torn between obligation and desire, between a man she supposedly hates and another.

As Elena comes to terms with her own secret, she discovers the truth behind the race and must stop the ancient, wicked evil that threatens all living things before it's too late.

From the award winning author of MARKED comes a new mesmerizing series full of action, adventure, and steamy romance.

"Elena is an engaging, well-drawn character…a solid start to a new series…" – Kirkus Reviews

"There's romance, adventure, action and a really neat world that felt cohesive. I think fans of "Throne of Glass" might really enjoy this one..." – The Reader's Hollow

"This story is chock full of adventure, action, and sizzling romance...written with such richness that readers who give it a try will not be disappointed." – Janelle Fila for Readers' Favorite

"Overall this is a strong story for its genre. With a lot of purpose. I can't wait to read book #2 in the series. 5 Boundless stars." – Boundless Book Reviews

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.