Ella, The Slayer

Serenity House

Book 1
A W Exley
163
Free sample

The flu pandemic of 1918 took millions of souls within a few short weeks.
Except it wasn't flu, and death gave them back.


Seventeen-year-old Ella copes the best she can; caring for her war-injured father, scrubbing the floors, and slaying the undead that attack the locals. Vermin they're called, like rats they spread pestilence with their bite. Ella's world collides with another when she nearly decapitates a handsome stranger, who is very much alive.

Seth deMage, the new Duke of Leithfield, has returned to his ancestral home with a mission from the War Office -- to control the plague of vermin in rural Somerset. He needs help; he just didn't expect to find it in a katana-wielding scullery maid.

Working alongside Seth blurs the line between their positions, and Ella glimpses a future she never dreamed was possible. But in overstepping society's boundaries, Ella could lose everything - home, head and her heart... 

An Edwardian Cinderella if you imagine Downton Abbey with zombies. This fairytale retelling is perfect for fans of Aya Ling, Marissa Meyer, Chanda Hahn and KM Shea

Keywords: teen & young adult, young adult, historical fantasy, fairytale, fairy tale, fairy-tale retelling, adaptation, fairytale adaptation, Edwardian, zombies, romance, cinderella, fantasy romance.

Read more
Collapse

More by A. W. Exley

See more
4.4
163 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
A W Exley
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 31, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
240
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Fiction / Fantasy / Historical
Young Adult Fiction / Fairy Tales & Folklore / Adaptations
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"Must read YA paranormal romance!" - USA Today

Seventeen-year-old Bryar Rose has a problem. She’s descended from one of the three magical races—shifters, fairies, or witches. That makes her one of the Magicorum, and Magicorum always follow a fairy tale life template. In Bryar’s case, that template should be Sleeping Beauty.

Should being the key word.

Trouble is, Bryar is nowhere near the sleeping beauty life template. Not even close. She doesn’t like birds or woodland creatures. She can’t sing. And she certainly can’t stand Prince Philpot, the so-called “His Highness of Hedge Funds” that her aunties want her to marry. Even worse, Bryar’s having recurring dreams of a bad boy hottie and is obsessed with finding papyri from ancient Egypt. What’s up with that?

“Exciting and well-conceived” – Kirkus

All Bryar wants is to attend a regular high school with normal humans and forget all about shifters, fairies, witches, and the curse that Colonel Mallory the Magnificent placed on her. And she might be able to do just that--if only she can just keep her head down until her eighteenth birthday when the spell that’s ruined her life goes buh-bye.

But that plan gets turned upside down when Bryar Rose meets Knox, the bad boy who’s literally from her dreams. Knox is a powerful werewolf, and his presence in her life changes everything, and not just because he makes her knees turn into Jell-O. If Bryar can’t figure out who—or what—she really is, it might cost both her and Knox their lives... as well as jeopardize the very nature of magic itself.

"A fun romp for Twilight fans."- School Library Journal.

Perfect for readers who love young adult books, contemporary fantasy, fairy tales, gamma guys, satire/comedy, paranormal romance, fairies, magic users, shapeshifters, and coming of age stories.

FAIRY TALES OF THE MAGICORUM
Sleeping Beauty
1 - Wolves And Roses
1.5 - Moonlight and Midtown
2 - Shifters And Glyphs

Cinderella
2.5 - Fairies and Frosting
3 - Slippers And Thieves

Christina Bauer is the author of the bestselling Angelbound series about Heaven, Hell and Purgatory, and the angels, demons, dragons, ghouls and humans that call them home; the Beholder series, about a medieval farm girl turned necromancer who needs to save the realm; the Fairy Tales of the Magicorum, which takes place in version of our modern world where fairies, shifters and wizards are real; and Dimension Drift, where one sassy teenage girl-slash-scientist plots to save the future from its dystopian fate. "Must read YA paranormal romance!" - USA Today

Seventeen-year-old Bryar Rose has a problem. She’s descended from one of the three magical races—shifters, fairies, or witches. That makes her one of the Magicorum, and Magicorum always follow a fairy tale life template. In Bryar’s case, that template should be Sleeping Beauty.

Should being the key word.

Trouble is, Bryar is nowhere near the sleeping beauty life template. Not even close. She doesn’t like birds or woodland creatures. She can’t sing. And she certainly can’t stand Prince Philpot, the so-called “His Highness of Hedge Funds” that her aunties want her to marry. Even worse, Bryar’s having recurring dreams of a bad boy hottie and is obsessed with finding papyri from ancient Egypt. What’s up with that?

“Exciting and well-conceived” – Kirkus

All Bryar wants is to attend a regular high school with normal humans and forget all about shifters, fairies, witches, and the curse that Colonel Mallory the Magnificent placed on her. And she might be able to do just that--if only she can just keep her head down until her eighteenth birthday when the spell that’s ruined her life goes buh-bye.

But that plan gets turned upside down when Bryar Rose meets Knox, the bad boy who’s literally from her dreams. Knox is a powerful werewolf, and his presence in her life changes everything, and not just because he makes her knees turn into Jell-O. If Bryar can’t figure out who—or what—she really is, it might cost both her and Knox their lives... as well as jeopardize the very nature of magic itself.

"A fun romp for Twilight fans."- School Library Journal.

Perfect for readers who love young adult books, contemporary fantasy, fairy tales, satire/comedy, paranormal romance, gamma guys, fairies, magic users, shapeshifters, and coming of age stories.

MAGICORUM series reading order
Sleeping Beauty 'Bryar Rose'
1 - Wolves and Roses
1.5 - Moonlight and Midtown
2 - Shifters and Glyphs

Cinderella 'Elle'
3 - Slippers and Thieves (2019)
4 - Bandits and Ball Gowns (2020)

Evil Queen from Snow White 'Avianna'
5 - Apples and Arsenic (2021)
6 - Evil Queens and Goblin Kings (2022)

Read all the series from author Christina Bauer:
- Fairy Tales of the Magicorum (YA Urban Fantasy)
- Angelbound Origins (YA Dark Fantasy)
- Angelbound Offspring (YA Dark Fantasy)
- Angelbound Worlds (YA Dark Fantasy)
- Beholder (YA Dark Fantasy)
- Dimension Drift (YA Urban Fantasy)
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.