Nefertiti's Heart

A W Exley
Free sample

 Cara Devon has always suffered curiosity and impetuousness, but tangling with a serial killer might cure that. Permanently.

1861. Cara has a simple mission in London - finalise her father's estate and sell off his damned collection of priceless artifacts. Her plan goes awry when a killer stalks the nobility, searching for an ancient Egyptian relic rumoured to hold the key to immortality.

Nathaniel Trent, known as the villainous viscount, is relentless in his desire to lay his hands on both Cara and the priceless artifacts. His icy exterior and fiery touch stirs Cara's demons, or could he lay them to rest?

Self-preservation fuels Cara's search for the gem known as Nefertiti's Heart. In a society where everyone wears a mask to hide their true intent, she needs to figure out who to trust, before she sacrifices her own heart and life.

This steampunk adventure is perfect for fans of Gail Carriger, Shelley Adina, CJ Archer and Bec McMaster.

Keywords: steampunk, gaslamp, gothic, historical fantasy, historical mystery, victorian, victorian era, victorian romance, paranormal romance, romantic fantasy, fantasy mystery, mystery, action and adventure, alternate history, ancient Egypt, artifact, artefact.

Read more

More by A. W. Exley

See more


16 total

Additional Information

A W Exley
Read more
Published on
Feb 14, 2013
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Fantasy / Historical
Fiction / Science Fiction / Steampunk
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"It was wonderful! Full of mystery, intrigue, a hint of romance and of course the witty humour." ★★★★★ Google Play reviewer Cindy Jean

"This is a great read with many twists and turns that are extremely interesting. The characters are excellent." ★★★★★ Google Play reviewer Cherry Malone

"I absolutely loved this book! Can not wait for the next book in the series. The characters are easily lovely and the plot is one of a kind! Super excited for this new series!" ★★★★★ Google Play reviewer Lori Yedor


India Steele is desperate. Her father is dead, her fiancé took her inheritance, and no one will employ her, despite years working for her watchmaker father. Indeed, the other London watchmakers seem frightened of her. Alone, poor, and at the end of her tether, India takes employment with the only person who'll accept her - an enigmatic and mysterious man from America. A man who possesses a strange watch that rejuvenates him when he's ill.

Matthew Glass must find a particular watchmaker, but he won't tell India why any old one won't do. Nor will he tell her what he does back home, and how he can afford to stay in a house in one of London's best streets. So when she reads about an American outlaw known as the Dark Rider arriving in England, she suspects Mr. Glass is the fugitive. When danger comes to their door, she's certain of it. But if she notifies the authorities, she'll find herself unemployed and homeless again - and she will have betrayed the man who saved her life.

With a cast of quirky characters, an intriguing mystery, and a dash of romance, THE WATCHMAKER'S DAUGHTER is the start of a thrilling new historical fantasy series from the author of the bestselling Ministry of Curiosities, Freak House, and Emily Chambers Spirit Medium books.

KEYWORDS: historical mystery, historical fantasy, victorian era, victorian fantasy, steampunk, historical romance, paranormal romance, romantic fantasy, paranormal fantasy, magic, fantasy mystery, wild west, oulaws, victorian romance, alternate reality, magical realism 

The Veil Series starts here. Reviewers say; "Epic!" "A spectacular series!" "Best series EVER!" And it's now complete!

If your ex is the Prince of Greed, you’d better be ready to raise Hell.

Charlie Henderson is living a lie. Her real name is Muse, she's half demon, and her attempt at a normal life is about to go up in smoke. 

After a assassin tries to kill her, leaving a trail of destruction in his wake, Muse must return to the one man she hoped never to see again and ask for help. The Prince of Greed isn’t known for his charity. His price is high, and the cost could tear her apart. 

Trapped between the malevolent intentions of the scheming Prince of Hell and the cocky assassin with ulterior motives, Muse must embrace the demon inside her if she has any hope of surviving them both. 

Complex characters, original, and twists galore. The phenomenal Veil Series is an action-packed, gritty urban fantasy for fans of Ilona Andrews, Lilith Saintcrow, and Jeaniene Frost.

(Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award 2014 Quarter-Finalist Top 100 in Genre.)

Praise for ‘Beyond The Veil’ - #1 The Veil Series.

"This emotional, supernatural novel keeps up a brisk pace without leaving the reader behind... A solid start to the series." Publishers Weekly.

"Action-packed, raw urban fantasy that’s edgy and eclectic." Amazon reviewer.

"This is a fantastic book, and one of my new favorites! ...a brilliant and original (urban fantasy) tale, entwined with a fascinating element of romance. I am eager to dive into the next book in the series to see what happens with these fantastic characters." Moonrise Books Blog

"I almost cried. It was THAT heart-wrenching." Nocturnal Predators Reviews

"Steamy and sensual in places whilst heartrending and profoundly poignant & deep in others." Amazon reviewer.

"Beyond the Veil" has everything you want in a good urban fantasy read... Muse is a great main character, that is "real". She is fast becoming one of my fave heroines. And what can I say of the men, but sexy alpha men are my weakness and this one has two!! Night Owl Reviews

Genre: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance

Sub-Genre: Demons.

The Veil Series Reading List

Wings of Hope (Prequel novella)

Beyond The Veil (#1)

Devil May Care (#2)

Darkest Before Dawn (#3)

Drowning In The Dark (#4)

Ties That Bind (#5)
The islands of Caldera are a shining jewel in a rather bleak world. A terrible calamity in the past had blanketed much of the world with a toxic "fug." Those who survived were forced to take to the mountains and the skies in wondrous airships. Life has since been a struggle, with only the most ruthless and crafty able to survive. To spare themselves the same fate, the Calderans erected a battery of guns to fend off the airships of the mainland. They isolated themselves from the madness of the world, choosing instead to focus on the pursuits of art and creativity. Few believe the technologically advanced but socially barbarous outsiders have anything to offer. Amanita Graus, though, is hoping that they do.

Nita's mother has lost her livelihood and perhaps soon her life to a terrible disease. Already the black sheep of the family for embracing engineering rather than art, Nita resolves to leave the safety of her home and do whatever it takes to find a cure. For a price, the bizarre crew of an airship called The Wind Breaker are willing to grant her a meeting with their mysterious benefactors, and thus a chance to procure the one thing with a chance to save her mother.

Free-Wrench follows Nita’s adventures in a steampunk world of airships and lunatics. Helping her in her journey are an eccentric crew of smugglers; the gruff Cap’n Mack, the simple but enthusiastic Lil and Coop, the arrogant marksman Gunner, the surly surgeon Butch, and the irritable mascot Wink. To survive and find what she seeks she’ll need to earn their trust, follow their rules, and meet face to face with the people who pull the strings of their society.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.