A Known Evil (Detective Michael Rossi Crime Thriller Series, Book 1)

· Detective Michael Rossi Crime Thriller Series Book 1 · Sold by HarperCollins UK
4.0
2 reviews
Ebook
400
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘A rich and compelling crime thriller’ Adam Hamdy

A serial killer stalks the streets of Rome...

A gripping debut crime novel and the first in a groundbreaking series, from a new star in British crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin.

‘An intelligent, taut, stunner of a debut ... Twists and turns aplenty in this complex, cleverly plotted crime thriller’ Deborah Masson

A city on lockdown.
In the depths of a freakish winter, Rome is being torn apart by a serial killer dubbed The Carpenter intent on spreading fear and violence. Soon another woman is murdered – hammered to death and left with a cryptic message nailed to her chest.

A detective in danger.
Maverick Detective Inspectors Rossi and Carrara are assigned to the investigation. But when Rossi’s girlfriend is attacked – left in a coma in hospital – he becomes the killer’s new obsession and his own past hurtles back to haunt him.

A killer out of control.
As the body count rises, with one perfect murder on the heels of another, the case begins to spiral out of control. In a city wracked by corruption and paranoia, the question is: how much is Rossi willing to sacrifice to get to the truth?

4.0
2 reviews
A Google user
March 2, 2018
A Known Evil starts off with a fairly conventional scenario where homicide looks to be developing into a serial killer situation and a talented but all too principled detective is called upon by his seniors. Police politics and the management of their public profile through the media soon emerge as irritants to Detective Rossi and modest hurdles in his investigations. The story quickly spirals out from such parochial matters to take us on an exhilarating tour of a whole host of interlinked organisations and criminal ‘worlds’ with Rossi and the manhunt that then materialises becoming a pivotal point in a lot of unscrupulous people’s nefarious livelihoods. I found the novel to be an excellent exciting read. If you are interested in modern day politics and conspiracy theories then it is definitely for you. Rossi and his allies become heavily embroiled in the criminal underworld and, maybe more spine tingling for me, the criminal ‘overworld’. Two sides of the same coin. I honestly felt like I needed to check over my shoulder every now and then while reading it. The worlds of politics, secret service, mafia, people trafficking, the dark web and the Vatican are all explored in the course of the investigation. I found this fascinating and as I think I’ve already suggested, added to the suspense. I don’t think cerebral and thrilling are mutually exclusive, certainly not in this book. I felt it was very ‘filmic’ and the author has shown great skill to create some jaw-dropping, edge of your seat even, ‘scenes’. At times I was reminded of Inspector Morse – I think the characters and their interrelations are as ‘alive’ as Dexter’s. I haven’t read Rankin but as the comparison has been made to this book I will seek him out. I think in this modern day, the parochial world of Morse would be very different. This book reflects our modern world as one very integrated, not exactly in a positive way, world. The book is highly ambitious and I feel it delivers in every aspect.
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
When I read the blurb for this book, I was immediately drawn to the story line & location. However, whether or not it’s being marketed with an accurate tag line is open for debate. From the ...

About the author

Aidan Conway was born in Birmingham to Irish Parents and has been living in Italy since 2001. He holds an MA in Irish Writing from Queen’s University Belfast and has been a bookseller, a proofreader, a language consultant, as well as a freelance teacher, translator, and editor for the United Nations FAO. He is currently an assistant university lecturer in Rome, where he lives with his family. A Known Evil is his first novel.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.