A Pocketful of Stars

Egmont UK
Ages 9-12
Free sample

'A gorgeous story of friendship and growing up' Cathy Cassidy

This place is magic . . . but it's not the sort of magic that comes from wands and spells . . .

Can piecing together the past help you change the present?

Safiya and her mum have never seen eye to eye. Her mum doesn’t understand Safiya’s love of gaming and Safiya doesn't think they have anything in common. As Safiya struggles to fit in at school she wonders if her mum wishes she was more like her confident best friend Elle. But then her mum falls into a coma and, when Safiya waits by her bedside, she finds herself in a strange and magical world that looks a bit like one of her games. And there’s a rebellious teenage girl, with a secret, who looks suspiciously familiar . . .

A Pocketful of Stars is a story about family, friendship and finding out who you are . . . with a sprinkling of magic.

'Moving and heartfelt', Anna James, author of Pages and Co

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Ross Welford and Kiran Millwood-Hargrave.

Aisha Bushby was selected as one of only four previously unpublished authors in the Stripes anthology for BAME writers, A Change is Gonna Come, alongside writers such as Patrice Lawrence, Tanya Byrne and Nikesh Shukla. The anthology was awarded a YA Book Prize Special Achievement Award. A Pocketful of Stars is her debut novel.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Aisha Bushby was selected as one of only four new authors in the Stripes anthology for BAME writers, A Change is Gonna Come, alongside writers such as Patrice Lawrence, Tanya Byrne and Nikesh Shukla. The anthology was awarded a YA Book Prize Special Achievement Award.

Since then she has been taking part in panels, interviews and events across the UK, from Bristol Waterstones to Manchester Academy, Birmingham Literature Festival to Southbank YALW, BBC Radio 3 to Buzzfeed. Aisha is a part-time Waterstones bookseller and lives in Lincolnshire.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Egmont UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 8, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
256
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781405293204
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Family / Parents
Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic
Juvenile Fiction / Historical / Middle East
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship
Juvenile Nonfiction / Family / General
Juvenile Nonfiction / Social Topics / Death & Dying
Juvenile Nonfiction / Social Topics / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.