Fracking The UK 2: The Storm Rages On

Alan Tootill
Free sample

 Alan Tootill's first volume of Fracking The UK discussed the threat to Britain of a new dash for gas. It concluded that the US experience shows the UK government's imposition of shale gas exploration on an unwilling public is ill-judged and unacceptable. Published in March 2013, this remains an essential primer to fracking and how it might affect the UK.

In this new volume, Alan Tootill covers the events in the UK since 2013, and with the struggle against fracking winning the political argument in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, concentrates on the English dimension to the continuing war against an unwanted industrialisation of our countryside and unwarranted attack on environmental and human health, human rights and local democracy.

Read more

About the author

 Alan Tootill is a novelist with ten titles in the Martin Cole and Blackpool series to his credit. He is also the author of the most significant analysis of the prospects for UK shale gas fracking.

His non-fiction published title, Fracking The UK, came out on Kindle and in paperback in March 2013, and discusses the threat to Britain of a new dash for gas. It remains the only analysis of why the US experience shows the UK government's imposition of shale gas exploration on an unwilling public is ill-judged and unacceptable. Newly published in December 2016 is the update - The Storm rages On. The second volume charts the progress - or lack of it - of fracking in the UK and the propaganda war that surrounds the issue.

After living for over 25 years in Devon, Alan returned to the Fylde, where he grew up, and now lives in Lytham St Annes. Alan continues to study the progress of the fracking agenda and give support locally and nationally for anti-fracking initiatives.

Alan spends his year partly in the Fylde and partly in Puglia, Italy. Not to mention regular trips to India, where he has travelled extensively over the last twenty years and now regularly attends classical music festivals. He has two grown-up children, and his wife Christine is a writer of mathematics courses and textbooks.

Alan's background includes technical writing, writing for magazines and press agent work, but it was with the Martin Cole series that he turned to creating fiction. Currently there are five books in this series, and four in the Blackpool novels. His work includes a book of short stories continuing the Blackpool noir/pulp theme, and by contrast a further light-hearted Roselake novel, which one reviewer has dubbed "The English Clochemerle".

His Martin Cole Novels, centred on the fictional Devon town of Roselake, combine humour and crime mystery. The Blackpool Novels are grittier, a new British noir blended with pulp fiction.
Read more



Additional Information

Alan Tootill
Read more
Published on
Dec 12, 2016
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Best For
Read more
Read more
Political Science / Public Policy / Economic Policy
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.