George (Scholastic Gold)

Sold by Scholastic Inc.
Ages 9-12
2,218
Free sample

George joins the Scholastic Gold line, which features award-winning and beloved novels. Includes exclusive bonus content!

When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she's not a boy. She knows she's a girl.

George thinks she'll have to keep this a secret forever. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte's Web. George really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte. But the teacher says she can't even try out for the part . . . because she's a boy.

With the help of her best friend, Kelly, George comes up with a plan. Not just so she can be Charlotte -- but so everyone can know who she is, once and for all.
Read more

About the author

Alex Gino loves glitter, ice cream, gardening, awe-ful puns, and stories that reflect the diversity and complexity of being alive. George was their first novel. George was a winner of the Children's Stonewall Award, the Lambda Literary Award, and the Children's Choice Book Awards, among a host of others. George was also featured on several Best of the Year lists. For more about Alex, please visit alexgino.com.
Read more
4.2
2,218 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Scholastic Inc.
Read more
Published on
Aug 25, 2015
Read more
Pages
208
Read more
ISBN
9780545812580
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / LGBT
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Bullying
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."  --VOYA

For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
 
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.  

*  2017 Southern Book Award Winner—Juvenile Category
*  Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health
*  NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016
*  Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 
*  New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016
*  Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 
*  Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal
* YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults
* YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
*  ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
*  Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee
*  Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018
*  Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017
* Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 
* Junior Library Guild Selection 
* Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's
* 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award  
* 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book 
* 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature

"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus 

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred 

“Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.”--PW 
 
"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA
 
"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.