My Mother's Choice: An utterly heart-breaking and emotional page-turner

Bookouture
10
Free sample

I’d always thought they kept quiet about her because they were sad. But what if it was because they were guilty?


I watch them at the school gates, all the mothers with their daughters. I see the hugs and all those thoughtful little adjustments to scarves and ponytails. How their love seems to overflow, they have so much of it to give.


And then I walk home to my aunt’s cold house, where there are a hundred rules for me to follow and only a single photograph of my mother to look at.


She is never spoken about in this house. They tell me that it will be easier if I don’t think about her.


It is strange though, isn’t it? That I know nothing about my own mother?


But they don’t know about the diary I’ve found up in the loft. Maybe they even forgot it was there. It doesn’t matter anymore if they won’t tell me anything. Because within these pages is what I’ve waited fourteen years to find out. And maybe some things I wish I could forget.


All I wanted was to bring our family closer together, but could what I find tear us apart instead?


A heart-breaking and powerful novel about family secrets and how we live with decisions we never thought we would have to make. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Kate Hewitt and Amanda Prowse.


What readers are saying about Ali Mercer:


Heartbreaking and heart-warming… A powerful family domestic drama filled with emotion and secrets… A captivating story that kept me hooked until the end.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolutely gripping and emotional More family drama than a prime-time soap opera!!… This instantly hooks you.’ Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I was intrigued immediately… An emotional rollercoaster where you are not let off until the final page… Make sure you have the tissues handy!’ Once Upon a Time Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Such a compelling read. An affecting story, allowing readers to be drawn into the delicate lives of these characters… a superb read.’ Robin Loves Reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


A family drama that will tug at your heart. Filled with secrets, lies, deceit, and finally forgiveness… A page turner that had me captivated from the start. Great read.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolutely fantastic, had me gripped!!! Loved it!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow I HAD to see how this emotional read would end… There was great character development… twists and turns that took me by surprise!’ Steph and Chris’s Book Review


Grabs you on the first page and doesn’t let go. It is well written and full of emotions. This is a “Must Read”!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolutely brilliant and had me gripped from cover to cover! Would highly recommend!’ NetGalley Reviewer


Compelling. Heart-breakingAn evocative story that left its imprintI highly recommend this book.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Ali Mercer writes with heart and soul… Secrets abound and the reader won't know them all until the end. A definite for your TBR list!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Very emotional. Sure to pull at your heart… make sure you have got tissues… very beautifully written… a must read.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Excellent book… Could not put the book downA real page turnerThis book is a must.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Read more
Collapse
4.0
10 total
5
4
3
2
1
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Seller
Google LLC
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jul 29, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
350
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838886912
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Sea Stories
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2022 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google Play|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.