Her Sister's Child: A heart-stopping psychological thriller with an incredible twist

· Bookouture
4.4
18 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

She rolls over and reaches for her instinctively: her baby. Her hand hits air and flaps redundantly. She stumbles out of bed and switches on the light. But this only confirms it. The baby is gone. Someone has taken her.


Sixteen years ago, Lizzie Armitage woke to find her newborn baby gone. Just days later, Lizzie was dead.


Her sister Paula swore she would do everything she could to find the child. If she hadn’t promised to keep Lizzie’s pregnancy secret, maybe the baby wouldn’t have disappeared. And maybe Lizzie would still be alive. But, in nearly a decade, Paula’s never found any trace. Until now


When Paula bumps into an old friend from the past, she realises she wasn’t the only one who knew about her sister’s child. Someone knows what happened that day. Someone knows where Lizzie’s baby went.


But can Paula find out the truth before another family is ripped apart?


A twisty, unputdownable psychological thriller that will you hooked until the last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Friend Request and The Girl on the Train will love Her Sister’s Child.


Why readers love Alison James:


Wow what a read!I was up all night reading this… An absolutely gripping psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page… Full of mystery and suspense with twists and turns to keep you on your toes, I was completely hooked Gives you goosebumps.’ Once Upon a Time Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


WOW!!!!! Hooked from the first page and read this book in one sitting… Full of tension and suspense. A real page turner, a domestic noir but OMG so much more!!!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Absolutely one of the best books I have ever read… Exceptional’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


An absolutely amazing read… Totally captivating… This is a truly gripping, intense, exceptionally good novel… Full of suspense, intrigue and twists and turns. An unputdownable read in every single way… One of my favourite reads this year.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Make sure you have a ton of time on your hands when you finally sit down to read because this book will BLOW YOUR MIND!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow… grabs you from the first page and makes you ignore everything else… fantastic.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



NEW BOOK SPECIFIC QUOTES TO ADD IN:


'Right, where do I start? This book was truly brilliant, I was totally hooked. A highly suspenseful family drama which has twists you just don’t see coming.

 Such a fast-paced book, my heart was pounding reading the last two chapters!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


'I was captivated from the outset and devoured this in only two days.' NetGalley Reviewer


'Absolutely loved this thrilling psychological thriller! Couldn’t wait to see what would happen next but didn’t want it to end! Was totally enthralled from start to finish!

Would totally recommend this book!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


'Psychological thriller at its peak. Ok I wasn't expecting it to end in that way... Alison just punched me to my face with that twist of hers for which her books are known for.' NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars


4.4
18 reviews
Katie Artiga
November 27, 2020
Thank you to Net Galley and Alison James for the advanced copy in exchange for my honest review. Her Sister’s Child comes out November 26, 2020 – be sure to grab yourself a copy. This book is told from the point of view of multiple characters, in different timelines. Paula is a divorced mother of two, filled with the guilt of never knowing that happened to her dead sister’s baby. Charlie is a new teen mom who’s trying to find her way. Marian is an older woman who has always wanted a baby of her own. Though each woman is at a different stage of life, their paths cross in the most unexpected ways. This book was a great read and I was hooked really early on. The author did a good job of making each character just as entertaining as the next, I never felt like I wanted to rush through one characters story line to get back to another story line. Seeing as there were multiple points of view I wish each chapter was labeled with a date so that I could have a clearer idea at the start of the chapter. There was an excellent twist that completely threw me for a loop and as I started to uncover it was quite pleased with how unexpected it was! Overall, I really enjoyed this one and would recommend it for your next read!
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Marnie Harrison
November 26, 2020
Alison James has put together a tale that is intense, suspenseful and one that will keep you on the edge of your seat as you try and piece together the puzzle of the mystery. It invokes a range of emotions within you and added to that some twist and turns, makes for a very entertaining read. The writing is story, the narrative sharp and overall has been well executed. I enjoyed the way the book is structured and how it plays out from multiple points of view over different time periods. Each character is complex and brings their own personality to life through the pages and gives the reader an in-depth view to each of them, the events that have occurred and how they all form together in the present. The first half of Her Sister’s Child does move along at a slightly slower pace to begin with as the foundation is laid, but at no time did I want to stop reading the book. Once it gets going though, it does so at high speed making for more of a thrilling second half. I also felt that the ending was a little bit rushed, but was still satisfying in its outcome. Her Sister’s Child is a gripping tale that really pulls on the heartstrings. It is thrilling, emotive and will have you completely invested in it from start to finish. It is a great psychological thriller to lose yourself in and I look forward to seeing what Alison James comes up with for her readers next.
Did you find this helpful?
Catawba Cats
November 26, 2020
Highly readable psychological thriller with a stupendous twist! There are two parallel stories running with multiple characters and changing timelines. It's all easily kept track off and creates a full and rich story. Alison James is consistent in her writing and stories - very enjoyable!
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.