Qualitative Research in Sport Management

Routledge
Free sample

Qualitative Research in Sport Management is the first book of its kind to bring together valuable research designs based on extensive research in qualitative research methods across a number of different fields. Research designs from the fields of business, education, cultural studies, media studies, queer studies, sociology and psychology are applied specifically to sport management, taking into account the special features and nuances of this field.

In each research design the text provides a concise guide to how each model can first be applied to sport management issues and problems, second, strengthen the research design, and finally, enhance the research process.

Each chapter is carefully structured to ensure that key information is easy to locate and remember and includes: Introduction, Objectives, Key Concepts and Terms, and Review and research questions. International case studies, "In Profile" sections with leading sport management researchers and research briefs are used to illustrate how theory is put into practice.

An accompanying website provides powerpoint summaries of each chapter. Please visit: www.textbooks.elsevier.com/9780750685986.

Read more

About the author

Allan Edwards is a Faculty member of Griffith University, Gold Coast Campus, Australia and researcher in the Centre for Tourism, Sport and Service Innovation. He has extensive sport industry management experience and has conducted research and consultancy for national and international sport agencies as well as government authorities. Dr Edwards was previously Regional Secretary of the Oceania region and Executive Board Member for the International Council for Health and Physical Education – Sport and Dance (ICHPER-SD) and International Chair of the Sport Management curriculum com.

James Skinner is a Professor in the School of Education and Professional Studies, Griffith University. His research focuses on sport and social and cultural change, drugs in sport, sport and educational policy, leadership in sport and education and globalisation studies. He also has a strong interest in the development and application of qualitative and interpretive research designs in sport and has published in this area.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Routledge
Read more
Published on
May 4, 2010
Read more
Pages
460
Read more
ISBN
9781136436369
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Business & Economics / General
Business & Economics / Industries / Hospitality, Travel & Tourism
Sports & Recreation / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.