The Lido Girls

Sold by HarperCollins UK
1
Free sample

'Is immediately on my "best books of 2017" list’ Rachel Burton, author of The Many Colours of Us

‘A beautifully-drawn cast of characters blended with meticulous research, so evocative of the era, pull you into a heartwarming page turner’ Sue Wilsher, Author of When My Ship Comes In

Change is in the air...

It’s the summer of 1935 and holidaymakers are flocking to St Darlstone’s magnificent lido beside the sea!

With little hope of finding a husband, no-nonsense Natalie lives for teaching, until she finds herself out of a job courtesy of her best friend Delphi. But if she can team up with Delphi to bring her rigorous physical fitness programme to the people of St Darlstone, maybe there’s a chance she can start again and help her friend to follow her dreams too?

So Natalie takes on the Lido Girls. But, with Delphi’s handsome brother, Jack, on the scene, and Delphi’s desperate struggle to defy her overbearing parents, Natalie must find the courage to face up to her own fears, and realise what she truly wants in life...

Set against the backdrop of the pioneering keep fit movement; this is a feel-good celebration of friendship and what's possible when you follow your heart.

Escape to the inter-war years in this emotional story where opportunity can be found at the pool-side in your local lido... Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Gill Paul

Read more

About the author

Ally Burns is a debut novelist. Her next book will be out in October 2017.

Read more

Reviews

3.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Published on
Oct 2, 2017
Read more
Pages
384
Read more
ISBN
9780008245320
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Classics
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.