The Spiral Bridge

Wheatmark, Inc.
Free sample

In the fall of 1934, Tillie Tilden travels to Rosemount, Minnesota, to teach kindergarten through eighth grade in a one-room schoolhouse. The community is thrilled that she accepted the position on such short notice, and Tillie is excited about taking a break from classwork and getting some real-world experience. She loves her students, particularly a sweet, mentally challenged sixth grader named Orville. But as she settles into her new role, she grows concerned. Why is nobody willing to tell her what happened to the previous teacher?

Eventually, Tillie learns that Helen Shattuck was found hanging from the rafters of the school's storage room. The townsfolk assume she ended her life because of an unwanted pregnancy. But when Tillie discovers her diary hidden in the place where she died, she suspects that the teacher was murdered -- possibly by someone high up in the school district.

Now Tillie is determined to bring the killer to justice. To succeed, she'll need the help of Al Freitag, the handsome sheriff's deputy, and Orville, the student she's never given up on.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Alvin H. Franzmeier was born and raised on a southern Minnesota farm during the Depression. He served as the founding pastor of congregations in Ontario, Canada, and suburban St. Paul, Minnesota. After obtaining a master's degree in church history from Luther Seminary, St. Paul and a doctorate in pastoral counseling from Chicago Theological Seminary, he became dean of the chapel at Concordia University, St. Paul. After a few years the Holy Spirit called him to serve congregations in Houston, Texas for forty-five years. He and his wife, Sylvia, are now retired in south Texas. They are the parents of three children and the grandparents of six.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Wheatmark, Inc.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 27, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
260
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781627875561
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Family secrets come back to haunt Jack Reacher in this electrifying thriller from “a superb craftsman of suspense” (Entertainment Weekly).

Jack Reacher hits the pavement and sticks out his thumb. He plans to follow the sun on an epic trip across America, from Maine to California. He doesn’t get far. On a country road deep in the New England woods, he sees a sign to a place he has never been: the town where his father was born. He thinks, What’s one extra day? He takes the detour.

At the same moment, in the same isolated area, a car breaks down. Two young Canadians had been on their way to New York City to sell a treasure. Now they’re stranded at a lonely motel in the middle of nowhere. The owners seem almost too friendly. It’s a strange place, but it’s all there is.

The next morning, in the city clerk’s office, Reacher asks about the old family home. He’s told no one named Reacher ever lived in town. He’s always known his father left and never returned, but now Reacher wonders, Was he ever there in the first place?

As Reacher explores his father’s life, and as the Canadians face lethal dangers, strands of different stories begin to merge. Then Reacher makes a shocking discovery: The present can be tough, but the past can be tense . . . and deadly.

Praise for Past Tense

“Child is one writer who should never be taken for granted.”—The New York Times Book Review

“[Lee Child] shows no signs of slowing down. . . . Reacher is a man for whom the phrase moral compass was invented: His code determines his direction. . . . You need Jack Reacher.”—The Atlantic

“Superb . . . Child neatly interweaves multiple narratives, ratchets up the suspense (the reveal of the motel plot is delicious), and delivers a powerful, satisfying denouement. Fans will enjoy learning more of this enduring character’s roots, and Child’s spare prose continues to set a very high bar.”—Publishers Weekly (boxed and starred review)

“Another first-class entry in a series that continues to set the gold standard for aspiring thriller authors.”—Booklist (starred review)

“With his usual flair for succinctness and eye for detail, Child creates another rollicking Reacher road trip that will please fans and newcomers alike.”—Library Journal (starred review)
‘I loved this book… I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next… to say I devoured this book is a little bit of an understatement… What a great book!’ Dark Twisty Books

 

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. 

 

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

 

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

 

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Serial Killer’s Daughter:

 

‘Amazing, page turning, tense and twisted… From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't stop at all.’ Stylish Brunette

 

‘Oh my goodness what a dark and twisted read… Gripping from the first page, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to its shocking conclusion… A roller coaster of a thriller… A gripping story of the psychology of evil and the lengths people will go to meet their own needs.’ The Book Review Café

 

‘An explosive climax.’ Novel Gossip

 

‘This thriller will have you speeding to the end.’ Books, Books and More Books

 

‘Had me gripped… I couldn’t tear my eyes away.’ The Writing Garnet

 

‘Twists and turns galore which kept me gripped from start to finish. The story flows perfectly with numerous shocking truths uncovered along the way. Brilliantly written… I highly recommend.’ Chat About Books

 

‘A riveting, haunting and twisted family tale.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

 

‘The Serial Killer's Daughter is one gripping and absorbing psychological thriller… Lesley Welsh did an excellent job of getting into a serial killer's head. A truly absorbing read for anyone who likes the psychological thriller genre!’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A fun, twisty-turning read.’ When the Books Hit the Fans

 

‘Really enjoyed this book, the story line was fascinating. I loved the style of writing… A real page turner that I had a hard job putting down. A solid 6 stars.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

 

‘I absolutely ADORED this amazing, page turning, tense and twisted thriller. From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't flag, the writing is tight and spare and yet beautiful, the characters real and flawed. Loved every word. Highly recommend this brilliant read.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘It is a seriously dark and disturbing read… As evil as Don is, he still fascinated me and even though I was horrified by his actions, I had to keep reading. Fans of serial killer reads are without a doubt going to love it as it definitely has the shock factor.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘The character development in this psychological thriller is sublime… Without doubt one of the most twisted serial killers I’ve encountered… Very twisty.’ It’s All About Books

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER •  Lee Child returns with a gripping new powerhouse thriller featuring Jack Reacher, “one of this century’s most original, tantalizing pop-fiction heroes” (The Washington Post).

BONUS: Includes a sneak peek of Lee Child’s new novel, Past Tense.

Reacher takes a stroll through a small Wisconsin town and sees a class ring in a pawn shop window: West Point 2005. A tough year to graduate: Iraq, then Afghanistan. The ring is tiny, for a woman, and it has her initials engraved on the inside. Reacher wonders what unlucky circumstance made her give up something she earned over four hard years. He decides to find out. And find the woman. And return her ring. Why not?

So begins a harrowing journey that takes Reacher through the upper Midwest, from a lowlife bar on the sad side of small town to a dirt-blown crossroads in the middle of nowhere, encountering bikers, cops, crooks, muscle, and a missing persons PI who wears a suit and a tie in the Wyoming wilderness.

The deeper Reacher digs, and the more he learns, the more dangerous the terrain becomes. Turns out the ring was just a small link in a far darker chain. Powerful forces are guarding a vast criminal enterprise. Some lines should never be crossed. But then, neither should Reacher.

Praise for The Midnight Line
 
“Puts Reacher just where we want him.”—The New York Times Book Review

“A gem.”—Chicago Tribune
 
“A timely, suspenseful, morally complex thriller, one of the best I’ve read this year . . . Child weaves in a passionately told history of opioids in American life. . . . Child’s outrage over it is only just barely contained.”—The Philadelphia Inquirer
 
“A perfect example of Lee Child’s talent . . . Lee Child is the master of plotting. . . . This is Child’s most emotional book to date. . . . This is not just a good story; it is a story with a purpose and a message.”—Huffington Post
 
“I just read the new Jack Reacher novel by Lee Child. . . . It is as good as they always are. I read every single one.”—Malcolm Gladwell
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.