The Magnolia Sisters: An utterly perfect and heartwarming romance

· Bookouture
4.2
4 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

Harper Anderson has a to-do list longer than the Colorado river, and fields of tulips to tend to at her family’s flower farm in Hillsboro County, California. It’s her dream to run the business with her sisters when their father retires, keeping up traditions that began with her great-great-grandmother.


That is, if there’s a farm left to run. Rich out-of-towners looking for a slice of country living are hiking up the prices in town and it’s putting her family out of business. So she has no time for the arrogant LA tech mogul who makes her an offer to use their farm as his sister’s wedding venue. No amount of money could make up for the destruction it would wreak on next season’s crop. The sooner Luke Martin is on his way, the better.


But Luke isn’t willing to go. He’s been looking out for his sister ever since their deadbeat parents left them to fend for themselves, and he’ll do whatever it takes to make her happy. So when Harper’s newest farmhand leaves her in the lurch, he sees an opportunity to strike a deal. He’ll work on the farm for free if she’ll give him the chance to change her mind.


Harper and Luke each expect the other to crack first. What they don’t expect is the chemistry that sparks between them as they work side by side among the budding roses. But Luke’s presence is turning over more than the earth, and just as Harper is starting to let her guard down, he stumbles upon a secret that could spell disaster for the entire Anderson clan.


With her family’s happiness at stake, can Harper put her trust in a man who is worlds apart from everything she knows?


An emotional, spellbinding story about family, first impressions and the transformative power of love. Fans of Susan Mallery, Debbie Macomber and Carolyn Brown will be carried away by The Magnolia Sisters.


What readers are saying about The Magnolia Sisters:

“This was truly the PERFECT sweet romance! I fell in love with Harper and the other Andersons immediately, and could almost smell flowers blooming around me as I read… Murray created an adorable, quirky small town that felt like home.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Swept me away in its warmth. I couldn't stay away until I finished the book. This was a complete book of feels and fun, family and love, where the complex and varied characters made the romance come alive.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I absolutely loved it! A perfect love story.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


“I simply loved The Magnolia Sisters… From the opening paragraph, I was hooked.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“This is a fabulous read, beautifully written. It’s the kind of book that will remain with you long after you’ve reached the last page. I'm absolutely not going to give anything away, only to say HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.” Brook Cottage Books Blog, 5 stars


“This was another 2 a.m. read! I absolutely could not put this book down. Funny, emotional, all at once. The author did an amazing job with the characters and was a well written story. You wanted to be there on that cozy beautiful farm.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“It made my heart melt.” B for Bookreview


“So sweet—a story that is hard to put down, full of emotion, and with plenty of feelings to go around.” NetGalley reviewer


I loved this book! A sweet romance story that would be a perfect Hallmark movie… It was the type of story I’d want to be part of. The perfect book.” Goodreads reviewer

4.2
4 reviews
Gaele Hi
March 6, 2020
Harper has worked since she was a teen at the family flower farm, all the way up to managing most of the operations after her father’s accident. She, along with her two sisters all live at home, and deal with their mother’s pushing them to marriage, their father’s kindly acceptance and their own hopes for the future. But none are even dating, and living and working in the small town has none of them thinking in that direction. Except to provide the flowers or do some arrangements. So, when an “obviously” LA couple arrives and demands to hire the farm as a wedding venue, her hackles are up and things aren’t that simple. For the woman is engaged to Harper’s youngest sister May’s ex – who broke things off with no warning and she’s never quite recovered. Luke has spent years caring for his sister Amy, from dropping out of high school to work and provide the basics, to working all the hours sent to make a splash and millions in tech. He’s determined that Amy will have everything she wants, even if he’s not that hot on her intended, and to that end, he’s going to spend time working on the farm to convince Harper to give in. Oh this was so sweet – between the flowers, the sisters and Harper’s utter inability to see that she’s attracted to Luke in some very basic ways. And you can’t help but enjoy Amy and her determination to get Luke out of directing her life to find his own. When you add in the tension and the fears of both Harper and Luke, May’s depression about her breakup, and Amy’s determination to make everything work for Luke -and you come out with a story that is hard to put down, full of emotion, and with plenty of feelings to go around. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
DJ Sakata
June 17, 2020
This was my first experience reading the agile and smoothly penned tales of Alys Murray and I have since added more of her books to my TBR. Her relatable characters were uniquely quirky and likable and inhabited storylines that were engaging, easy to follow, and well balanced between humor, family drama, and angst. I would classify the genre of this entertaining story as women’s fiction with a bit of light romance that only went as far as earth-rattling and heart-racing smooching. I was smiling throughout most of this pleasant and amusing tale until the author unfortunately tossed in one of my least favorite tropes near the end which took a bit off the shine, but I would still read it again and look forward to more from this clever storyteller.
Ioana Radu
March 8, 2020
Feel-good, heartfelt and funny. Loved the bond between the sisters and can't wait to read their stories too.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.