Telegrams and Teacakes

Wartime Bakery

Book 3
Bookouture
11
Free sample

‘There was no denying it, being cheerful was a challenge. You just had to be grateful for small mercies: a sunny day, a night without an air raid, an extra rasher of bacon from the butcher.’

 

England, 1942: 23-year-old Betty runs away from Bristol to make a new life for herself. Betrayed by her husband, Betty flees to the seaside town of Bournemouth, where she has fond memories of childhood holidays. There, she finds a small family bakery, in desperate need of a new shop girl…

 

At the Barton Bakery, Betty finds a sanctuary with shopkeeper Audrey Barton, but Audrey is fighting battles of her own. Her husband is at war and in grave danger, she is heavily pregnant, and her customers are horrified by the demands imposed by rationing.

 

Audrey’s stepsister Lily receives a letter from a man she once loved very much, a man she thought was lost to her forever. He offers her a new future with him, but one that will mean sacrificing so many of her hopes and dreams…

 

As Winston Churchill tells the country to ‘never give in’, the women of the Barton Bakery struggle on to keep their families, homes and loved ones safe in a time of turmoil.

 

Telegrams and Teacakes is a romantic World War Two saga full of heartbreak and hope, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries and Sheila Newberry.

 

What readers are saying about Telegrams and Teacakes:

I couldn't stop grinning… a truly wonderful story that totally enveloped me. With so many lovely characters, they really do capture your heart making this an emotional rollercoaster of a read. An endearing read that can be read and enjoyed, again and again.’ By The Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

A beautiful, beautiful story. Based during the war it tells the story of a family, friends and neighbours of a bakery and how they strive to overcome hardships. Lots of tears and laughter. Highly recommend it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Absolutely loved this book. I'm a huge fan of wartime sagas with believable characters and this definitely ticked that box. It was a realistic and fascinating glimpse into the past and I was gripped from page one. Couldn't wait to get to the end and see how things unfolded.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘The writing instantly transports you back… an emotional rollercoaster of a story – sadness and tears over what they had to suffer but also a heart-warming story of family and friendships. Highly recommended.’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

Absolutely marvellous my emotions were ripped apart as I was left in tears more than once…  truly engaging, filled me with warmth’ Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars

 

Beautifully written, heartfelt and also feel-good… I love reading stories like this… It gives me a warm fuzzy feeling inside.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘There was a real sense of pulling together and hope. Amy has managed to get the right blend of humour and heartache… a must for any reader.’ Jen Med’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

What readers are saying about Amy Miller:

‘You will love this … An absolutely brilliant family saga and one which I can highly recommend. A perfect read for these colder nights curled up with a nice cup of tea!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

I couldn't put this book down and it kept me hooked until the very last page.' Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

Genuinely heartwarming… I loved everything… I cannot recommend this book to you enough - I thought it was superb!!’ Donnas Book Blog, 5 stars

 

'I absolutely loved it... a wonderful story of love, romance, family, friendship, secrets, charity and a tasty bakery.' Little Miss No Sleep

 

Heart-warming and emotional and a book that I didn't put down until I turned the last page. I couldn't help myself but devour this gorgeous story in one go.’ By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

Heartbreaking, heart-warming and utterly divine… a book which is destined to make you see life in a different light.’ The Writing Garnet, 5 stars

Read more
Collapse
4.7
11 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 3, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
350
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786815385
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.