Still Mine

Sold by Simon and Schuster
6
Free sample

A taut psychological thriller in the vein of The Good Girl by Mary Kubica.

Clare is on the run.

From her past, from her husband, and from her own secrets. When she turns up alone in the remote mining town of Blackmore asking about Shayna Fowles, the local girl who disappeared, everyone wants to know who Clare really is and what she’s hiding. As it turns out, she’s hiding a lot, including what ties her to Shayna in the first place. But everyone in this place is hiding something—from Jared, Shayna’s secretive ex-husband, to Charlie, the charming small-town drug pusher, to Derek, Shayna’s overly involved family doctor, to Louise and Wilfred, her distraught parents.

Did Shayna flee? Was she killed? Is it possible she’s still alive?

As Clare uncovers the mysteries around Shayna’s disappearance, she must confront her own demons, moving us deeper and deeper into the labyrinth of lies and making us question what it is she’s really running from. Twisting and electrifying, this is a get-under-your-skin thriller that will make you question what it means to lose yourself and find yourself in the most unlikely places.
Read more

About the author

Amy Stuart’s debut novel Still Mine was an instant national bestseller. Nominated for the Arthur Ellis Best First Novel award, and winner of the 2011 Writers’ Union of Canada Short Fiction Competition, Amy’s writing has previously appeared in newspapers and magazines across Canada. Amy lives in Toronto with her husband and her three sons. Still Water is her second novel. Visit her at AmyStuart.ca or @AmyFStuart.

Read more
3.7
6 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
Aug 16, 2016
Read more
Pages
320
Read more
ISBN
9781501151248
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me…’

Grace hasn't been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie's last words, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie's. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn't know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie's father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie's sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan's home.

But something isn't right. Things disappear, Dan's acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace's mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie... or was there?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and The Girl With No Past.

What people are saying about The Sister:

‘I was gripped to The Sister from the first page until the very end. I thought I had it all worked out until I was proven sooo wrong.’ Robert Bryndza

‘I could not put this book down. I neglected all the house work and put off cooking dinner until I was finished… I loved every page.’ Renee Reads

‘My eyes were racing down the pages… had me guessing right up to the very end and I had tears in my eyes as I relived Charlie's last moments… exceptional… It's an addictive page-turner that begs time and again for just one more chapter until the whole book has been devoured and thoroughly enjoyed.’ The Book Magnet

‘Wow! What an amazing debut novel! Full of intense twists! Fantastic book to start off summer reading! Highly recommend.’ Loud and Proud Book Junkie, 5 stars

‘I loved this book, it grabbed me right from the beginning.' Beady Jans Books

'I genuinely struggled to put this book down… I can't recommend this book enough, it's made it to my favourites... I can't wait for more books to come from Louise Jensen… A well-deserved five stars from me.' Emporio Epidemic

'I couldn't put my Kindle down until I had answers!!… I wasn't sure which characters to trust and which to not trust… a 5 star book that would make a fantastic summer read!' Steph and Chris’ Book Review

'As the skillfully woven web of lies and deceit starts to untangle the author throws in a massive twist that I certainly didn't see coming… a definite must read for all psychological thriller fans and it's one of those books that deserves to be talked about.' The Haphazardous Hippo

'One of those books that you can't stop thinking about even when you're not reading it!!... the tension never seems to drop for one second!… an absolute treat, albeit a scary one, to read!! Highly recommended!' Books and Me!

'Just as I thought the story was wrapping up BANG! I was hit again with another twist. Brilliant! It is chilling and sinister and yet heart-breaking and tragic, and I felt really emotional on finishing it… I can’t wait to read more by Louise.' Bloomin Brilliant Books

'OMG I love this... one corker of a psychological thriller which ticked all the boxes for me giving it an easy 5 stars.' Chelle’s Book Reviews

'Hooked from the first page till the end... A gripping tale for fans of I Let You Go and The Girl on the Train. A must read.' Berlitz Chile

'I was left gaping… You cannot help but speed read through this novel. You have to know what happens.' Aloha Reviews

'I was hooked on the story from the word go.' Hollie in Wanderlust

Years spent running from your past. Today it catches up.


A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive – kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until – longing for a connection – she meets Julian. For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life. 

Then, on the fourteenth anniversary of that day, she receives a card.Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed the life Leah has created. 

But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets? 

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly. 

Read what people are saying about The Girl With No Past


‘Couldn't turn the pages fast enough … one of the best books I've read this year.’ The Book Review Café 

‘From the first chapter, the book keeps you guessing … an amazingly thrilling and gripping story … even better than The Girl on the Train.’ More Delight 

‘It's one of these books where you just HAVE to read JUST a couple more pages.’ Library Thing 

‘I loved this book! Twists and turns to keep you guessing!’ Snazzy Books 

‘BLIMEY. This book is GRIPPY - I sat and read it over the course of a day and a night, purely because I couldn't put it down … It is FABULOUS.’Reading Room with a View 

‘Wow! This book grabbed me from the very beginning! … To say this book is a page-turner would be an understatement! … Just brilliant!’ Chat About Books 

‘It's perfection for a thriller.’ Chic Toronto 

‘It kept me up all night and cost me my beauty sleep! … one of the best thrillers I have read this year.’ Books Are Man’s Other Best Friend 

‘I read this book in one sitting as I could not bear to put it down … extremely compelling.’ Ajoobacats Blog 

‘A gripping, psychological, heart-thumping, leave-you-guessing thriller … an amazing read! … It is chilling suspense with gripping mystery and an ending you never saw coming.’ Book Lovin’ Alicia 

‘The story kept me wondering and trying to guess what the heck Leah did! I could not figure it out and when I finally found out at the end…………… HOLY HANNAH!!! I did NOT see that coming!!’ Fiction Addiction 

‘This is one amazing read. What a journey I have been on with Leah Mills … I thought, OMG I do hope after all this tension and the stress level I have been under reading this, that the author makes it worth it. Oh she certainly made it worth it. Oh yes and with another punch toward the end for good measure. WOW. This was an awesome book.’ Sue and her Books 

‘I love every twist and turn about this book. It's amazing and you'll never really see it coming … one of the best books of 2015 for me.’ Princess Primeah 

‘One of the best books I have read this year, that kept me up well into the night … The Girl With No Past, is billed to those who are a fan of Gone Girland The Girl On The Train. (Having read both) I think this out shines the two … the story itself is phenomenal - honestly one of the best I have read, it really does outshine all other thrillers I have read.’ Afternoon Bookery

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.