The Girl I Left Behind: An emotional, gripping and heartwrenching historical debut

Head of Zeus Ltd
18
Free sample

From the USA Today bestselling author of The Girl from Vichy

'A powerful debut!' Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife.

'A captivating story with a twist of romance threaded throughout' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan.

'A compelling tale of friendship, courage and espionage in a frightening and uncertain world' Charlotte Betts, author of The Dressmaker's Secret.

What would you risk to save your best friend?

As a young girl, Ella never considered that those around her weren't as they appeared. But when her childhood best-friend shows Ella that you can't always believe what you see, Ella finds herself thrown into the world of the German Resistance.

On a dark night in 1941, Claudia is taken by the Gestapo, likely never to be seen again, unless Ella can save her. With the help of the man she loves, Ella must undertake her most dangerous mission yet and infiltrate the Nazi Party.

Selling secrets isn't an easy job. In order to find Claudia, Ella must risk not only her life, but the lives of those she cares about.

Will Ella be able to leave behind the girl of her youth and step into the shoes of another?

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The German Midwife and Kate Furnivall.

Praise for The Girl I Left Behind:

'A gripping historical page-turner about an audacious eighteen-year-old girl in Nazi Germany, who finds herself at the heart of the Reich. It's a thrilling tale of female friendship, young love, and extraordinary courage, laced with chilling reminders of the fate Ella will face if her treachery is discovered. A powerful debut!' Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife.

'The Girl I Left Behind made me cry and left me wanting more, which to me are signs of a truly wonderful book, one that will stay with me long after I've finished reading' Lana Kortchik, author of The Story of Us.

'Wonderful story where it has you on the edge of your seat but have the tissues with you!' NetGalley Reviewer.

'The author has a gift for creating a sense of place whether the setting was on a snowy mountain or the streets of Germany in the early 1940s' NetGalley Reviewer.

'Excellent story. Strong characters' NetGalley Reviewer.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Andie Newton is an American writer living in Washington State with her husband and two boys. She writes female-driven historical fiction set in WWII. The Girl I Left Behind is her first novel. She would love to say she spends her free time gardening and cooking, but she's killed everything she's ever planted and set off more fire alarms than she cares to admit. Andie does, however, love spending time with her family, ultra trail running, and drinking copious amounts of coffee.
Read more
Collapse
4.6
18 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Head of Zeus Ltd
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 3, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
320
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781789546682
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Jewish
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Espionage
Fiction / War & Military
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.