Imperfect Delight: A Novel

Sold by Simon and Schuster
Free sample

For fans of The Hundred-Foot Journey and The Altogether Unexpected Disappearance of Atticus Craftsman, a moving and charming novel from the beloved international author of Two Out of Two that follows two entirely different people struggling to make sense of their futures amid the beauty of Provence, France.

It’s fall in Provence, a season that combines the first chill of winter with a final stretch of warmth that is a last taste of summer. To mark the end of the season, at the local airfield a famous British rock band, the Bebonkers, will hold a concert that is both for charity and to celebrate charismatic lead singer Nick Cruickshank’s third marriage. Preparations are in high gear, everything coming smoothly together under the tight supervision of Aileen, Nick’s bride-to-be.

In town, there is also a gelateria run by Milena Migliari, who creates, develops, and produces one-of-a-kind ice cream with artistic precision. Milena, who has bid adieu to men, now lives with Viviane. Milena’s relationship with Viviane is solid and unwavering, in stark contrast to the delicacy of her ice cream. In a few days Milena will undergo fertility treatments, but she is not entirely convinced. She hesitates to confess her thoughts, however, as does Nick, who wonders when his relationship with Aileen lost its original spark.

And so, a British rocker and an Italian artisan find their fates on a collision course and in the space of three days, the chaos intensifies resulting in an inevitable and exhilarating final encore.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Andrea De Carlo was born in 1952 in Milan, Italy, where he grew up. After completing a degree in Contemporary History he traveled extensively, living for long periods of time in the United States and in Australia. He was discovered by Italo Calvino, who wrote the foreword to his first novel, Treno di panna. He has worked with Federico Fellini and with Michelangelo Antonioni, directing the short film, Le facce di Fellini, as well as a film based on his first novel. With Ludovico Einaudi he composed two ballets, Time Out and Salgari. A musician in his own right, he has recorded two albums, Alcuni nomi and Dentro Giro di vento. His novels have sold millions of copies and have been translated into twenty-six languages.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 5, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
336
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781501179785
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
By the New York Times bestselling author who “hilariously depicts modern dating” (Us Weekly), My Favorite Half-Night Stand is a laugh-out-loud romp through online dating and its many, many fails.

Millie Morris has always been one of the guys. A UC Santa Barbara professor, she’s a female-serial-killer expert who’s quick with a deflection joke and terrible at getting personal. And she, just like her four best guy friends and fellow professors, is perma-single.

So when a routine university function turns into a black tie gala, Mille and her circle make a pact that they’ll join an online dating service to find plus-ones for the event. There’s only one hitch: after making the pact, Millie and one of the guys, Reid Campbell, secretly spend the sexiest half-night of their lives together, but mutually decide the friendship would be better off strictly platonic.

But online dating isn’t for the faint of heart. While the guys are inundated with quality matches and potential dates, Millie’s first profile attempt garners nothing but dick pics and creepers. Enter “Catherine”—Millie’s fictional profile persona, in whose make-believe shoes she can be more vulnerable than she’s ever been in person. Soon “Catherine” and Reid strike up a digital pen-pal-ship...but Millie can’t resist temptation in real life, either. Soon, Millie will have to face her worst fear—intimacy—or risk losing her best friend, forever.

Perfect for fans of Roxanne and She’s the Man, Christina Lauren’s latest romantic comedy is full of mistaken identities, hijinks, and a classic love story with a modern twist. Funny and fresh, you’ll want to swipe right on My Favorite Half-Night Stand.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.