The International Library of Famous Literature: Selections from the World's Great Writers, Ancient, Mediaeval, and Modern, with Biographical and Explanatory Notes and with Introductions, Volume 12


Additional Information

Merrill and Baker
Read more
Published on
Dec 31, 1898
Read more
Read more
Read more
Best For
Read more
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
This beloved volume collects the world’s most famous fairy tales, children’s classics, and bedtime stories.
The enchanting stories of childhood every girl and boy—and their parents—cherish are collected in this first volume of Andrew Lang’s renowned Fairy Books. Originally published in 1889, this treasure trove of timeless tales of action and adventure, enchanted forests and fantastic creatures, and monsters and magic has thrilled readers all over the world for generations.
The thirty-seven stories in this collection—including such favorites as “Little Red Riding Hood,” “Sleeping Beauty,” “Cinderella,” “Rumpelstiltskin,” “Beauty and the Beast,” “Hansel and Gretel,” “Puss in Boots,” “Aladdin,” and “Jack the Giant-Killer”—are more than just fairy tales; they are a priceless keepsake of childhood memories that will stand the test of time now and forever.
The Blue Fairy Book also includes “The Bronze Ring,” “Prince Hyacinth and the Dear Little Princess,” “East of the Sun and West of the Moon,” “The Yellow Dwarf,” “The Tale of a Youth Who Set Out to Learn What Fear Was,” “The Master-Maid,” “Why the Sea Is Salt,” “Felicia and the Pot of Pinks,” “The White Cat,” “The Water-Lily,” “The Gold-Spinners,” “The Terrible Head,” “The Story of Pretty Goldilocks,” “The History of Whittington,” “The Wonderful Sheep,” “Little Thumb,” “The Forty Thieves,” “Snow-White and Rose-Red,” “The Goose-Girl,” “Toads and Diamonds,” “Prince Darling,” “Blue Beard,” “Trusty John,” “The Brave Little Tailor,” “A Voyage to Lilliput,” “The Princess on the Glass Hill,” “The Story of Prince Ahmed and the Fairy Paribanou,” “The Black Bull of Norroway,” and “The Red Etin.”
This carefully crafted ebook: “Arabian Nights or One Thousand and One Nights (Andrew Lang) + New Arabian Nights (Robert Louis Stevenson)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. A medieval Middle-Eastern literary epic which tells the story of Scheherazade, a Sassanid Queen, who must relate a series of stories to her malevolent husband, the King, to delay her execution. The stories are told over a period of one thousand and one nights, and every night she ends the story with a suspenseful situation, forcing the King to keep her alive for another day. The individual stories were created over many centuries, by many people and in many styles, and they have become famous in their own right. The Arabian Nights include fairy tales, fables, romances, farces, legends, and parables. They have existed for thousands of years, consisting of tales told in Persia, Arabia, India and Asia. The Arabian Nights (also known as The 1001 Arabian Nights) have inspired writers the world over. There are versions of these stories in many languages and they all convey the great sense of adventure, truth, fantastic imagination, justice, and faith embodied by the great civilizations that contributed stories and ideas to the collection. These are versions translated by Andrew Lang in 1897. The Andrew Lang Version (published in 1897): INTRODUCTION BY ANDREW LANG THE ARABIAN NIGHTS PROLOGUE THE STORY OF THE MERCHANT AND THE GENIE THE STORY OF THE FIRST OLD MAN AND OF THE HIND THE STORY OF THE SECOND OLD MAN, AND OF THE TWO BLACK DOGS THE STORY OF THE FISHERMAN THE STORY OF THE GREEK KING AND THE PHYSICIAN DOUBAN THE STORY OF THE HUSBAND AND THE PARROT THE STORY OF THE VIZIR WHO WAS PUNISHED THE STORY OF THE YOUNG KING OF THE BLACK ISLES STORY OF THE THREE KALENDARS, SONS OF KINGS, AND OF FIVE LADIES OF BAGHDAD THE STORY OF THE FIRST KALENDAR, SON OF A KING THE STORY OF THE SECOND KALENDAR, SON OF A KING THE STORY OF THE ENVIOUS MAN AND OF HIM WHO WAS ENVIED STORY OF THE THIRD KALENDAR, SON OF A KING THE SEVEN VOYAGES OF SINDBAD THE SAILOR THE FIRST VOYAGE OF SINBAD THE SAILOR THE SECOND VOYAGE OF SINBAD THE SAILOR THE THIRD VOYAGE OF SINBAD THE SAILOR THE FOURTH VOYAGE OF SINBAD THE SAILOR THE FIFTH VOYAGE OF SINBAD THE SAILOR THE SIXTH VOYAGE OF SINBAD THE SAILOR THE SEVENTH AND LAST VOYAGE OF SINBAD THE SAILOR THE LITTLE HUNCHBACK STORY OF THE BARBER’S FIFTH BROTHER THE STORY OF THE BARBER’S SIXTH BROTHER THE ADVENTURES OF PRINCE CAMARALZAMAN AND THE PRINCESS BADOURA NOUREDDIN AND THE FAIR PERSIAN ALADDIN AND THE WONDERFUL LAMP THE ADVENTURES OF HAROUN-AL-RASCHID, CALIPH OF BAGHDAD THE STORY OF THE BLIND BABA-ABDALLA THE STORY OF SIDI-NOUMAN STORY OF ALI COLIA, MERCHANT OF BAGHDAD THE ENCHANTED HORSE THE STORY OF TWO SISTERS WHO WERE JEALOUS OF THEIR YOUNGER SISTER New Arabian Nights by Robert Louis Stevenson, first published in 1882, is a collection of short stories previously published in magazines between 1877 and 1880. The collection contains Stevenson's first published fiction, and a few of the stories are considered by some critics to be his best work, as well as pioneering works in the English short story tradition. The first volume contains seven stories originally called Later-day Arabian Nights and published by London Magazine in serial format from June to October 1878. It is composed of two story groups, or cycles: "The Suicide Club" "The Rajah's Diamond" The second volume is a collection of four unconnected (standalone) stories that were previously published in magazines: "The Pavilion on the Links" (1880), told in 9 mini-chapters "A Lodging for the Night" (1877) "The Sire De Malétroits Door" (1877) "Providence and the Guitar" (1878)
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.