No Dogs in Philly

Special Sin

Book 1
June Day Press
67

"This is one of the most enjoyable books I have read in some time.  It is in the running for one of the top 5 books for 2015.  I know the year is not even half over, but the book is that good." -Word Refiner

An OpenBooks science fiction best seller of monsters, Gods, and aliens, unlike anything you've ever read.

Philadelphia. Elzi on every corner, cops just itching to crack a skull, and the Gaespora lordin' it up in their high towers while the rest of the filth dribbled down the sewer. Saru had a way out. All she had to do was find the girl, one skinny stray with blue, blue eyes--bluer than anyone had ever seen--and ten million fat bucks were hers. Except someone was killing blue-eyed girls, and they were A-list, major-league, cold-sweat effective. And something about the end of all existence if she failed.
 
No Dogs in Philly is a Lovecraftian Cyberpunk Noir with aliens, monsters, extra-dimensional death Gods and a hardboiled female protagonist. It tackles questions of existence and the role humans play in this particular universe.

Rated R for strong language, mentions of sex, and graphic violence. Contains intense horror and potentially disturbing imagery.

No Dogs in Philly may appeal to fans of H.P. Lovecraft, Neal Stephenson, China Mieville, Dan Simmons, Gyo, Tank Girl, Swamp Thing, Spawn, science fiction, horror, cyberpunk, absurdism, urban fantasy, new weird, weird fiction, slipstream, and speculative fiction.

Keywords: dark books, gritty books, noir books, horror books, weird books, strange books, unique books, different books, controversial books, challenging books, surprising books, unsettling books, disturbing books, bizarre books, unusual books, scary books, absurd books, crazy books, violent books, bloody books, gory books, books like sandman slim, books like snowcrash, books like neal stephenson, books like neil stephenson, books like lovecraft, books like william gibson, books like gibson, books with dark covers, books with female heroines, black humor, quick reads, weird book series, books that make you think, gritty thrillers, dark thrillers, sci fi thrillers, weird thrillers, alien books, monster books, metaphysical books.
Read more

About the author

Andy Futuro is an American writer of speculative fiction, which has been variously categorized science fiction, cyberpunk, horror, noir, metaphysical, absurdist, and dystopian. Futuro's Special Sin series follows a strong female protagonist as she battles aliens, AIs, clones, corporations, psychics, and mutants, on a quest to avert the apocalypse. Futuro's influences include Neil Gaiman, William Gibson, H.P. Lovecraft, Neal Stephenson, Stephen King, Alan Moore, Robert A. Heinlein, Philip K. Dick, Frank Herbert, and Hugh Howey. Futuro seeks out and devours the best new books on Amazon, especially dark, gritty, and weird stories. His favorite pastime is browsing free books by indie authors and discovering future classics. When he isn't writing or reading, he is preparing for the alien invasion.

 

The goal of No Dogs in Philly: A Lovecraftian Cyberpunk Noir is to serve readers craving something different and surprising. No Dogs in Philly combines metaphysical horror with gritty cyberpunk and science fantasy elements. A strong female lead replaces the male lead in classic hardboiled noir. The futuristic dystopian setting follows the rules of absurdism. The alien invaders are truly alien. The monsters are truly monstrous. The Gods are truly God-like. And underneath it all is the sense that humans might not be so powerful.

 

Read more
4.1
67 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
June Day Press
Read more
Published on
Jun 8, 2014
Read more
Pages
168
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Science Fiction / Alien Contact
Fiction / Science Fiction / Cyberpunk
Fiction / Visionary & Metaphysical
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

See entire series

The sequel to the OpenBooks science fiction best seller of monsters, Gods, and aliens, unlike anything you've ever read.
Well, that could’ve gone better. Saru had found the blue-eyed girl alright, but she’d blown up half of Philadelphia in the process. Whoops. Now she was a fugitive, robbed of her implants, relying on her “wits,” hunted by aliens, Gods, and the monstrous spawn of fornicating universes. It was a crap deal, but it wasn’t all bad. She’d stolen a plane, a luxury model with a fully stocked minibar. And she had company, a rogue Gaesporan named John. And there was something strangely liberating about having screwed up so badly you couldn’t really do worse.

Cloud Country is A Dark Sci-Fi Fantasy Thriller with aliens, monsters, extra-dimensional death Gods and a hardboiled female protagonist. It explores the absurdity of human existence through grotesque satire.

RATED R for strong language, mentions of sex, and graphic violence. Contains intense horror and potentially disturbing imagery. Contains brief scenes of torture and animal cruelty.

Cloud Country may appeal to fans of H.P. Lovecraft, Neal Stephenson, China Mieville, Dan Simmons, David Cronenberg, David Lynch, Quentin Tarantino, Clive Barker, Akira, Alien, Gyo, Tank Girl, Swamp Thing, Spawn, Rick and Morty, Warhammer 40k, Grimdark, science fiction, horror, body horror, cyberpunk, absurdism, urban fantasy, new weird, weird fiction, slipstream, and speculative fiction. 

Keywords: dark books, gritty books, noir books, horror books, weird books, strange books, unique books, different books, controversial books, challenging books, surprising books, unsettling books, disturbing books, bizarre books, unusual books, scary books, absurd books, crazy books, violent books, bloody books, gory books, amoral books, books like sandman slim, books like snowcrash, books like neal stephenson, books like neil stephenson, books like lovecraft, books like william gibson, books like gibson, books with dark covers, books with female heroines, black humor, quick reads, weird book series, books that make you think, gritty thrillers, dark thrillers, sci fi thrillers, weird thrillers, alien books, monster books, metaphysical books, body horror, biological horror, organic horror, visceral horror, venereal horror.
The sequel to the OpenBooks science fiction best seller of monsters, Gods, and aliens, unlike anything you've ever read.
Well, that could’ve gone better. Saru had found the blue-eyed girl alright, but she’d blown up half of Philadelphia in the process. Whoops. Now she was a fugitive, robbed of her implants, relying on her “wits,” hunted by aliens, Gods, and the monstrous spawn of fornicating universes. It was a crap deal, but it wasn’t all bad. She’d stolen a plane, a luxury model with a fully stocked minibar. And she had company, a rogue Gaesporan named John. And there was something strangely liberating about having screwed up so badly you couldn’t really do worse.

Cloud Country is A Dark Sci-Fi Fantasy Thriller with aliens, monsters, extra-dimensional death Gods and a hardboiled female protagonist. It explores the absurdity of human existence through grotesque satire.

RATED R for strong language, mentions of sex, and graphic violence. Contains intense horror and potentially disturbing imagery. Contains brief scenes of torture and animal cruelty.

Cloud Country may appeal to fans of H.P. Lovecraft, Neal Stephenson, China Mieville, Dan Simmons, David Cronenberg, David Lynch, Quentin Tarantino, Clive Barker, Akira, Alien, Gyo, Tank Girl, Swamp Thing, Spawn, Rick and Morty, Warhammer 40k, Grimdark, science fiction, horror, body horror, cyberpunk, absurdism, urban fantasy, new weird, weird fiction, slipstream, and speculative fiction. 

Keywords: dark books, gritty books, noir books, horror books, weird books, strange books, unique books, different books, controversial books, challenging books, surprising books, unsettling books, disturbing books, bizarre books, unusual books, scary books, absurd books, crazy books, violent books, bloody books, gory books, amoral books, books like sandman slim, books like snowcrash, books like neal stephenson, books like neil stephenson, books like lovecraft, books like william gibson, books like gibson, books with dark covers, books with female heroines, black humor, quick reads, weird book series, books that make you think, gritty thrillers, dark thrillers, sci fi thrillers, weird thrillers, alien books, monster books, metaphysical books, body horror, biological horror, organic horror, visceral horror, venereal horror.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.