No Dogs in Philly: A Lovecraftian Cyberpunk Noir

· Special Sin Book 1 · June Day Press
4.2
95 reviews
Ebook
168
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

"This is one of the most enjoyable books I have read in some time.  It is in the running for one of the top 5 books for 2015.  I know the year is not even half over, but the book is that good." -Word Refiner

An OpenBooks science fiction best seller of monsters, Gods, and aliens, unlike anything you've ever read.

Philadelphia. Elzi on every corner, cops just itching to crack a skull, and the Gaespora lordin' it up in their high towers while the rest of the filth dribbled down the sewer. Saru had a way out. All she had to do was find the girl, one skinny stray with blue, blue eyes--bluer than anyone had ever seen--and ten million fat bucks were hers. Except someone was killing blue-eyed girls, and they were A-list, major-league, cold-sweat effective. And something about the end of all existence if she failed.
 
No Dogs in Philly is a Lovecraftian Cyberpunk Noir with aliens, monsters, extra-dimensional death Gods and a hardboiled female protagonist. It tackles questions of existence and the role humans play in this particular universe.

Rated R for strong language, mentions of sex, and graphic violence. Contains intense horror and potentially disturbing imagery.

No Dogs in Philly may appeal to fans of H.P. Lovecraft, Neal Stephenson, China Mieville, Dan Simmons, Gyo, Tank Girl, Swamp Thing, Spawn, science fiction, horror, cyberpunk, absurdism, urban fantasy, new weird, weird fiction, slipstream, and speculative fiction.

Keywords: dark books, gritty books, noir books, horror books, weird books, strange books, unique books, different books, controversial books, challenging books, surprising books, unsettling books, disturbing books, bizarre books, unusual books, scary books, absurd books, crazy books, violent books, bloody books, gory books, books like sandman slim, books like snowcrash, books like neal stephenson, books like neil stephenson, books like lovecraft, books like william gibson, books like gibson, books with dark covers, books with female heroines, black humor, quick reads, weird book series, books that make you think, gritty thrillers, dark thrillers, sci fi thrillers, weird thrillers, alien books, monster books, metaphysical books.
4.2
95 reviews
A Google user
April 21, 2016
Ending seemed a bit rushed imho but a good read otherwise
5 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
D-udeof Thetoons
January 29, 2016
Cthulloid Cyberpunk, why is this not a trend yet?
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Jeremy Eliassen
December 1, 2017
Cyberpunk themes are on point here. Big corps, downtrodden folk, the whole nine yards. Really nails the consumerist dystopian future. For the Lovecraftian side, there are good horror moments and some cool eldritch monsters. But that's sort of it. The book was short, plot unclear, world left un-built but implied, and ended abruptly in a way that didn't really feel satisfying to me. So it was alright. Worth a couple of bucks, but not much more.
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Andy Futuro is an American writer of speculative fiction, which has been variously categorized science fiction, cyberpunk, horror, noir, metaphysical, absurdist, and dystopian. Futuro's Special Sin series follows a strong female protagonist as she battles aliens, AIs, clones, corporations, psychics, and mutants, on a quest to avert the apocalypse. Futuro's influences include Neil Gaiman, William Gibson, H.P. Lovecraft, Neal Stephenson, Stephen King, Alan Moore, Robert A. Heinlein, Philip K. Dick, Frank Herbert, and Hugh Howey. Futuro seeks out and devours the best new books on Amazon, especially dark, gritty, and weird stories. His favorite pastime is browsing free books by indie authors and discovering future classics. When he isn't writing or reading, he is preparing for the alien invasion.

 

The goal of No Dogs in Philly: A Lovecraftian Cyberpunk Noir is to serve readers craving something different and surprising. No Dogs in Philly combines metaphysical horror with gritty cyberpunk and science fantasy elements. A strong female lead replaces the male lead in classic hardboiled noir. The futuristic dystopian setting follows the rules of absurdism. The alien invaders are truly alien. The monsters are truly monstrous. The Gods are truly God-like. And underneath it all is the sense that humans might not be so powerful.

 

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.