The Couple on Cedar Close: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller

Bookouture
27
Free Sample

One sunny August afternoon, the residents of Cedar Close throw their annual summer barbecue. Children play in the cherry-tree lined street, tables are laden with food, and the wine is flowing. For Laurie Mills, it’s her first time meeting the neighbours. And it’s the first time she discovers her husband Robert is having an affair.

Cedar Close has always been a nice place to live – a quiet suburban street where everyone looks out for one another and bad things don’t happen.

Until late one evening, when Robert Mills is found dead in his bedroom.

Downstairs, in their beautiful kitchen, his wife Laurie sits alone in the dark with her head in her hands. 

She can’t remember the last few hours, but she knows she didn’t kill Robert.

The trouble is, no-one believes her…

An utterly gripping page-turner about the dark secrets that lie behind closed doors. Perfect for fans of JP Delaney’s The Girl Before and Gone GirlThe Couple on Cedar Close will keep you reading late into the night.

Read what everyone is saying about The Couple on Cedar Close:

A.......maz........ing, what a fantastic book, loved every word on every page, a great psychological thriller that held my interest throughout and I didn't want it to end…I could carry on raving about this book but just read it for yourself, I can definitely recommend, you will not be disappointed.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Gripping, page turner, disturbing, just a few words I would use to describe this fantastic read! I loved this book, it reminded me of The Girl on the Train and quickly became one of my new favorites!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Ten stars for being able to keep me up until 4 a.m. I just HAD to finish this book! I cannot begin to describe how riveting this novel was. Great writing, characterizations, plot, timing, suspense--it has it all. Trust me, you will NOT be able to put it down until you finish reading it. So many mediocre thrillers out there that this one hit me like a ton of bricks. Absolutely SUPERB!’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

What an explosive read...this is a loop the loop rollercoaster of a ride, you better strap in and get ready, your head will be spinning trying to keep up with all the twists, betrayals, friendships, heartache, loss... this book has it all, puts a whole new meaning on the term psychological thriller!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Flipping heck! It's a while since I've raced through a book like this, so engrossed that I literally did nothing today except read. I was caught from the very first line and it wouldn't let me go…The story is so well written, the characters so fleshed out and real, it was like watching a movie in my mind. excellent stuff!’ Rona Halsall, 5 stars

An awesome mystery that kept me guessing and guessing…The author has the ability to connect the reader with the characters and the story immediately. It's a winner!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

I fell for this book within the first chapter! Anna-Lou Weatherley kept me guessing until the last chapter! …I read it in a few sittings. Highly recommend!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

A fantastic psychological thriller…This book is a gripping page turner, brilliantly written and full of secrets and lies.’ Goodreads Reviewer

I read a lot of thrillers and this was so much more believable than any other thriller I have read this year…I was very intrigued and finished it in one day and could not put it down.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Reminded me a lot of The Girl on the Train but more disturbingA definite page turner!!’ Goodreads Reviewer

Wow!!! …Trust me, this is one you don't want to miss—it's going to be huge!’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars
Read more
Collapse

More by Anna-Lou Weatherley

See more
You know when you skip a few pages or skim read very fast to find out the gossip? That's this book…Perfect for fans of Jackie Collins, Tilly Bagshawe, Rebecca Chance and Tasmina Perry.

Three powerful women. One irresistible man. A whole world of trouble.

Tom Black is a man who makes husbands jealous. An entrepreneur, gambler and serial womanizer, his good looks and charm leave a trail of broken hearts behind him wherever he goes. Now Tom is after the big time – opening a glittering, multi-million dollar casino. But his past, and the women in his life, are about to catch up with him… 

Ellie Scott is the only girl that Tom has ever loved, but whose dreams he shattered when she was just a teenager. Now married to billionaire Vinnie Scott, she has everything money can buy… but the mention of Tom’s name is enough to bring memories flooding back.

Fame-seeking gold digger Loretta Fiorentino is the woman who stole Tom away from Ellie all those years ago. Having inherited millions from her dead husband, now she wants Tom Black back – for the society wedding of the year.

Glamorous Victoria Mayfield has made a small fortune from her books, but that can’t bring her the baby that she and her husband long for. Desperate for a child, she decides to take a lover…

What people are saying about Wicked Wives


‘If you're a die-hard fan of Jackie Collins and Rebecca Chance, then Anna-Lou Weatherley's books will be up your street. I loved it so much, I wish it would be made into a film.’ 5/5 I Heart Chick Lit

‘racy, scandalous and really good fun… So good, it’s wicked! ’ Novelicious.com

‘…filled with drama, betrayal, fabulous characters and bucket loads of glamour, this enjoyable story is the ideal escapist read and a must for all fans of Rebecca Chance and Tasmina Perry.’ HandwrittenGirl.com

‘If there are any Tasmina Perry fans out there then make sure you pick this book up because you will love it, it has the glitz, glamour and scandal that you find in her books… I thoroughly enjoyed this compelling and scandalous read.’ 5/5 Rea’s Book Review

“Gripping, dramatic and packed with excess and revenge, this read must accompany you to the beach!” Closer Magazine

‘This novel is packed with scandal and secrets, I honestly didn’t know where the story would take me and I was hooked! Wicked Wives is glamorous, addictive and dramatic – this is a wicked tale that is not to be missed!’ Reading in the Sunshine

Desperate Housewives meets OceanÕs Eleven in this scintillating story of love and revenge. Perfect for fans of Jackie Collins, Tilly Bagshawe, Rebecca Chance and Tasmina Perry. Money canÕt buy you love... Discovered at the tender age of sixteen, Imogen Lennard once had the world at her feet as one of the worldês top fashion models. Now married to Sebastian Forbes, a billionaire as controlling as he is wealthy, she has everything money can buy, but longs for what it canÕt - her first love. When Sebastian publicly humiliates her, she decides that it is for the last time. Enlisting the help of her best friends - Calvary, the glamorous fashion editor, and Yasmin, the feisty ex-party girl - she masterminds a daring plan to turn the tables on their men once and for all. On the surface they have it all; beauty, wealth and status. But, united in their destructive marriages, the three women join forces and risk it all for the ultimate revenge... and the chance of finally finding their own happy ever after. What people are saying about Vengeful Wives 'If you're a die-hard fan of Jackie Collins and Rebecca Chance, then Anna-Lou Weatherley's books will be up your street.' I Heart Chick Lit I have to confess that I loved this book from the start. With larger-than-life characters which really get you engrossed into the book, and a plot that is somewhat ridiculous yet utterly brilliant, I found everything about this book very readable and enjoyable... This is a fantastic debut adult novel from Anna-Lou Weatherley, and the perfect beach read! It's escapist fiction at its best, and it goes to show that even if you have all the money you could ever need, it doesn't necessarily make you happy.' 5/5 ChloeÕs Chick Lit reviews 'Think Desperate Housewives in Chelsea and youÕll be on the right page with this delicious drama, where trophy wives turn the tables on their other halves.' Glamour Magazine 'Funny, sexy and 100% beach-read fabulous. ' Cosmopolitan 'A fun, romp of a read, the perfect poolside companion' Grazia 'The author weaves a sensational tale of life, love, loss and friendship. The type of friendship where you would do anything at all to help your friends, no matter what! The twists and turns along the way are thoroughly exciting and absolutely enjoyable, and at times surprising, leaving you constantly wanting to read more about these fabulously feisty, gutsy, determined women... an extremely entertaining read, a real compelling page-turner with lots of fun and wit thrown in for good measure.' Kim The Bookworm
4.3
27 total
Loading…

Additional information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
18 Jan 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
366
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786814982
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Noir
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.