Corridors of the Night (William Monk Mystery, Book 21): A twisting Victorian mystery of intrigue and secrets

Hachette UK
17

When their own lives are at risk, some people will do anything to survive...

Corridors of the Night is the twenty-first exceptional historical thriller featuring William and Hester Monk, from the Queen of Victorian crime Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.
'Pulls no punches and depicts Victorian London in all its corrupt glory' - Bookreporter

One night, in a corridor of the Royal Naval Hospital, Greenwich, Nurse Hester Monk is approached by a terrified girl. She's from a hidden ward of children, all subject to frequent blood-letting, and her brother is dying.

While William Monk's River Police fight to keep London safe from gun-runners, Hester takes on a new role at the hospital, helping to administer a secretive new treatment. But she slowly realises that this experimental cure is putting the lives of the children at risk. Attempting to protect the young victims, she comes under threat from one rich, powerful, and very ill man who is desperate to survive...

What readers are saying about Corridors of the Night:

'I truly could not put this book down. The suspense had me in the edge of my seat and the subject matter had me hooked!'

'A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seamy side of Victorian London'

'Anne Perry is the best Victorian crime [writer] I have ever read'

Read more

More by Anne Perry

See more
Book 1
In the debut of the New York Times–bestselling Victorian crime series, Inspector Thomas Pitt seeks an elusive strangler among upper-class British society. Panic and fear strike the Ellison household when one of their own falls prey to the Cater Street murderer. While Mrs. Ellison and her three daughters are out, their maid becomes the third victim of a killer who strangles young women with cheese wire, leaving their swollen-faced bodies on the dark streets of this genteel neighborhood. Inspector Pitt, assigned to the case, must break through the walls of upper-class society to get at the truth. His in-depth investigation gradually peels away the proper veneer of the elite world, exposing secrets and desires until suspicion becomes more frightening than truth. Outspoken Charlotte Ellison, struggling to remain within the confining boundaries of Victorian manners, has no trouble expressing herself to the irritating policeman. As their relationship shifts from antagonistic sparring to a romantic connection, the socially mismatched pair must solve the mystery before the hangman strikes again.

Rich with authentic period details and blending suspenseful mystery with a budding romance between Inspector Pitt and Charlotte Ellison, The Cater Street Hangman launched the long-running series by Edgar Award–winning author Anne Perry, with recent titles including The Angel Court Affair and Treachery at Lancaster Gate. Also the creator of the William Monk Novels, Perry has become one of the great names in detective fiction. As the Philadelphia Inquirer says, “Pitt’s compassion and Charlotte’s cleverness make them compatible sleuths, as well as extremely congenial characters. . . . Perry has the gift of making [the Victorian era] seem immediate and very much alive.”

Reviews

3.8
17 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Hachette UK
Read more
Published on
Apr 23, 2015
Read more
Pages
320
Read more
ISBN
9781472219497
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.