Not Quite Perfect

Sold by HarperCollins UK
105
Free Sample

Sometimes having it all isn’t enough...

Emma has everything she’s ever wanted. Her boyfriend’s just proposed and her career has finally taken off. And so what if her latest client just happens to be downright gorgeous? She’s getting married. Isn’t she?

Rachel’s married with 2.4 children (well, actually, 3) and life is all about trying to leave the house in a non-stained top. Once it was about skinny cappuccinos, cocktails and dynamic ad agency meetings. She wants her old life back, but can it ever be the same?

A gripping and laugh out loud story of two sisters and how often you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone.

What readers are saying about Not Quite Perfect

'A humorous, lighthearted read' – Fiona's Book Reviews

'A great holiday read!' – Jill Steeples, author of Let's Call the Whole Thing Off

'Not Quite Perfect is such a page turner... I couldn’t put this book down and found myself crying with both laughter and sadness at this touching and thought-provoking story.' – Bookaholic Confessions

'Not Quite Perfect is a mixture of heart warming situations and light comedy. I found myself having a giggle and thinking ‘that’s so like my family’, on several occasions and that was nice and refreshing. Also, I will admit that I even cried in a few places because it pulled on my heart strings so much.' – A Book and a Tea

'The writing is bubbly and vivid and very entertaining. It’s a story about trying to find out what is important in life and also that live can’t be perfect all the time.' – Sky's Book Corner

Read more
Collapse

More by Annie Lyons

See more
‘Annie Lyons is my go-to author for feel-good fiction’ - Mandy Baggot Join Annie Lyons for a journey that will make you laugh and cry

Step into someone else’s shoes for a day... And it will change you for a lifetime.

Cat is very good at her job. She runs a PR company with her best friend (and secret crush) Jesse, and is never happier than when her high-profile celebrities are glittering in the spotlight.

But when her footballer client gets in the press for all the wrong reasons, Cat’s career takes a sudden nosedive. So when her brother Andrew unexpectedly needs her to look after his kids for a few weeks, she can hardly say no. She’s happily single, hasn’t exactly been the ‘World’s Best Auntie’ over the years, and what she knows about looking after children would fit on the back of a postage stamp. But it’s only temporary until she gets her real life back on track – isn’t it?

From the bestselling author of Not Quite Perfect comes a hilarious story that will have you wondering just how perfect your life is!

What reviewers are saying about Life or Something Like It

‘This book has it all, it's cheerful, it's warm, it's special, it's loving, it's touching and it's sweet, a fantastic combination that works really well.’ – Librarian Lavender

‘If you’re looking for a gorgeous read that will give you warm, fuzzy feelings aplenty then Life or Something Like It is definitely a read for you...’ – Bookaholic Confessions

‘I cannot recommend this book enough for something light, yet thought provoking, definitely one to get the conversations going, though also one to make you smile.’ – Brymaycock’s Book Blog

‘I highly recommend this read for some laughs... but also for a whole lot more of emotions!’ – Alba in Bookland

‘I can’t help but gush about this book. This is one of the best novels I have read so far this summer... I definitely did not want to put it down and I don’t think you will want to either.’ – Good Book and a Cup of Tea

‘...just the perfect tonic I needed to enable me to forget about my own life for a few hours and enjoy this entertaining tale from Annie Lyons.’ – Shaz’s Book Blog

‘Life Or Something Like It was light hearted and witty, I often found myself laughing out loud’ – Lozza’s Book Corner

‘A story about love, betrayal, family’ - Bookaholic Confessions If you could see me now...

Lizzie and Bea Harris were always very close. They were sisters and nothing could tear them apart. Until Bea dies, leaving her sister twelve letters, one for every month.

Alone for the first time Lizzie is left trying to pull together the pieces of a life she has for so long ignored and find a place for herself...out from under the shadow of her sister.

But the letters are revealing a sister Lizzie isn’t sure she recognises, and she’s beginning to wonder if she ever really knew Bea? As Lizzie delves deeper into her sister’s life she begins to uncover secrets that could tear her and her family apart.

Perfect for fans of Sue Fortin, Tracy Buchanan and Cecilia Ahern.

What readers are saying about The Secrets Between Sisters

'A heart-warming tale with a twist' – Book Chick City

'For anyone who has a sister – this is an incredible story of love, grief and healing.' – cayocosta72

'Such an uplifting tale full of delightful characters, it is definitely my favourite Annie Lyons novel to date so I cannot wait to hear what she has in store for us.' – Shaz's Book Blog

'I thoroughly enjoyed this book and struggled to put it down. The chapters were engaging and funny, with characters that seem to bounce straight off the page and into your imagination.' – Book Chick City

'Annie Lyons has proven to be a skilled and extremely talented writer with this book, it truly is something special. She hits on so many emotions all at once that you honestly don't know if you are coming or going.' – The Book Geek Wears Pajamas

4.0
105 total
Loading...

Additional information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
1 Jul 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
384
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781472017123
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / General
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘A story about love, betrayal, family’ - Bookaholic Confessions If you could see me now...

Lizzie and Bea Harris were always very close. They were sisters and nothing could tear them apart. Until Bea dies, leaving her sister twelve letters, one for every month.

Alone for the first time Lizzie is left trying to pull together the pieces of a life she has for so long ignored and find a place for herself...out from under the shadow of her sister.

But the letters are revealing a sister Lizzie isn’t sure she recognises, and she’s beginning to wonder if she ever really knew Bea? As Lizzie delves deeper into her sister’s life she begins to uncover secrets that could tear her and her family apart.

Perfect for fans of Sue Fortin, Tracy Buchanan and Cecilia Ahern.

What readers are saying about The Secrets Between Sisters

'A heart-warming tale with a twist' – Book Chick City

'For anyone who has a sister – this is an incredible story of love, grief and healing.' – cayocosta72

'Such an uplifting tale full of delightful characters, it is definitely my favourite Annie Lyons novel to date so I cannot wait to hear what she has in store for us.' – Shaz's Book Blog

'I thoroughly enjoyed this book and struggled to put it down. The chapters were engaging and funny, with characters that seem to bounce straight off the page and into your imagination.' – Book Chick City

'Annie Lyons has proven to be a skilled and extremely talented writer with this book, it truly is something special. She hits on so many emotions all at once that you honestly don't know if you are coming or going.' – The Book Geek Wears Pajamas

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.