Three Plays

Sold by Penguin
Free sample

Published together for the first time are three of Ayn Rand's most compelling stage plays. The courtroom drama Night of January 16th, famous for its open-ended verdict, is presented here in its definitive text. Also included are two of Rand's unproduced plays, Think Twice, a clever philosophical murder mystery, and Ideal, a bitter indictment of people's willingness to betray their highest values-symbolized by a Hollywood goddess suspected of a crime.
Read more
Collapse

More by Ayn Rand

See more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Penguin
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 5, 2005
Read more
Collapse
Pages
304
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781101137710
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Drama / American / General
Drama / Women Authors
Literary Collections / Women Authors
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A few years ago, two teenage girls were kidnapped and their names were given on the national news. Luckily they were found alive. It was determined that they had been sexually assaulted, and their names were not given after that. What is wrong with this picture? We hear the name of every crime victim except the name of people that are sexually assaulted. We are protecting their privacy as if they have done something wrong. Rape is a crime just like murder, stealing, robbing a bank, carjacking and any and every other crime that we have to deal with as a society. Sometimes a rape victim is shown on television but her face is not shown because she is frightened that her rapist will come back to hurt her. This is understandable. However, when the rapist is in jail and the victim is on television her face is still hidden. Why? Another question is why are rape victims reluctant to come forward and report that someone has just raped them? Could the reason be that the rapist is the victims boss, teacher, colleague, boyfriend, a family member, a casual acquaintance, or maybe a stranger? Ungolden Silence is an exploration of how rape is treated in the United States.

It is imperative to change the way that society looks and deals with this social taboo. Ungolden Silence is a novel that will leave the reader with many questions. It will also attempt to answer some of the questions that society asks but never seem to want to answer. We must look at the history of how men have been allowed to treat women. It is important not to just know the information, it is important to act on it.

Ungolden Silence will explore the world of rape and expose the myths through articles that are based on facts. The main questions that needs to be answered in why one human being would rape another human being. These reasons are explored in the story.

When any crime takes place, the families of the victims as well as the criminal are involved. Ungolden Silence will illustrate that the criminal is a real person, and rarely do they commit crimes just for the fun of it.

It is important to know that rape is a part of violence. Through the characters of Ungolden Silence it is hoped that society will begin to find a way to eliminate the acceptance of violence, which includes the act of rape.

It is imperative that society understands that rape does not stand on an island by itself. Rape is a room in the house of violence. When looking into the house of violence we cannot just go into the front door and head to the rape room. We must look at other rooms. One room we must look into is the room of abuse. When we enter the room we see that there are different kinds of abuse. They are sexual, physical, and mental.

Again the main question is why a man or a woman will rape another person. While the answer is far too complex Ungolden Silence will attempt to give some possible explanation. The answers are not simple or exact. Each rape case is as unique as the persons involved -- both perpetrator and the victim.

Ungolden Silence looks at this social taboo in a unique way. The Calloway Firm, where the owners and employees are African-Americans, sends two women to Washington D.C. to begin a campaign to create awareness about the disabled. Elaine Wilson, who is disabled, is in charge of the project. Beatrice James is her partner and goes with her.

Their client, Mrs. Stevens is impressed with the professionalism that Beatrice and Elaine show as they share their ideas for the campaign to increase the awareness of the disabled. Mrs. Stevens is amazed to see that Elaine really is in charge of the project. The story changes when Mr. Thomas Paige, a very influential African-American in the city comes into the picture. Mrs. Stevens, though an extremely rich and influential American woman of European descent, is very excited to have Mr. Paige on the project.

Beatrice is ex

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he’d done something terrible?

 

‘A heart-wrenching and gripping tale. I was hooked from the very first page.’ Write Escape 

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything he has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage. 

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. Then one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves? 

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price. 

A USA Today bestseller – a heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain. 

What everyone’s saying about The Silent Wife:

‘A compulsive read about secrets, lies, and the complexities of families.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books

‘What a great novel this is! A very moving story filled with deception, betrayal and, contrastingly, loyalty, love, caring and forgiveness... and it has a brilliant ending!’ Splashes Into Books

‘Well, this book is a firecracker!...you will experience a rollercoaster of emotions, with laughter, sadness and a satisfying ending that will bring a lump to your throat.’ Many Books Many Lives

‘A fantastic, thought-provoking story, told with pace and style.’ Laura Bambrey Books

‘My heart broke … The plot is so well written that you begin to feel as though you are one of the family and it is packed with twists and turns.’ The Reading Reverie

‘A page turner - full of implied secrets, unravelling family lives, new family dynamics.’ Bookworms and Shutterbugs

‘An addictive novel about family dynamics, secrets and betrayals that will have your mouth hanging open in disbelief many times along the way.’ Books of All Kinds

‘A compelling, chilling and heart pounding read which will take you on a rollercoaster ride you’ll never want to leave. Phenomenally written and undeniably powerful, Kerry Fisher has done it yet again.’ The Writing Garnet

‘My only regret about this book is beginning to read it at half term and not being able to finish it quicker. A gripping and emotional read.’ De Ja Reads

‘It is rare that a book will make you look at your own personality and inspire you to be a better person. A less judgmental person. A braver person. The Silent Wife did that for me – and in the most unexpected way … I gasped, laughed and cried.’ The Glass House Girls

‘I loved this book… I was riveted throughout. 5 stars.’ Emma B books

‘The Silent Wife had me engrossed from page one. Five Stars!’ Boon’s Bookcase

‘Another five star read from Kerry Fisher ... I love Kerry Fisher’s books and this was no exception!’ Strongly Review

‘A wonderful, poignant, heart breaking, heart warming story of families and secrets, of hidden strength and unexpected friendship. Brilliant! Very highly recommended. Cannot wait for Kerry’s next!’ Renita D’Silva

This book was previously titled The Secrets of Second Wives 

An anthology of 50 classic women writers with an active table of contents to make it easy to quickly find the book you are looking for.

Works include:

Adam Bede by George Eliot
Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte
Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery
Anthem by Ayn Rand
Awakening and Selected Short Stories by Kate Chopin
Black Beauty by Anna Sewell
The Circular Staircase by Mary Roberts Rinehart
The Clever Woman of the Family by Charlotte Yonge
The Colors of Space by Marion Zimmer Bradley
The Convert by Elizabeth Robins
A Circuit Rider's Wife by Corra Harris
Cranford by Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell
Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster
A Dog of Flanders by Louisa de la Rame
Each Man Kills by Victoria Glad
Emma McChesney & Co by Edna Ferber
The Fire Bird by Gene Stratton-Porter
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
Heidi by Johanna Spyri
The House of Mirth By Edith Wharton
Hubert's Wife by Minnie Mary Lee
In the Mountains by Elizabeth von Arnim
Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl by Harriet Jacobs
The Indiscreet Letter by Eleanor Hallowell
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Lady Audley's Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon
The Land of Little Rain by Mary Austin
Life in the Iron-Mills by Rebecca Harding Davis
Love Affairs of an Old Maid by Lilian Bell
Man and Maid by Elinor Glyn
Miss Philly Firkin, The China-Woman by Mary Russell Mitford
My Antonia by Willa Cather
The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe
Night and Day by Virginia Woolf
Phoebe, Junior by Margaret Oliphant
Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
The Princess of Cleves by Madame de Lafayette
The Railway Children by E. Nesbit
Ramona by Helen Hunt Jackson
Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm by Kate Douglas Wiggin
The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy
The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
A Simple Story by Mrs. Inchbald
The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter
Story of My Life by Helen Keller
What Not by Rose Macaulay
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

DISCLAIMER: There has been concern about the table of contents (or lack thereof) in the ""50 Classic Books"" Series. Golgotha Press has addressed this problem and readers who download the books as of November 2011 can access a functional table of contents by going to the front of the book and paging forward two pages. Because of the size of this book, the ""active"" feature in the conversion is removed. We are trying resolve this problem, but until then, please follow the steps above. If you still experience the problem, please contact us so we can investigate exactly what is happening. Please note, however, that the table of contents does not become active until you purchase the book--preview mode does not currently support active TOC's. We apologize for any confusion or frustration this has caused.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.