Hands of Light: A Guide to Healing Through the Human Energy Field

Sold by Bantam
19
Free sample

With the clarity of a physicist and the compassion of a gifted healer with fifteen years of professional experience observing 5,000 clients and students, Barbara Ann Brennan presents the first in-depth study of the human energy field for people who seek happiness, health and their full potential.

Our physical bodies exist within a larger "body," a human energy field or aura, which is the vehicle through which we create our experience of reality, including health and illness. It is through this energy field that we have the power to heal ourselves.

This energy body -- only recently verified by scientists, but long known to healers and mystics -- is the starting point of all illness. Here, our most powerful and profound human interactions take place, the precursor and healer of all physiological and emotional disturbances.

Hands of Light is your guide to a new wholeness. It offers:

• A new paradigm for the human, in health, relationship, and disease
• An understanding of how the human energy field looks, functions, is disturbed, healed, and interacts with friends and lovers.
• Training in the ability to see and interpret auras
• Medically verified case studies of healing people from all walks of life with a variety of illnesses.
• Guidelines for healing the self and others.
• The author's personal and intriguing life adventure which gives us a model for growth, courage and possibilities for expanded consciousness
Read more

More by Barbara Brennan

See more
4.7
19 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bantam
Read more
Published on
Mar 23, 2011
Read more
Pages
320
Read more
ISBN
9780307789419
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Body, Mind & Spirit / Healing / Energy (Qigong, Reiki, Polarity)
Body, Mind & Spirit / Healing / General
Body, Mind & Spirit / Healing / Prayer & Spiritual
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • People • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper’s Bazaar • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
Since 1927, Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the world’s most influential internal medicine resource. In the ground-breaking 25th edition, your original purchase ensures you will be up-to-date without the need for a subscription. Through the new, more powerful Expert Consult eBook platform, this "living text" provides continuous updates that will integrate the latest research, guidelines, and treatments into each chapter, ensuring that the content is as current as the day this edition was first published.

Goldman-Cecil Medicine

offers definitive, unbiased guidance on the evaluation and management of every medical condition, presented by a veritable "Who's Who" of modern medicine. A practical, straightforward style; templated organization; evidence-based references; and robust interactive content combine to make this dynamic resource quite simply the fastest and best place to find all of the authoritative, state-of-the-art clinical answers you need.Expert Consult eBook version included with print purchase:

Access continuous updates

from Editor Lee Goldman, MD, who thoroughly reviews internal medicine and specialty journals, updating online content to reflect the latest guidelines and translating that evidence into treatment.

Interactive Q&A section

features over 1,500 board-style questions and answers to aid in preparing for certification or recertification exams.

Outstanding supplementary tools

include figures, tables, videos, heart and lung sounds, treatment and management algorithms, fully integrated references, and thousands of illustrations and full-color photos.

Search all of the text, figures, supplementary material, and references from the book on a variety of devices and at no additional cost — Expert Consult access is included with this title!

Practical, bulleted, highly templated text

with easy-to-use features including flow charts and treatment boxes.

New chapters

on global health, cancer biology and genetics, and the human microbiome in health and disease keep you on the cutting edge of medicine.

Today's most current evidence-based medicine guidelines help you form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible.

Focused coverage of the latest developments in biology includes the specifics of current diagnosis, therapy, and medication doses.

The reference of choice for every stage of your career!

Goldman-Cecil Medicine is an ideal learning tool for residents, physicians, and students as well as a valuable go-to resource for experienced healthcare professionals.
Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction

When three-month-old Lia Lee Arrived at the county hospital emergency room in Merced, California, a chain of events was set in motion from which neither she nor her parents nor her doctors would ever recover. Lia's parents, Foua and Nao Kao, were part of a large Hmong community in Merced, refugees from the CIA-run "Quiet War" in Laos. The Hmong, traditionally a close-knit and fiercely people, have been less amenable to assimilation than most immigrants, adhering steadfastly to the rituals and beliefs of their ancestors. Lia's pediatricians, Neil Ernst and his wife, Peggy Philip, cleaved just as strongly to another tradition: that of Western medicine. When Lia Lee Entered the American medical system, diagnosed as an epileptic, her story became a tragic case history of cultural miscommunication.

Parents and doctors both wanted the best for Lia, but their ideas about the causes of her illness and its treatment could hardly have been more different. The Hmong see illness aand healing as spiritual matters linked to virtually everything in the universe, while medical community marks a division between body and soul, and concerns itself almost exclusively with the former. Lia's doctors ascribed her seizures to the misfiring of her cerebral neurons; her parents called her illness, qaug dab peg--the spirit catches you and you fall down--and ascribed it to the wandering of her soul. The doctors prescribed anticonvulsants; her parents preferred animal sacrifices.

The Oxford Textbook of Medicine: Infection is selected from the infection section of the renowned Oxford Textbook of Medicine, Fifth Edition. The book is an authoritative resource on infectious diseases. Comprehensive in its coverage and beautifully illustrated in full colour, it is an essential guide to the present-day management and prevention of a wide variety of infectious diseases. Covering diseases that are both familiar and tropical as well as those that continue to emerge, medical professionals will find it immensely valuable when diagnosing and preventing infection in their day-to-day practice. In 121 chapters, experts in infectious diseases from across the world review the essentials of current infectious disease practice and provide a wealth of practical advice that medical professionals can use in clinical situations. In addition, background information on epidemiology, pathogenesis and pathophysiology encourages a fuller understanding of conditions, and over 250 full colour images help with diagnosis when treating patients. A commanding discussion of infectious diseases from both Western and tropical countries, the Oxford Textbook of Medicine: Infection provides detailed information on a extensive range of viruses, bacteria, fungi, protozoa and helminths. Vast in scope and truly global in reach, chapters span a variety of topics including, pathogenic microorganisms and the host, the patient with suspected infection, travel and expedition medicine, and non-venomous arthropods. They reflect the globalization of disease that has resulted from the unprecedented increase in international travel and immigration, as well as natural/man-made disasters that demand massive international aid efforts. This up-to-date and essential reference tool, supports all medical professionals in the treatment and prevention of infectious diseases. It will be of particular value to clinicians working in, or seeing patients from the developing world, due to the wide range of pathogens discussed. It also supports those taking diploma courses in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, and HIV medicine. No infectious disease specialist or trainee should be without a copy of this definitive resource.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.