Bodie on the Road: Travels with a Rescue Pup in the Dogged Pursuit of Happiness

Simon and Schuster
1
Free sample

“Pages of pleasure for anyone who’s ever wanted to drop everything, pack up the car, grab the dog, and leave” (Dogs Monthly).
 
Bodie, mystery mix rescue pup, is on death row in a Los Angeles dog shelter, having been abandoned by his owner. Belinda, a heartbroken woman, is in a heap on the floor of her vintage apartment, having been dumped by the man of her dreams. Two lost souls ready to find a new life—together.
 
Belinda falls in love with Bodie the moment he plants his furry butt on her bare, flip-flopped foot. Soon, the two embark on a two-thousand-mile West Coast road trip, taking in spectacular Big Sur, a pack run in the wilds of Oregon, afternoon cocktail at Doris Day’s dog-loving hotel in Carmel, a fragrant encounter with the creator of Kennel No. 5 furfume, and a bar stop in a small town near San Francisco where a dog was elected mayor and served for thirteen years.
 
On their soul-searching adventure, Belinda and Bodie cruise along the Pacific Coast Highway, heading toward Portland, Oregon—repeatedly voted one of the most dog-friendly cities in America. Join Belinda and Bodie on this feel-good road trip, and you, too, can feel the wind in your hair and a wag in your tail . . .
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Belinda Jones is a British magazine journalist and author of eleven escapist novels, including The California Club and The Traveling Tea Shop, which also double as fun travel guides. Her first road trip memoir, On the Road to Mr Right, made the Sunday Times Top 10 bestseller list alongside her writing hero, Bill Bryson. Together she and Bodie have visited thirty US states and now run the dog travel blog www.bodieontheroad.com.
Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 5, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
320
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781510732964
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Biography & Autobiography / Personal Memoirs
Pets / Dogs / General
Travel / Special Interest / Pets
Travel / United States / West / Pacific (AK, CA, HI, OR, WA)
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Every dog has a tale ... and Oscar’s is more unique than most! When Oscar found himself on ‘death row’ in an animal shelter after being abandoned, he had little hope of survival. But when Joanne Lefson laid eyes on him, it was love at first sight: he was just what she needed to make her new house a home. Soon, Joanne noticed that Oscar’s goofy looks and delightful nature drew attention everywhere they went. Inspired by her canine companion’s laid-back attitude, his undying devotion and her own love of dogs, Joanne decided to expose the plight of the approximately 475 million homeless dogs in the world looking for a home. The result: the ‘World Woof Tour’, an apparently hare-brained scheme that involved Joanne and Oscar embarking on an eight-month journey across five continents to visit over 60 welfare organisations. Everyone told Joanne it could not be done, which only made her more determined to make the tour happen. After plotting and planning and selling up almost all her worldly possessions to fund the journey, she and Oscar set off on the adventure of a lifetime. No obstacle was too big for this intrepid couple to overcome: whether squatting penniless on an idyllic Thai island, avoiding arrest in Rome after Oscar’s dip in the Trevi Fountain, facing difficult customs officials at countless airports or smuggling Oscar across international borders, Joanne’s quirky sense of humour and Oscar’s jolly disposition enabled them to rise to every occasion. Ahound the World tells the hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking tale of a dog who uses his new ‘leash on life’ to highlight the plight of homeless hounds across the globe. No read is more surprising, uplifting or tail-waggingly good than this!
A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron and Eric Newby.

'Lawrence Sterne once suggested that we travel for one of just three reasons: imbecility of mind, infirmity of body or inevitable necessity. One might add to Sterne's little list: envy, curiosity - or just too much bloody rain at home. Escape, in other words.'

Campaigner, publisher and wanderer Alastair Sawday has spent his life travelling. En route he has unearthed a multitude of stories - stories of people ploughing their own furrows, of travellers' tales, stories from the 'front line' of his publishing , ruminations and reflections about places, people and ideas. In this deeply charming, erudite and spirited book, he shares his experiences and explores the value of travel.

'The richer our imaginations, the richer our travel experience. We British do things one way and the Spaniards another; there are unlimited ways of doing everything. Kindness is found in unexpected places, as is eccentricity. Eccentrics are an endangered species and need as much protection as does the house sparrow.'

Travelling Light is a gradual awakening to the fragility of everything we love through contemplative, consciously slow journeying. Every visit uncovers difference - from France profonde to the darker side of Sicily, and to the woodland, flora, fauna, views and silence of rural Britain. Alastair Sawday gives voice to those of us who have climbed no mountains, discovered no rivers, created no great institutions, powered no legislation, changed very little - but who yearn to understand the world and make sense of its infinite variety.

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, “this lovely, luminous story will warm your heart and make you laugh and want to share your life with a rescue cat” (Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, author of The Nine Emotional Lives of Cats).

Alcoholic and depressed, Michael King lives on the streets of Portland, Oregon, and sleeps in a UPS loading bay. One raining night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat cowering beneath a café table and takes her in. He names her Tabor, nurses her back to health, and she becomes something of a celebrity in Southeast Portland. When winter comes, they travel from Oregon to the beaches of California to the high plains of Montana, surviving blizzards, bears, angry steers, and rainstorms.

Along the way, people are drawn to the spirited, beautiful cat and are moved to help Michael, who cuts a striking figure with Tabor riding high on his backpack or walking on a leash. Tabor comforts Michael when he’s down, giving him someone to love and care for, and inspiring him to get sober and to come to terms with his past family traumas and grief over the death of his life partner.

As they make their way along the West Coast, the pair become inseparable, healing the scars of each other’s troubled pasts. When Michael takes Tabor to a veterinarian in Montana, he discovers that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner in Portland who has never given up hope of finding his beloved cat. Michael is faced with the difficult choice of keeping Tabor or returning her to her rightful owner—and, once again, facing the streets alone.
A unique and moving real-life story of the extraordinary bond between a young teacher and a penguin, this book will delight readers who loved Marley & Me, Dewey the Library Cat, The Good Good Pig, and any book by Jon Katz.

In 1975, twenty-three-year-old Englishman Tom Michell follows his wanderlust to Argentina, where he becomes assistant master at a prestigious boarding school. But Michell’s adventures really begin when, on a weekend in Uruguay, he rescues a penguin covered in oil from an ocean spill, cleans the bird up, and attempts to return him to the sea. The penguin refuses to leave his rescuer’s side. “That was the moment at which he became my penguin, and whatever the future held, we’d face it together,” says Michell in this charming memoir.

Michell names the penguin Juan Salvador (“John Saved”), but Juan Salvador, as it turns out, is the one who saves Michell.

After Michell smuggles the bird back to Argentina and into his campus apartment, word spreads about the young Englishman’s unusual roommate. Juan Salvador is suddenly the center of attention—as mascot of the rugby team, confidant to the dorm housekeeper, co-host of Michell’s parties, and an unprecedented swimming coach to a shy boy. Even through the collapse of the Perónist government and amid the country’s economic and political strife, Juan Salvador brings joy to everyone around him—especially Michell, who considers the affectionate animal a compadre and kindred spirit.

Witty and heartwarming, The Penguin Lessons is a classic in the making, a story that is both absurd and wonderful, exactly like Juan Salvador.

Praise for The Penguin Lessons

“I loved this book, and you will, too! It’s as charming, heartwarming, and surprising as a penguin on a roof terrace. What’s more, The Penguin Lessons teaches an important truth: that a single act of compassion can be repaid a thousand-fold.”—Sy Montgomery, author of The Good Good Pig and the National Book Award finalist The Soul of an Octopus

“[Tom Michell’s] tone suits the material perfectly. . . . You believe every word. . . . No fool, this penguin. No fools, these publishers, who have unleashed such a delightful and charming book just in time for Christmas.”—Daily Mail (U.K.)

“Heart-warming is a wholly inadequate phrase to describe this captivating story that is pure delight from beginning to end.”—The Bookseller (U.K.)
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.