No Fairytale

The Emaneska Series

Book 5
Ben Galley
23

Two decades have passed since the Last War, since the sky was filled with fire and magic.


The world has all too easily forgotten the time of the Written and the Arkmages. In their place, a new empire has arisen, one that has finally brought order to the war-torn lands. An empire that has dawned the Age of Magick.


At last, it seems that peace has come to Emaneska. Or, at least that is what the emperor would have Emaneska believe. On the fringes of the Arkan Empire, a different story is being written. Those who show magick talent must join the empire or live as an outlaw. 


It appears the war is still being fought, homestead by homestead, and a young peasant girl is about to be thrust into the violent world that exists beneath the lies of empire.


Welcome back to Emaneska.


———


This new short story from author Ben Galley tells the tale of the aftermath of the Emaneska Series, and sets the scene for the next chapter of this epic saga: The Scalussen Chronicles, coming 2020.


———


MORE BOOKS BY BEN GALLEY (Available in ebook, paperback and audio)

Emaneska Series

– The Written

– Pale Kings

– Dead Stars - Part One

– Dead Stars - Part Two


Scarlet Star Trilogy

– Bloodrush

– Bloodmoon

– Bloodfeud


Chasing Graves Trilogy

– Chasing Graves

– Grim Solace

– Breaking Chaos


Standalones

– The Heart of Stone

– Shards

Read more
Collapse

More by Ben Galley

See more
Mercenary. Murderer. Monster. Task has been called many names in his time.


“Echoes of Brandon Sanderson and Scott Lynch.”

– SFF World


“Grimdark with heart and soul.”

– Anna Smith Spark, author of The Empires of Dust Trilogy


“A very, very good read."

– Fantasy Faction


“A brutal delight with thrilling action and heart, rowdy and wise, bloody and tender at the same time."

– Dyrk Ashton, author of The Paternus Trilogy


Best Self-Published Fantasy Novel

– 2017 Booknest Fantasy Awards


———


Golems are built for war and little else. In centuries past, they were a terrifying staple of the battlefield. Empires were conquered on the backs of golems. Now, time and fear have whittled their kind down to a precious few, kept only by kings and warlords.


Task of Wind-Cut is one such machine of war.


Task was built to kill. Built to win. Thousands have died at his stone hands. He cared once, perhaps, but far too many years have passed and too much blood has been spilled. Task has become numb to the chaos he wreaks for his masters. A slave to the spells that bind him.


Now, Task has a new master to serve and a new war to endure. In the far reaches of the Realm, Hartlund is in the grip of civil war, tearing itself in two over coin and crown. This time, Task will fight for a boy king and a general bent on victory.


Beneath his formidable stone, Task longs for change. For an end to this cycle of warfare. For proof of light and good amongst the foul darkness of humanity and war. It will take the mind of an unusual stable-girl to change his.


———


ABOUT THE HEART OF STONE

Packed with action and yet emotionally charged, The Heart of Stone is an epic military fantasy novel that explores the facets of human nature and the roots of warfare and conflict. Told through the eyes of Task, a five hundred year-old war-golem, this standalone fantasy is perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Joe Abercrombie.


———


MORE PRAISE FOR THE HEART OF STONE

“From the fascinating world-building to the intriguing, colorful and memorable characters, The Heart of Stone is a pleasure to read.”

– BookNest


“Dark, brutal and violent, and packed with heart and emotional depth, The Heart of Stone is an intriguing novel.”

– Alan Baxter, author of The Alex Caine Series


“This is Ben’s best book yet. Plain and simple.”

– Michael R. Miller, author of The Dragon’s Blade Trilogy


"A solidly written and fascinating dark fantasy."

– BiblioSanctum


———


MORE BOOKS BY BEN GALLEY (Available in ebook, paperback and audio)

Emaneska Series

– The Written

– Pale Kings

– Dead Stars - Part One

– Dead Stars - Part Two

– No Fairytale


Scarlet Star Trilogy

– Bloodrush

– Bloodmoon

– Bloodfeud


Chasing Graves Trilogy

– Chasing Graves

– Grim Solace

– Breaking Chaos


Standalones

– Shards



Keywords:

fantasy, epic fantasy, epic, dark fantasy, dark, ya fantasy, military fantasy, golem, golems, monsters, mythological creatures, magic, standalone novel, stand alone, battle, war, emotion, humanity, ben galley, fantasy author

4.6
23 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Ben Galley
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 19, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
46
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Fantasy / Epic
Fiction / Fantasy / Gaslamp
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.